Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.948725
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I had the opportunity to volunteer as an Office Assistant at Safe Passage this summer. It was an amazing experience and I really learned a lot. The work environment is amazing, and it is extremely fulfilling to work there and know you are helping to improve the lives of thousands of people in Guatemala City. I would love to do it again next summer!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I went down on as a volunteer with a group from my school. Being down there was life changing and Safe Passage is an amazing program. I am now minoring in spanish so I can be as fluent as possible next time I go down!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to expand for more students and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I had the great opportunity to work with the Health Department and Psychology Department at both the main campus and the guardaria. The colleagues I worked with, and friends I made, were very passionate about helping the children and their families increase their well being, their health knowledge and involvement in education. Camino Seguro's presence in the community helps create a positive environment and serves as a positive instigator of change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

I volunteered with Safe Passage for 5 months (which was originally supposed to be 3 months) at the Early Childhood Center, also known as the Escuelita, as a classroom assistant with 4-6 year-olds. My ... more

July 29, 2014

I started working with Safe Passage during my gap year between high school and college as a volunteer classroom assistant in the early childhood center at Safe Passage in Guatemala. After originally volunteering for three months, I couldn't get enough of the amazing atmosphere, passionate teachers, and the amazing faculty that make up an organization that changes the lives of the children and families that they service that make a living working in the Guatemala City garbage dump. I went back to Guatemala for an additional two months to continue volunteering, and in between my time there was able to do a fundraiser and reach out to my friends and family to make donations so I could become a sponsor for two of my students that lacked sponsors. My new role as a sponsor parent allowed me to take the students out on fun trips to the zoo, chuck e. cheese, and out to lunch as well as form close relationships with their families. My time at Safe Passage for five months inspired me to work with children and families, and I look back on my experience with the organization as one of the most memorable experiences of my life. I was able to directly work with children in my classroom ages 4-6 doing classroom activities, singing songs, doing art projects, and assisting the teacher with everyday routines. It's safe to say the students taught me more than I taught them. They were the most inspiring group of preschool-aged children I had ever met, and walked into the classroom every morning so eager to learn. In order to give back to an organization that gave and taught me so much, I became an ambassador for Safe Passage to reach out to future volunteers and members who'd like to become involved with the amazing work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

I volunteered with Safe Passage for 5 months (which was originally supposed to be 3 months) at the Early Childhood Center, also known as the Escuelita, as a classroom assistant with 4-6 year-olds. My 5 months working with my students was the best experience I've ever had, and I got to know the students, staff, and other volunteers so well. I formed relationships with my students that I'll never forget, and still think about them today. Safe Passage is an amazing place filled with amazing people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My wife and I originally became involved because of he story of Hanley Denning and the work she did to help the poorest of the poor in Guatemala City. IN March of 2013 we made a trip to Guatemala to see and volunteer at the school. Out trip an extraordinary and life changing experience. The quality of the program was more than we had expected and the joy and love within the school and the work they do for the children was remarkable. Since returning home we are both working to help Safe Pasage and are even taking Spanish Lessons so we can return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am just getting to know it, so it is too early to tell, but I am impressed by the depth and strength of the board of directors and believe they are on the right track.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My husband and I joined a Bowdoin Alumni Support Team in March of 2013 and were blown away by the experience. We had known about the organization as a "local" effort since we live in Freeport, Maine, between Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine and Yarmouth, Maine, the home office of Safe Passage. Listening to the goals, objectives, outcomes and achievements of an organization is one thing; seeing is believing!!
Safe Passage has conceived, organized and built an incredible program that offers education programs to children and their families through teaching, love and support. Children are growing in healthy ways through improved nutrition, medical care, physical activity and enhanced self-image. Parenting classes and skill building programs offered to family members provide opportunities for alternative employment rather than mere subsistence living. The culture is changing through hope. I can't think of a better way to role model for future generations.
During our stay, my husband and I were deeply touched by the opportunity we had to help classroom teachers, if only for one week. The kids touched our hearts, the student volunteers impressed us and we found the dedication local staff truly amazing. And that includes people working in the cafeteria, sorting donated goods, on through and up through administration. Each person as dedicated as the next.
As a pediatric nurse, I have worked with numerous programs serving children and families. Safe Passage is second to none. Congratulations, thank you and my very best wishes for your continued success and prosperity.

Dean Paterson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make changes? Not!!! Enabling the organization to serve more families, engage more volunteers and/or share its successes for replication to occur in other areas? Most definitely!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I visited Safe Passage on a support team in March of 2010 and fell in love with the organization. Having studied comparative politics and Spanish in college, I knew I wanted to find a job in international development, however visiting in 2010 sealed the deal. The volunteers were such a large and supportive community that it made me feel like I could do it! I moved to Guatemala in September 2010 and stayed through August 2012. The complexity and holistic approach of the program never ceases to amaze me - from school uniforms, to nutrition, to social workers, to Saturday clubs, to entrepreneurship, Safe Passage truly makes an impact in many areas of these children's and families' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The first time I visited Safe Passage was in the spring of 2009. It was right after high school and it was a life changing experience. I was a teacher's assistant for three months and those three months led to me deciding to earn a degree in Global Studies from UNC-Chapel Hill. After 2009 I was hooked, I told everyone I knew about Safe Passage and the wonderful work going on at the project. I returned in the summer of 2011 for three months to teach English and Guitar at the project. It was an amazing experience to combine my passions for Guitar and Safe Passage together. I was able to combine passions again when I led a support team to Safe Passage in June 2013 to teach Ultimate Frisbee to the children at Safe Passage. Each time I go back to Safe Passage, even if I see different faces, the power of the work that the project does is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Safe Passage's work is incredible. I volunteered there for 3 months, working in a classroom with children of different ages, helping out the activities and with the setting up of a health programme. Their impact on the local community is evident - the children seem to really want to go there, they get a great deal out of it, and their parents are very grateful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like them to encourage volunteers to stay for longer, as long term volunteers seem to have the greatest positive impact. However, I can understand that this is very difficult - I could only volunteer for 3 months myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Safe Passage has been like a second home for me for the past 3 years. Every month that passes, I have a new appreciation for Hanley's dream and am even more convinced that providing education to the children and young adults in Zone 3 and Zone 7 in Guatemala City is the only way to empower the community around the garbage dump. The graduates of our program, 39 in total, are reminders that dreams can come true with hard work and the support of incredible volunteers, staff, donors, and sponsors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers