Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2013

Sacred Dance Guild is a group which provides Workshops, Resources and connections that help us Find our way to The Sacred in movements of all kinds. I have participated in several festivals where I did all kinds of dance, African, Modern, Ballet, Circle dances, Creative movement, Liturgical dance, Ecstatic dance, Contra Dance, Dancing with Wheelchairs, Drama dance, Moving in nature to feel our inner selves. Takatina, Art and dance, Journaling with dance, Meditation Dance, Authentic movement, Inner Play. Contempletative movement. Sharings from the heart both individuals and groups. and it is just the first things that come to mind.

These activities have changed how i see the world an behave within it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it more easily available in more places and better document what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

I have been a member of this wonderful organization for fourteen years. Every SDG event is filled with dance, spiritual formation and genuine warmth, even the board meetings. The friendships I've gained will be lifelong. The knowledge gained has expanded my experiences in the dance world and has so enriched my life. I had been involved in the dance world for many, many years before joining SDG, membership has opened another door in the dance world for me.
There are not many organizations that truly welcome and embrace everyone's race, culture, religion and other differences a person may have.
The Sacred Dance Guild Festival experience is like no other, you will be transformed in many ways. The letters that I've received from first time attendees speak of how they feel that their lives have changed by participating in our Sacred Dance Gives the Sole Event, are heart worming. It's a Flash Mob with a purpose beyond dance. Each participant donates a pair of shoes and a fee to learn the choreography. We connect with a local women's shelter, in the city where the festival is held and the shoes and a portion of the monies collected go to that women's organization. This event is just one of our Sacred Dance Global Outreach initiatives.
In the Sacred Dance Guild we strive through traveling workshops, festivals and other Sacred Dance Guild sponsored events to preserve sacred dance traditions and to introduce the dances and traditions to an ever widening audience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to find ways to fund our organization's outreach initiatives, funding for operational expenses and help in increasing membership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

I have been a member of the Sacred Dance Guild (SDG) for over three years. There is no other non-profit like it. I love that as I travel between modern, contemporary and cultural dance worlds, SDG brings them all together highlighting their sacredness. I joined the guild as a graduate student studying dance, performance and choreography. SDG gave me opportunities to learn from older professionals in my field, perform and teach at the national festival, and start an exciting blog, Sacred Dance Trends. SDG is all encompassing accepting anyone who believes in the art of sacred dance. I am now a full-time dance teaching artist and still a member and believer of SDG's motto, "Dance the Sacred, Move the World."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I joined this amazing group over 15 years ago and it has helped me grow as a choreographer and dancer. I have met so many amazing dancers around the world through this group. The festivals that the Guild sponsors are an incredible week of dance, spirituality in so many forms, friendships and education, no other groups offer anything close to this experience. I am a conservative, Christian dancer who has had my world broadened and opened to other beliefs and religions and how dance can bring us all together to make the world a better place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

I joined this international, multicultural, interfaith, membership based, non-profit organization in 2005 because it advocates and supports, connects and networks, resources and educates Sacred Dance to dancers of all ages, backgrounds and abilities transforming lives. It has inspired me to deepen my connection to The Divine and integrate further Dance as a Sacred Art and Prayer into my daily life.

For the past six years, I have been a SDG Board Member helping SDG to expand its work worldwide through its Sacred Dance Journeys and SDGO - Sacred Dance Global Outreach. Through SDGO's benefit concerts, SDG has been able to send thousands of dollars worth of dance supplies to children in both Armenia and Croatia who are regaining their culture and spirituality through dance.

As I go off SDG's Board, I will continue to be a SDG Ambassador helping to spread the word about this transformative and much needed umbrella for Sacred Dance. Find it on Facebook and enjoy its educational website www.sacreddanceguild.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 1, 2013

more

April 1, 2013

This is an amazing organization that was started in 1958 and changes lives by offering programs and events that are open to all who love the dance and know there is sacred in the movement! The Sacred Dance Guild is an advocate for dance as a sacred art - bringing the sacred to the dance and the dance to the sacred. The organization's motto is "Dancing the Sacred, Moving the Wordl". Check the website at www.sacreddanceguild.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers