Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering there in November 2012 and go there 4-5 times a week on average. I am truly amazed at Shawn Joyroe's vision. The amount of money, blood, sweat. and tears needed to build such a 501c3 is nothing short of miraculous. It is amazing to see an animal that is defeated, starving and abused come to RVR. They are greeted with such love and care from the volunteers and their spirit returns. It is heart warming to see animals that have experienced the worst aspects of humanity transition as they experience the best. The core volunteers are amazingly dedicated and compassionate.
I have adopted two horses, Rojo and April, and my 9 y/o daughter and I spend several days a week there. It is truly quality time spent with our horses and the the others at RVR.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched RVR Horse Rescue grow from a few horses to what it is today,an AMAZING RESCUE that takes in the worst of the worst horses and nurses them back to have a great life .Thank-you Shawn J and your staff of very loyal volunteers for what you do.I am truly honored to be a small part of this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at RVR Horse Rescue has been the most humbling experiences of my life. I have never seen such a sincere and genuine group of people in my life. I have seen and been a part of some REMARKABLE rescues and transformations in these abandoned and abused horses at RVR. Every thought, every action, every idea.... It's all about the HORSES. RVR Builds and encourages genuine relationships between people and the rescues they take in. The staff takes the time to educate and monitor volunteers until they are at a specific comfort level to be able to groom, feed and show affection to these babies. These horses are fragile souls that need a special level of care and attention. I have seen Shawn, the owner sleep in a stall with a horse over night to comfort and help them pass over the rainbow bridge if that's what it takes. Whatever it takes to save a rescued horse has no dollar sign at RVR. If they have the slightest chance at surviving what they have been through RVR does everything it can to make it happen. I have learned so much at RVR and it has been nothing but an absolute honor to be a part of what they do. RVR is STRONG

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend more of my time there and encourage others to do the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

RVR provide facilities to protect and return horses to healthy physical and mental condition that have been abused, abandon or neglected through 7/24 care including medical, farrier, feed, shelter and adopt the horses to Forever Homes. According to Chinese zodiac, 2014 is the Year of the Horse. RVR ensures EVERY YEAR is the Year of the Horse. Donate and be a part of this terriffic organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love the opportunity that this place provides to horses that have been neglected. It also provides my daughter who has a special heart for horses the opportunity to provide love and affection to them. The staff and people here are kind hearted and do not allow distractions to keep them from being the voice of these wonderful horses. RVR Strong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I absolutely love RVR. RVR played a huge part in turning my life around in the right direction. Everybody out there has such passion and our #1 goal is to take care of and show these horses love. To see the sadness and pain in the horses eyes when they first arrive at RVR is heart-wrenching. Within only the first few days of a horse arriving at RVR, you can already see the gleam of hope in their eyes. The dedication that the volunteers have is unbelievable. RVR is a loving, caring sanctuary for both horses and people. I feel honored to be a part of RVR.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter took me to RVR..We walked thru the gate and were greated by the whinning of horses and a big welcome from the volunteers..after a tour..seeing the rescues and hearing the horrible storys of their existance before coming to RVR..The worst cases are brought to RVR..The strength of Shawn Jayroe..her goal in life to provide a santuary for the abused..malnourished and left for dead RVR..is a part of each and every volunteers life..all volunteers water..feed up..clean stalls....alot of stalls and groom..The rescue s receive love..kindness and respect...in turn they give Shawn..a woman who gives all her strength and.volunteetrs give their strength in being United...to keep a tranquil home for the rescues while they are recovering and getting ready for a forever home.I respect all these people and those who donate small or large amounts for this very important piece of heaven in Riverview fla.Put your arms around one of these babys..smell that wonderful hotse smell..hear their heart beating...WHY...THE DEDICATION OF SHAWN JAYROE AND THE RVR FAMILY.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What do you say about Rvr Horse Rescue? One word comes to mind & that would be AMAZING!!! I have been a volunteer for roughly about 2yrs now & it is just been wonderful. Changes my mood everytime I go. So many loving & caring guys & gals who all come together for the horses. I am so blessed to be able to be part of such an amazing org & for that I thank Shawn Jayroe for doing what she does & allowing me to be a part of it. Shawn& RVR are such an inspiration. The amazing things that happen at RVR just makes me love it more & more everytime I go. I LOVE RVR HORSE RESCUE!!!! In my opinion it is one of the best rescues around!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My best friend told me of a horse rescue in Riverview knowing my love of horses and insisted I would love being there. She could not have been more right! Everyone there are absolutely dedicated to helping and saving what alot of us consider the most graceful, heavenly creations ever - a horse. The founder has given everything she has and then some, to start and maintain this equine safe haven. After my first visit, it is now my Zen garden. I enjoy all the volunteers and of course the babies :) Thank you, RVR and Shawn for reminding us unconditional love heals so many and there is hope in humanity. You are admired and appreciated for all you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand so i have another RVR closer to where I live :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering 9 months ago at RVR . Its an awesome rescue they work miracles there. The horses come in skinny and sick abused and neglected and with RVR’s help most survive its amazing to see them trust again after all they been through. They now know they are ok and you see them calm down and relax. It’s an amazing feeling to see them recover from the hell they been through. This is a real horse rescue where its all about the horses wellness. Every horse at RVR is very special. I adopted Romeo he is a very special boy he was very skinny and sick but with a lot of help and the will to live he survived and is doing great. Here’s a warning if you volunteer at RVR you will fall in love with a special horse.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Muck stalls.Clean pastures & paddocks.Paint & pick up around the barn & property.Unload hay bales, feed, debris & other items with tractor.Groom & assist feeding horses. Volunteer