Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.939395
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I joined Safe Passage over eight years ago and have been involved with the organization ever since. I had the privilege of meeting Hanley and became her friend. Through the years I have seen the impact Safe Passage has on the kids, their families and the community. Being from Guatemala, I feel very proud of the work Safe Passage does and will keep on supporting this effort with all my capacities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am convinced the organization has a clear mission and strategy to achieve its purpose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My wife and I originally became involved because of he story of Hanley Denning and the work she did to help the poorest of the poor in Guatemala City. IN March of 2013 we made a trip to Guatemala to see and volunteer at the school. Out trip an extraordinary and life changing experience. The quality of the program was more than we had expected and the joy and love within the school and the work they do for the children was remarkable. Since returning home we are both working to help Safe Pasage and are even taking Spanish Lessons so we can return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am just getting to know it, so it is too early to tell, but I am impressed by the depth and strength of the board of directors and believe they are on the right track.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first became aware of Safe Passage 7 years ago when I had coffee with its charismatic founder Hanley Denning. In one short hour I was hooked. In part it was Hanley's deep commitment to the children and families living and working at the Guatemala City dump that motivated me to be come a volunteer and donor. In part it was the intriguing approach she was using. Weeks later, I was on my way to Guatemala to see this project first hand. I was deeply shocked at the appalling poverty at the dump. It was far more brutal than anything I had ever seen or imagined. I was deeply moved as I learned about Guatemala's tragic history. But more than anything else, I was impressed by the vibrancy of the Safe Passage program. Using education as the central focus, this very smart approach addresses the whole child and the whole family, enabling the children the opportunity to lift themselves and their families out of poverty. Safe Passage offers these children hope for a better future and the tools to attain it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a full fledged school at Safe Passage, moving the children out of the half day public school system that relies on rote learning into a full day program that fosters critical thinking and exploration.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Safe Passage fulfills the academic, social, and nutritional needs of some of the most destitute children in Guatemala City. The organization takes a whole-family view, and has also started programs supporting the education and economic independence of mothers as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My husband and I joined a Bowdoin Alumni Support Team in March of 2013 and were blown away by the experience. We had known about the organization as a "local" effort since we live in Freeport, Maine, between Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine and Yarmouth, Maine, the home office of Safe Passage. Listening to the goals, objectives, outcomes and achievements of an organization is one thing; seeing is believing!!
Safe Passage has conceived, organized and built an incredible program that offers education programs to children and their families through teaching, love and support. Children are growing in healthy ways through improved nutrition, medical care, physical activity and enhanced self-image. Parenting classes and skill building programs offered to family members provide opportunities for alternative employment rather than mere subsistence living. The culture is changing through hope. I can't think of a better way to role model for future generations.
During our stay, my husband and I were deeply touched by the opportunity we had to help classroom teachers, if only for one week. The kids touched our hearts, the student volunteers impressed us and we found the dedication local staff truly amazing. And that includes people working in the cafeteria, sorting donated goods, on through and up through administration. Each person as dedicated as the next.
As a pediatric nurse, I have worked with numerous programs serving children and families. Safe Passage is second to none. Congratulations, thank you and my very best wishes for your continued success and prosperity.

Dean Paterson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make changes? Not!!! Enabling the organization to serve more families, engage more volunteers and/or share its successes for replication to occur in other areas? Most definitely!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I visited Safe Passage on a support team in March of 2010 and fell in love with the organization. Having studied comparative politics and Spanish in college, I knew I wanted to find a job in international development, however visiting in 2010 sealed the deal. The volunteers were such a large and supportive community that it made me feel like I could do it! I moved to Guatemala in September 2010 and stayed through August 2012. The complexity and holistic approach of the program never ceases to amaze me - from school uniforms, to nutrition, to social workers, to Saturday clubs, to entrepreneurship, Safe Passage truly makes an impact in many areas of these children's and families' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The first time I visited Safe Passage was in the spring of 2009. It was right after high school and it was a life changing experience. I was a teacher's assistant for three months and those three months led to me deciding to earn a degree in Global Studies from UNC-Chapel Hill. After 2009 I was hooked, I told everyone I knew about Safe Passage and the wonderful work going on at the project. I returned in the summer of 2011 for three months to teach English and Guitar at the project. It was an amazing experience to combine my passions for Guitar and Safe Passage together. I was able to combine passions again when I led a support team to Safe Passage in June 2013 to teach Ultimate Frisbee to the children at Safe Passage. Each time I go back to Safe Passage, even if I see different faces, the power of the work that the project does is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Safe Passage's work is incredible. I volunteered there for 3 months, working in a classroom with children of different ages, helping out the activities and with the setting up of a health programme. Their impact on the local community is evident - the children seem to really want to go there, they get a great deal out of it, and their parents are very grateful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like them to encourage volunteers to stay for longer, as long term volunteers seem to have the greatest positive impact. However, I can understand that this is very difficult - I could only volunteer for 3 months myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Safe Passage has been like a second home for me for the past 3 years. Every month that passes, I have a new appreciation for Hanley's dream and am even more convinced that providing education to the children and young adults in Zone 3 and Zone 7 in Guatemala City is the only way to empower the community around the garbage dump. The graduates of our program, 39 in total, are reminders that dreams can come true with hard work and the support of incredible volunteers, staff, donors, and sponsors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I volunteered with Safe Passage for 5 months (which was originally supposed to be 3 months) at the Early Childhood Center, also known as the Escuelita, as a classroom assistant with 4-6 year-olds. My 5 months working with my students was the best experience I've ever had, and I got to know the students, staff, and other volunteers so well. I formed relationships with my students that I'll never forget, and still think about them today. Safe Passage is an amazing place filled with amazing people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers