Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
March 25, 2015

more

March 25, 2015

I joined RSVP in 2009. I found that this non-profit offers opportunities to engage in a wide number of community programs and allows one to find the unique activity that matches one’s interest. I volunteer in adult literacy programs (GED tutor), and more recently, I tutor high school students as well as veterans in algebra and geometry topics through the My Free Tutor program.
In 2011, I was invited to serve on the Board of Directors and am now its Secretary. As a volunteer and an officer in this wonderful organization, I appreciate the rewarding experience of "giving back" to the community through volunteerism. For anyone looking for a rewarding experience , I cannot think of a better choice than becoming an active participant in RSVP. It provides an indispensable value to the community while enriching the soul of the volunteer.
January 20, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
January 20, 2015

I have been associated with RSVP for twenty-five years, first as an employee for ten years, and then as a volunteer for ElderNet of Lower Merion and Narberth, an agency supported by RSVP. I have had the advantage of seeing how RSVP helps volunteers by matching them with volunteer positions in other non-profits, and to be a volunteer in one of those community agencies. For me, it is highly rewarding to be able to help neighbors who, without ElderNet's services, would be unable to remain in their homes. RSVP is a five-star non-profit.

Linda F

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

December 3, 2014

more

December 3, 2014

I joined RSVP to volunteer in the APPRISE program assisting seniors to understand and navigate the complexities of Medicare and health insurance. The grateful thanks I receive is in itself a huge reward. RSVP through its impact programs and community involvement reaches critical needs ranging from those of youngsters in Head Start to elderly needing Help on Call. I am proud to support and be associated with RSVP as a volunteer and a member of the Board of Directors.
Barbara R
April 21, 2011

more

April 21, 2011

I have been part of the Protege Mentor program for over 6 years. During this time I have mentored two young girls. These children have benefited from this program as evidenced through improved grades and their improved social behavior. But it is also true that I have reaped the rewards from these rich interactions and watching these children grow. It is a marvelous program that provides a great deal of RSVP staff support. I highly recommend the experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing many youngsters who are at risk begin to thrive from their relationships with their mentor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization needs money pumped into it so their staff and services can be expanded.

April 21, 2011

more

April 21, 2011

I JOINED RSVP OVER 10 YEARS AGO AS A READING COACH FOR FIRST-GRADERS. I WAS PLACED IN A LOCAL SCHOOL AND HAD THE PRIVELEGE OF WORKING WITH ESPECIALLY WONDERFUL CHILDREN AND TEACHERS. THE OPPORTUNITY AFFORDED ME A ' BEHIND THE SCENES' PEEK AT THE SKILLS UTILIZED IN DELIVERY OF EDUCATION AS WELL AS A SHARED JOY OF READING THE WRITTEN WORD.
THE EXPERIENCE WAS SO REWARDING, THAT AS I HAD MORE TIME, I ALSO BECAME A MENTOR TO A 10 YEAR OLD GIRL THROUGH THE PROTEGE PROGRAM. THE GIRL HAD RECENTLY LOST HER CARE-GIVING GRANDMOTHER AND WAS FLOUNDERING IN SCHOOL AND ON THE STREETS. WE DEVELOPED A DEEP AND LOVING RELATIONSHIP OVER MANY YEARS. TODAY SHE IS MY FAMILY, A SISTER TO MY DAUGHTERS, A SOPHOMORE AT TEMPLE, AS WELL AS A WIFE AND A MOTHER TO MY 15 MONTH OLD GRANDSON.
I THANK RSVP FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO HELP CHILDREN IN BOTH ARENAS. I CAN HONESTLY SAY THAT I MADE A DIFFERENCE IN THEIR LIVES AND FUTURES.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

THE LIFE OF MY DAUGHTER WATCHING CHILDREN WHO WERE STRUGGLING WITH READING BECOME CONFIDENT, JOYFUL READERS

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GIVE THEM MORE FUNDING

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers