Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I echo all of the reviews that fellow past and present volunteers have written about their experience with ROWAN on their home soil or during their time in Uganda. I traveled to Uganda to intern for ROWAN the summer of 2011 with the intention of serving those I met, building relationships, and changing their lives in the smallest of ways. However, little did I know, the people of Mawanga had hearts that reached out, touched my soul, and changed my life forever.

One specific thing that I appreciate most about ROWAN is where the money goes and how it is effectively used. The money goes to help the orphans and widows; however, it is not handed over to them. It reaches them in the form of ARVs, urgent needs, weekly educational classes, and through a variety of programs that help the people of the village empower and sustain themselves. I have seen it first hand and am grateful that my money is going straight to empowering the lives that I have come to care so much about.

Thank you for you interest in ROWAN! We would love to hear your story and share with you the the stories of our family in Mawanga!

Stay Gold, Aubua

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Without sacrificing integrity and the original vision and mission of ROWAN, there is always room for growth and change. I believe that ministries are never still, but are always taking steps forward or back. After a little time with ROWAN you would learn that things are never still because we serve a living God who calls us to always be taking steps forward for His kingdom. Thankfully, ROWAN knows this and welcomes it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

My life collided with ROWAN in January 2013 when I had begun searching for the right organization in Uganda to get behind. I fell in love with the business model and leadership that I saw in ROWAN. They are organized, determined, smart and practical. Their leadership comes from the inside, the very source, Mawanga, and then extends out into others here on the ground in the USA. I had the privilege of visiting Mawanga this July, and I was absolutely blown away. Their programs are built around sound, strategic models for how to make this village and these beautiful people, build lives that are self-sustaining rather than reliant on outsiders. It's so easy to rally others behind this cause, and the efforts of ROWAN, because the people that are leading the organization are honest and genuine. And the people who are benefitting from ROWAN are living stories of the blessing that has come from the time and energy spent building and carrying out ROWAN's vision.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

The lives of Ugandan villagers this organization touches are truly changed and enriched. The women in these villages have learned how to be self sufficient, provide for their family's and even learn how to save enough money to buy land and have a home built. This non-profit is the best non-profit organization I have ever had the pleasure of being apart of. It is so exciting the movement and momentum this organization has had to strengthen the economy of these Ugandan villages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

It has been a great privilege to meet and get to know ROWAN's cofounder, Kelsey Young. She is a true visionary and leader who has the biggest heart for the ROWAN community. I believe in her mission an... more

September 2, 2013

I met Kelsey Hargadine, co-founder of ROWAN, 5 years ago when the organization was just starting out. This past July I was fortunate enough to get to travel with ROWAN to the frontlines - Mawanga, Uganda. It is hard to put the experience into words, but it was an extraordinary trip. ROWAN's leaders were professional in their trip planning and execution of the complex itinerary. I felt safe, cared for, and all the details were taken care of.

Now to speak to their work in rural eastern Uganda - what comes to mind is the strong leadership. Kelsey, along with the local leaders, are great decision makers with hearts of gold. They are visionaries with big dreams - God dreams - and are fully committed to seeing them come alive for this otherwise forgotten community. I was deeply moved by the complete dedication the team has to raising up HOPE in the hopeless. This is a ROWAN specialty.

ROWAN is a part of the very fabric of Mawanga so the leaders know the needs intimately. The impact that their presence and love has had on the community will only be known in Heaven one day.

ROWAN strengths to me include pouring unconditional love on to the women and children, along with empowering them through the teaching of new skill sets and education.

Simply priceless.

JOIN our ROWAN family today and be a witness to God's work in our world!!!

http://loverowan.org/

Kate Duggan
Los Angeles, California

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

It has been a great privilege to meet and get to know ROWAN's cofounder, Kelsey Young. She is a true visionary and leader who has the biggest heart for the ROWAN community. I believe in her mission and this young non-profit is only going to continue to grow bigger and stronger each year. ROWAN is making a huge, positive impact in Uganda and I am deeply grateful to have the opportunity to play my own very small role. I recommend ROWAN 100%!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

We have recently helped ROWAN though our own charity organisation called Solibad through a common partnership, and I must admit that I was simply amazed by the way Rowan was run both from the USA by Kelsey and Pastor Paul and his staff on site, in Mawenga. They know where they are heading and they are going with a great smile in spite of all the difficulties. Their hearts is a big as their goal even if they have little means to achieve it. They try hard and it makes all the difference.
Most charity organisations tend to help local people financially. At Rowan, they go far beyond that, as they help them spiritually, with joy, and also, they help them help themselves. As an old African saying goes, it is better to teach the fishermen how to catch a fish than to give him a fish. This is what Rowan does.
It's been a real delight to discover this amazing network of people, who are really doing a fantastic job on the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more people to join !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

I've been so blessed by my time spent with ROWAN. The local staff are so warm and genuine, and I have no doubt that they truly care for the widows and orphans in Mawanga. They love God, and their love for God is demonstrated in their love for the people. The organization has inspired me in so many ways, and I would love to return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help meet the needs of local staff

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

I've been doing volunteer work my entire life, but I have never before worked with an organization that I have felt this confident in. ROWAN is doing amazing things through local leaders in the areas that it serves. They're building up people to help them solve their own problems and become self-reliant. The opportunity that I had as a short term mission volunteer to walk along side ROWAN and see their vision has inspired me and I plan on supporting them as much as I can for the rest of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to raise up local leaders and full time staff in the village.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

ROWAN is the most incredible organization I have ever worked with. I have seen the healing and hope God has done through ROWAN first hand. I started out as a college intern because I knew their holistic approach and emphasis on building self reliance was the best model for long term positive impact. I had to be a part of sharing that vision! Then I had the opportunity to see the work being done in the villages for myself. That experience changed my life as well as the lives of my Ugandan friends. When visiting the homes of the widows I saw hope enter their lives when our Ugandan volunteers told them about their options for bettering their lives through our micro enterprise opportunities, or through medical aid. The intense poverty of those villages are haunting, but not without hope. ROWAN has tapped into that hope and you can SEE how the villages have improved. The students in our education program melted my heart. Their dreams and their zeal for life might not have ever been heard or encouraged if not for ROWAN. Those kids are talented and smart! They deserve an education! ROWAN is passionate about giving those kids an environment where they thrive physically, mentally, and spiritually. Every person in ROWAN knows they are amaka (family). I love my amaka! Even though I visited the village over a year ago, I still keep on contact with my dear friends from the village. It's speratic of course, but precious. I was so excited this winter when my church's youth group did the Let's Make Cents program and raised school tuition for a student I met and befriended in the ROWAN program. ROWAN works to build authentic relationships between supporters and the village. To pass over ROWAN is to pass over miracles being done. Your heart will be changed the more you plug into ROWAN! There's no other organization like ROWAN in the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would get more people to support ROWAN because it really changes lives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

What a blessing to walk alongside the staff with ROWAN in Mawanga, Uganda. They love Jesus, love their community, and love visitors! We were brought into their ministry as welcome participants in their life as community. Their hospitality was filled with kindness and generosity. We loved our evening chats over beans, rice, greens, hot sauce, and boiled milk! Our team of volunteers saw many facets of effective community development - from successful savings and loan groups, to adult literacy training, to developmental programs for orphans and agricultural training for widows. We wholeheartedly endorse this non-profit and look forward to supporting them in any way possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See more full-time staff supported to fill the needs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I have volunteered with ROWAN for about a year now and the experience has been simply life changing. ROWAN is a non-profit that, not only cares for widows/orphans urgent needs, but also gives them a sustainable life. ROWAN has taught me so many things about ministry and life. I love working side by side with people that understand how to live in community well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers