Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.955
Write A Review
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I had the privilege to volunteer at Safe Passage in Guatemla City with an alumni group from my college this past spring.

It truly was an amazing experience to see the fantastic work that is done on a daily basis by the dedciated staff and volunteers. They do a phenomenal job making a
difference in hundreds of young people's lives and those of their families every day.

A ray of hope in a very challenging environment.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I had the opportunity to volunteer as an Office Assistant at Safe Passage this summer. It was an amazing experience and I really learned a lot. The work environment is amazing, and it is extremely fulfilling to work there and know you are helping to improve the lives of thousands of people in Guatemala City. I would love to do it again next summer!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I went down on as a volunteer with a group from my school. Being down there was life changing and Safe Passage is an amazing program. I am now minoring in spanish so I can be as fluent as possible next time I go down!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to expand for more students and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I had the great opportunity to work with the Health Department and Psychology Department at both the main campus and the guardaria. The colleagues I worked with, and friends I made, were very passionate about helping the children and their families increase their well being, their health knowledge and involvement in education. Camino Seguro's presence in the community helps create a positive environment and serves as a positive instigator of change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I had the opportunity to provide medical care @ Safe Passage in 2004. After observing the quality of the program offered to the children of the surrounding barrio by Safe Passage I became a child sponsor and a general sponsor and continue today, 10 years later. The volunteers that serve here are all top quality people and the services that they provide to the children is invaluable. I visit the facility every few years and continue to be amazed at the great care provided.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

I volunteered with Safe Passage for 5 months (which was originally supposed to be 3 months) at the Early Childhood Center, also known as the Escuelita, as a classroom assistant with 4-6 year-olds. My ... more

July 29, 2014

I started working with Safe Passage during my gap year between high school and college as a volunteer classroom assistant in the early childhood center at Safe Passage in Guatemala. After originally volunteering for three months, I couldn't get enough of the amazing atmosphere, passionate teachers, and the amazing faculty that make up an organization that changes the lives of the children and families that they service that make a living working in the Guatemala City garbage dump. I went back to Guatemala for an additional two months to continue volunteering, and in between my time there was able to do a fundraiser and reach out to my friends and family to make donations so I could become a sponsor for two of my students that lacked sponsors. My new role as a sponsor parent allowed me to take the students out on fun trips to the zoo, chuck e. cheese, and out to lunch as well as form close relationships with their families. My time at Safe Passage for five months inspired me to work with children and families, and I look back on my experience with the organization as one of the most memorable experiences of my life. I was able to directly work with children in my classroom ages 4-6 doing classroom activities, singing songs, doing art projects, and assisting the teacher with everyday routines. It's safe to say the students taught me more than I taught them. They were the most inspiring group of preschool-aged children I had ever met, and walked into the classroom every morning so eager to learn. In order to give back to an organization that gave and taught me so much, I became an ambassador for Safe Passage to reach out to future volunteers and members who'd like to become involved with the amazing work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

I volunteered with Safe Passage for 5 months (which was originally supposed to be 3 months) at the Early Childhood Center, also known as the Escuelita, as a classroom assistant with 4-6 year-olds. My 5 months working with my students was the best experience I've ever had, and I got to know the students, staff, and other volunteers so well. I formed relationships with my students that I'll never forget, and still think about them today. Safe Passage is an amazing place filled with amazing people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I originally came to volunteer at Safe Passage for 4 weeks... that was 2 years ago! This organization is an incredible place to grow and learn both personally and professionally. I have been a Child S... more

July 29, 2014

I first became involved with Safe Passage in 2010 when a close friend encouraged me to make the trip to Guatemala. After meeting the kids and teenagers, my idea of a month-long volunteer stay went out the window. Now, after four years in Guatemala City, I feel very confident in recommending Safe Passage. The organization has a clear organizational and budgetary structure with clear goals for community development through education. As a volunteer, I encountered an open and enthusiastic environment where I felt that my ideas were welcomed and my professional achievements were recognized. As a child sponsor, I have had a great experience with the Sponsorship Department staff who are always proactive in their communication about my sponsor child (now a teenager!). I would encourage anyone to consider visiting, volunteering with, or financially supporting this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I originally came to volunteer at Safe Passage for 4 weeks... that was 2 years ago! This organization is an incredible place to grow and learn both personally and professionally. I have been a Child Sponsor now for over a year and spending time with my sponsor child never fails to put a big smile on my face after a busy day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I joined Safe Passage over eight years ago and have been involved with the organization ever since. I had the privilege of meeting Hanley and became her friend. Through the years I have seen the impact Safe Passage has on the kids, their families and the community. Being from Guatemala, I feel very proud of the work Safe Passage does and will keep on supporting this effort with all my capacities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am convinced the organization has a clear mission and strategy to achieve its purpose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My wife and I originally became involved because of he story of Hanley Denning and the work she did to help the poorest of the poor in Guatemala City. IN March of 2013 we made a trip to Guatemala to see and volunteer at the school. Out trip an extraordinary and life changing experience. The quality of the program was more than we had expected and the joy and love within the school and the work they do for the children was remarkable. Since returning home we are both working to help Safe Pasage and are even taking Spanish Lessons so we can return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am just getting to know it, so it is too early to tell, but I am impressed by the depth and strength of the board of directors and believe they are on the right track.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first became aware of Safe Passage 7 years ago when I had coffee with its charismatic founder Hanley Denning. In one short hour I was hooked. In part it was Hanley's deep commitment to the children and families living and working at the Guatemala City dump that motivated me to be come a volunteer and donor. In part it was the intriguing approach she was using. Weeks later, I was on my way to Guatemala to see this project first hand. I was deeply shocked at the appalling poverty at the dump. It was far more brutal than anything I had ever seen or imagined. I was deeply moved as I learned about Guatemala's tragic history. But more than anything else, I was impressed by the vibrancy of the Safe Passage program. Using education as the central focus, this very smart approach addresses the whole child and the whole family, enabling the children the opportunity to lift themselves and their families out of poverty. Safe Passage offers these children hope for a better future and the tools to attain it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a full fledged school at Safe Passage, moving the children out of the half day public school system that relies on rote learning into a full day program that fosters critical thinking and exploration.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers