Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.955
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Safe Passage fulfills the academic, social, and nutritional needs of some of the most destitute children in Guatemala City. The organization takes a whole-family view, and has also started programs supporting the education and economic independence of mothers as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My husband and I joined a Bowdoin Alumni Support Team in March of 2013 and were blown away by the experience. We had known about the organization as a "local" effort since we live in Freeport, Maine, between Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine and Yarmouth, Maine, the home office of Safe Passage. Listening to the goals, objectives, outcomes and achievements of an organization is one thing; seeing is believing!!
Safe Passage has conceived, organized and built an incredible program that offers education programs to children and their families through teaching, love and support. Children are growing in healthy ways through improved nutrition, medical care, physical activity and enhanced self-image. Parenting classes and skill building programs offered to family members provide opportunities for alternative employment rather than mere subsistence living. The culture is changing through hope. I can't think of a better way to role model for future generations.
During our stay, my husband and I were deeply touched by the opportunity we had to help classroom teachers, if only for one week. The kids touched our hearts, the student volunteers impressed us and we found the dedication local staff truly amazing. And that includes people working in the cafeteria, sorting donated goods, on through and up through administration. Each person as dedicated as the next.
As a pediatric nurse, I have worked with numerous programs serving children and families. Safe Passage is second to none. Congratulations, thank you and my very best wishes for your continued success and prosperity.

Dean Paterson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make changes? Not!!! Enabling the organization to serve more families, engage more volunteers and/or share its successes for replication to occur in other areas? Most definitely!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I visited Safe Passage on a support team in March of 2010 and fell in love with the organization. Having studied comparative politics and Spanish in college, I knew I wanted to find a job in international development, however visiting in 2010 sealed the deal. The volunteers were such a large and supportive community that it made me feel like I could do it! I moved to Guatemala in September 2010 and stayed through August 2012. The complexity and holistic approach of the program never ceases to amaze me - from school uniforms, to nutrition, to social workers, to Saturday clubs, to entrepreneurship, Safe Passage truly makes an impact in many areas of these children's and families' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The first time I visited Safe Passage was in the spring of 2009. It was right after high school and it was a life changing experience. I was a teacher's assistant for three months and those three months led to me deciding to earn a degree in Global Studies from UNC-Chapel Hill. After 2009 I was hooked, I told everyone I knew about Safe Passage and the wonderful work going on at the project. I returned in the summer of 2011 for three months to teach English and Guitar at the project. It was an amazing experience to combine my passions for Guitar and Safe Passage together. I was able to combine passions again when I led a support team to Safe Passage in June 2013 to teach Ultimate Frisbee to the children at Safe Passage. Each time I go back to Safe Passage, even if I see different faces, the power of the work that the project does is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Safe Passage's work is incredible. I volunteered there for 3 months, working in a classroom with children of different ages, helping out the activities and with the setting up of a health programme. Their impact on the local community is evident - the children seem to really want to go there, they get a great deal out of it, and their parents are very grateful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like them to encourage volunteers to stay for longer, as long term volunteers seem to have the greatest positive impact. However, I can understand that this is very difficult - I could only volunteer for 3 months myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Safe Passage has been like a second home for me for the past 3 years. Every month that passes, I have a new appreciation for Hanley's dream and am even more convinced that providing education to the children and young adults in Zone 3 and Zone 7 in Guatemala City is the only way to empower the community around the garbage dump. The graduates of our program, 39 in total, are reminders that dreams can come true with hard work and the support of incredible volunteers, staff, donors, and sponsors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I volunteered at Safe Passage for three months in 2011 as a classroom assistant, and I loved the experience. I have volunteered with quite a few other organizations, and Safe Passage was one of the best for sure. Everyone was welcoming in the beginning, hard working throughout, and hard to leave when it was time for me to go. I only wish my Spanish language skills were more developed so I could have enjoyed everything even more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps make it easier for volunteers on a limited budget to afford to volunteer for longer periods of time (I volunteered two years ago and we had to pay to volunteer, pay for the bus rides, pay for my rent, etc and I could have stayed longer if it was more affordable).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I was a teachers assistant in a classroom of 15 three year olds for 6 weeks. It was one of the BEST experiences of my life! My parents had been heavily involved in the program for year and I'm studying international business, so I thought it be cool to see what this program was all about! I'm so happy I did, they were some of the nicest people to work with. The teachers were welcoming and the staff was amazingly helpful with anything and everything! The kids themselves were just incredible, being with the three year olds, they were too cute! It was incredible to see the resilience and joy that Safe Passage brought these children! I graduate this May and Safe Passage is in my top 5 choices of where I'd like to end up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I was a classroom volunteer with 4,5 and 6 year olds at Safe Passage. The non profit is so wonderful,they help these children escape from severe poverty through education. Once they receive atleast a 6th grade education they can get a real job. A lot of them end up graduating from Safe Passage and attending the university. Safe Passage also has an adult education program now that helps these children's parents escape poverty also. This helps them get a real job and out of the garbage dump. Many of the children that attend have parents or family that work in the dump. It's a very sad situation but Safe Passage helps a lot and has made a huge impact in Guatemala City and the communities it serves.I definitely recommend this organization to anyone. I love it, it has a huge part of my heart. Go to Safepassage.org and read the story on how it came about and either donate, sponsor a child or take a trip to see it for yourself. I promise you won't regret it and certainly won't be the same afterwards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I began working at Safe Passage/Camino Seguro 6 months ago in the Donations/PR department. After working in several NGOs/non-profits in Latin America, I can honestly say the Safe Passage is extremely effective and efficient at addressing and meeting the need of some of the poorest communities in Guatemala City. Not only is everyone at the project like family, but they are whole-heartedly invested in seeing that every student in the project (children and adults) have all the tools they need to open a wide array of possibilities in their future that they wouldn't have if not for the amazing work of Safe Passage!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers