Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have to say that it was God who led me to RVR with a little help from my friend Amanda. I attended orientation last week and was in awe of everything that they have done for horses in need. I am so excited to get started and work with these wonderful people and spectacular animals. The dedication these people have shown to saving horses far exceeds anything I have ever seen. Today I saw two horses in a pasture as I was driving by. One looked emmaciated. I called RVR to see what I should do and they immediately responded and went to the location I had given them . Unfortunately the horses had been put away by the time they got there. I could not believe the incredible dedication and determination of the people in this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 1, 2014

more

March 1, 2014

I learned about RVR on Facebook. I live a few miles away and never knew it existed until August 2013. I filled out an volunteer application and started actively volunteering with my 16 year old daughter in October 2013. We rarely miss a Sunday, and go more when school is out. Orientation was very organized and informational. We started out changing water & mucking out stalls and common horse areas, and now have some more responsibilities. This non-profit has NO paid employees. 100% of all funds raised go directly into the care of the horses.
Form the moment we stepped foot on their property, we were treated as part of the family. The amount of love and dedication all of the volunteers have is amazing. These horses are given the proper nutrition and medical care, along with lots of love. I've been there when seized horses have been seized brought in. RVR takes in the most needy cases - horses that are a 2 and under on the Henneke body condition scale. They are the worst of the worst cases of neglect. It's amazing to watch their transformation at RVR. When you see the horses they've had for a year, you wouldn't know that the animals were ever in such a condition. They are healthy, vibrant, and playful. They walk in near death and defeated, and are nursed back to health, physically and spiritually. They are worked with and trained so that they can be adopted to good homes. RVR chooses families for these horses carefully and monitors them for a few years to make sure they are being taken care of properly.
They are also activists in their community and educate people on animal care and how to report neglect. They started a C.L.E.A.R. (Care - Learn - Educate - Act - Rescue) campaign. Outreach is important to this non-profit. They reach out to education the general public.
I've only been volunteering there for about half a year, but I see myself dedicating my time there for the rest of my life. I believe in their mission and vision, and will do everything in my power to support it. I encourage other to as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to reach out to the community and find business partners to help with the much needed funds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 15, 2013

The day the horse arrives at RVR Rescue begins their new life. They are all shapes, sizes, conditions. I know, as a volunteer, that they have arrived at a special place where there is love, food, sh... more

March 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I moved to Wimauma, Florida in April of 2012. I have always loved horses and previously owned three horses. I thought my days with horses were over. I heard about RVR Horse Rescue and initially was somewhat reluctant to go visit. I was afraid of seeing a rescue that was poorly maintained and horses that were in bad shape. When I walked onto the property at RVR, I walked into a horse paradise. There was plenty of room for the horses to move about and all of the animals I saw were in wonderful condition. I knew I wanted to be a part of this wonderful organization. Since volunteering there, I have seen the transformation of these horses go from sad, skinny, head down frightful creatures to happy, healthy trusting horses again. I never get over the miracle that takes place everyday with these horses. Because I believe so much in this wonderful, loving environment I have personally spent over
$ 100,000.00 building a new 30 stall barn, volunteering as much as I can and have adopted 2 horses. I believe that the owner of this rescue, Shawn Jayroe, is a true angel and everyday I strive to be as like her as I can. I will continue to support this organization in every way, shape and form until my dying breath.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I vow to spend as much money as I can and give as much time as allows to keep improving this horse rescue. Wonderful and exciting things are happening at this rescue. I am grateful to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The day the horse arrives at RVR Rescue begins their new life. They are all shapes, sizes, conditions. I know, as a volunteer, that they have arrived at a special place where there is love, food, shelter and kindness. I don't need to know their story of abuse and neglect. I only know that they have arrived at the most wonderful place on earth. Everyone at RVR has one goal. Make sure the horses first day here and every day thereafter be filled with warmth, kindness and love. Some stay for a while, others only have a brief stay. If it is brief, their last days on earth are the best that we can make them. To quote Jane Hirshfield
"...see how the flesh grows back
across a wound, with a great vehemence,
more strong
than the simple, untested surface before.
There's a name for it on horses,
when it comes back darker and raised : proud flesh
as all flesh
is proud of its wounds, wears them
as honor given out after battle,
small triumphs pinned to the chest-"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change in the organization, just building a 30 stall barn so RVR can help even more rescues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

The news story of three Miniature horses rescued in Hillsborough County as the result of an animal cruelty investigation now has a happy ending as two of them, Sandy and her baby Lily, have a new beginning at our home in North Florida.
You see my wife Brenda and I adopted the mother-daughter
duo and now they have big pastures in which to run and play, lots of green grass and good feed, plus two Mini horse friends, and most of all people who love and care for them.
I first learned of their plight when I read news accounts in July 2012 of four Minis—Warrior, Spirit, Sandy and Lily—who had been abused by starvation and neglect. RVR Horse Rescue of Riverview had them and their owner, a former deputy, was arrested. Sadly, despite all efforts Warrior did not survive. This upset me so much that I told my wife to call RVR and see if somehow, we could possibly adopt Sandy and Lily, or Little Lily as I like to call her.
I spent 25 years at HCSO (1979-2004), and I am now on my 10th year of retirement. Still have the urge to “serve and protect” especially when it comes to horses, particularly Minis who are so precious and cannot protect themselves. Can we do this? I asked my wife. What are the logistics involved in adopting them, and then getting them all the way to Suwannee County (200+ miles) where we live? She said if I feel in my heart that strongly to do something, then we should!
I am a “softie,” I admit, as we already have rescued a Paint stallion named Chief, Paint horses Rosie and Millie, and two Minis named Misty and her daughter Angel. In these situations, owners could no longer afford to feed them , did not want them, or as in the case of the Minis wanted their pasture space for bigger horses. Some were “free,” (we all know there is no such thing as a ‘free’ horse), others we purchased. We have 24-plus acres for our animals, and our home is on two acres. All total there are now 12 horses, 8 donkeys … Yeah, I know….!
Back to the story: We called RVR and contacted Kitrina Kelly, Community Liaison for RVR. After a number of emails and telephone calls, Kitrina said we were first on the list to adopt Sandy and Lily.
On August 14, we drove down to RVR’s facility to see them, as well as Spirit, then talked with Kitrina; Michelle Russell, medical director; and Shawn Jayroe, president and founder of RVR. We completed all the paperwork for the adoption and two days later, we received a call that Sandy and Lily “had their bags packed” and were ready to go. On Friday, August 17, Michelle Russell and volunteer Kat, who transports for RVR, arrived at our home with a truck and horse trailer. Out stepped Sandy, followed by her baby and their new life began!
Oh yes, more good news. RVR on its Facebook page posted that Spirit had been adopted!
I believe this quotation, attributed to a famous American named Martin Luther King Jr., says it all about why we adopted the Minis: “Never, never be afraid to do what's right, especially if the well-being of a person or animal is at stake. Society's punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.”
RVR is to be commended for rescuing these precious Minis and working so hard to restore their health so they could be adopted. A great debt of gratitude is due to Kitrina Kelly, who spent untold hours working with the surviving Minis one-on-one so they would see people as friends, not someone who would harm them.
We also offer our thanks to Deputies Judy Whaley and Tammy Cuscaden, both good friends of mine, who took donations, feed, treats and horse care supplies to RVR.
As for Sandy and Lily, they have bonded with our Minis and now they are “a herd.”








More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2014

more

January 5, 2014

We went to RVR before Christmas because a friend of mine at work told me about the place. We were looking for a companion for our 10 year old mini burro. She was a companion for 9 years to our 36 year old quarter horse who recently had to be put down.
We were told about this little pony named
"Flower" who would be a great companion pony.When we met Flower it was love at first site--she is a beauty. We decided then and there that this would be a match made in heaven. After all the forms and the look see of our place--Flower came home. Burrito was not sure at first about her but within 2 hours they were buddies.
The two are inseparable. When we bring Flower in at night, Burrito is following right behind and vice versa.
Flower is well behaved although a little skittish until she gets to know you. She loves the apple, carrot or left over candy cane treat the girls get every afternoon.
RVR took Flower away from a bad situation and rehabilitated her into a great pet--Cudos to RVR.
Margaret

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

RVR is the real deal. I have seen the work they do first hand and am constantly amazed with their love, support and dedication to their horses. It is an honor to volunteer for this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Went to RVR today for the first time,A friend of mine goes here alot and was telling me about it and also seen post on F.B.I am a small automechanic shop owner in Riverview,Born and raised here In Riverview,Fla.there is not a car,truck,or piece of Equipment that I cant repair.We had a horse as a kid but i was. to busy to see the beauty in them.Today i helped wash my first horse ,I dont know anything about horses after my visit today seeing the beauty in these Horses ,,Just being around watching,learning,petting the horses today,Seeing all the time and love everybody Gives,This place is amazeing .I had a great time today and I will be seeing alot of this place.There is alot of kind loveing people helping Abused Horses back to good health and beauty.I Have Found A New Home..Thank you RVR For All You And The Volunteers do for these horses.The Place Is Beautiful And Very Well Run

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything looks in order,Can't think of anything that needs changeing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have been blessed with finding RVR. I have been volunteering since spring 2013 and love every minute of it. Every horse that comes through those gates is welcomed with open arms, love and food. Many who haven't eaten a real meal in a long time. Some scared of the attention because they have been alone for so long. Some in the most horrible shape that just breaks your heart. But once they're there, they are in the best company, love is blind. The love and care these horses get is unbelievable. Shawn Jayroe has made it her mission to be the voice for the neglected, abused, and malnourished horses. In just a few months of being there, the results of these horses is unremarkable. It's like a second family there. It is my peaceful place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a Pre-Vet student, I can honestly say this is the best place I've ever volunteered at to get experience. Every single person at RVR truly cares about the animals and works there hardest. They have also been extremely kind to me, and very willing to help me learn about horses. I've volunteered at other horse rescues and I have never seen one this clean, this organized and this caring. RVR truly cares about the horses they take in, and do an amazing job at rehabilitating them and adopting them out to loving homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, they do an amazing job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

When I started going to RVR Horse Rescue I thought I would find a place that would kill some boredom and allow me to give back to the community. What I really found was an amazing place with an amazing group of volunteers that dedicate so much of their own time and energy in to making RVR the amazing place that it is. It has become my home away from home. The minute the horses step out of the trailer they are greeted with open arms of love, care, and food. Something most of them haven't known in a long while. I consider myself lucky to be able to volunteer and be a part of such an amazing organization. There are so many great things I can say about this place...but don't take my word for it! Stop by and see for yourself :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make room for more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Muck stalls.Clean pastures & paddocks.Paint & pick up around the barn & property.Unload hay bales, feed, debris & other items with tractor.Groom & assist feeding horses. Volunteer