Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.939395
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I volunteered at Safe Passage for three months in 2011 as a classroom assistant, and I loved the experience. I have volunteered with quite a few other organizations, and Safe Passage was one of the best for sure. Everyone was welcoming in the beginning, hard working throughout, and hard to leave when it was time for me to go. I only wish my Spanish language skills were more developed so I could have enjoyed everything even more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps make it easier for volunteers on a limited budget to afford to volunteer for longer periods of time (I volunteered two years ago and we had to pay to volunteer, pay for the bus rides, pay for my rent, etc and I could have stayed longer if it was more affordable).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I was a teachers assistant in a classroom of 15 three year olds for 6 weeks. It was one of the BEST experiences of my life! My parents had been heavily involved in the program for year and I'm studying international business, so I thought it be cool to see what this program was all about! I'm so happy I did, they were some of the nicest people to work with. The teachers were welcoming and the staff was amazingly helpful with anything and everything! The kids themselves were just incredible, being with the three year olds, they were too cute! It was incredible to see the resilience and joy that Safe Passage brought these children! I graduate this May and Safe Passage is in my top 5 choices of where I'd like to end up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I was a classroom volunteer with 4,5 and 6 year olds at Safe Passage. The non profit is so wonderful,they help these children escape from severe poverty through education. Once they receive atleast a 6th grade education they can get a real job. A lot of them end up graduating from Safe Passage and attending the university. Safe Passage also has an adult education program now that helps these children's parents escape poverty also. This helps them get a real job and out of the garbage dump. Many of the children that attend have parents or family that work in the dump. It's a very sad situation but Safe Passage helps a lot and has made a huge impact in Guatemala City and the communities it serves.I definitely recommend this organization to anyone. I love it, it has a huge part of my heart. Go to Safepassage.org and read the story on how it came about and either donate, sponsor a child or take a trip to see it for yourself. I promise you won't regret it and certainly won't be the same afterwards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I began working at Safe Passage/Camino Seguro 6 months ago in the Donations/PR department. After working in several NGOs/non-profits in Latin America, I can honestly say the Safe Passage is extremely effective and efficient at addressing and meeting the need of some of the poorest communities in Guatemala City. Not only is everyone at the project like family, but they are whole-heartedly invested in seeing that every student in the project (children and adults) have all the tools they need to open a wide array of possibilities in their future that they wouldn't have if not for the amazing work of Safe Passage!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I originally came to volunteer at Safe Passage for 4 weeks... that was 2 years ago! This organization is an incredible place to grow and learn both personally and professionally. I have been a Child Sponsor now for over a year and spending time with my sponsor child never fails to put a big smile on my face after a busy day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Safe Passage is an incredible organization. I first volunteered there in 2005 for a week at the age of 15 and ended up returning seven times since with plans to return many times more. The longest stint was for a year in 2008-2009 at the age of 18. I took a year off between high school and college and had the best year of my life. The organization is supportive and well run. The staff and other volunteers are extremely warm and welcoming and the children will capture your heart and make you return again. I can say that Safe Passage truly changed my life forever. I realized how important it was to me to help others, therefore started to study social work at college. If i had never gotten involved with Safe Passage i don't know who I would be today. Hanley Denning will forever be in my thoughts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a donor and child sponsor for years. GREAT organization doing FANTASTIC work everyday. 1000 thanks to ALL involved including those who are considering contributing. Full speed ahead!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

My daughter and I participated in the mother-daughter week at Safe Passage in the summer of 2011. It's a terrific organization that is making a huge difference in the lives of children surrounding the Guatemala City garbage dump. They are helping to educate the poorest of children living in dire circumstances. It was a terrific experience and we made many new friends. We now sponsor one of the girls that we met while we were there. It's an amazing place and most worthy of your support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for Safe Passage from 2004-2006 and have watched it grow over the years. It does a fabulous job education the poorest of the poor in Guatemala City, integrating locals and volunteers in its efforts. Its holistic approach to combatting poverty is incredibly effective. It is the best run non-profit I have ever encountered in my 12 years of living and volunteering abroad in 4 different foreign countries. If you want to make a difference in a child's life and actually see results, get involved with Safe Passage, Camino Seguro.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We sponsor through Safe Passage, and are continually amazed at the real, practical difference made in the lives of kids and families who otherwise live in poverty in the city dump in Guatemala City.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers