Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
123.445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 4, 2013

Royal Family KIDS is the nation's leading network of summer camps and mentoring programs for kids in foster care. We focus on children ages 6-12 and recruit, train and equip volunteers from around the world to stand up for children of abuse, abandonment and neglect. The program works very well and we have the track record to show for it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Invest in technology upgrades in the office

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Royal Family Kids Camp provides memories for children who have experienced abuse & neglect in their past. However, they knowingly allow wife abusers & child abusers to work as adult leadership over & again year after year. The national board of rfkc knowingly overlooks these offenses - sadly this is common in our society, but it needs to stop. Allowing criminals to work in any capacity in this type of work is dishonoring to the women and children who've been hurt by these predators.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

require social and moral accountability - publicly

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2011

more

October 19, 2011

This organization offers a great camp experience for children in difficult situations who often crave the positive adult attention and encouragement that they receive while at camp. I have helped host one of their events and have always been impressed by their dedication to the kids they serve. Also, they do a great job at finding enthusiastic volunteers of all ages with a heart to invest in the children they serve who often require a huge amount of attention and patience because of their varied home situations growing up.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the effects that their camps have on the children they serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them increase their public exposure and donor base.

February 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization provides a wonderful camp experience, encouraging children who are in foster care.

The organization runs Criminal History Checks through the State Patrol. It would be to everyone's benefit to increase the level of education & accountability among the leadership & all
those involved.

Those who work in this field know that child abusers don't get caught 'til they've hurt many many children and families. Those presented with allegations of abuse against someone should look beyond their own ability to discern and take seriously the information.

It's not that children & witnesses don't try to expose, the general fault lies in the fact that allegations are usually disregarded by the average person or community because most often abusers are skilled at creating a public image that makes others think they would never be any different in private than they are in public. Abusers are excellent liars and usually have spent quite some time hiding who they really are behind their public facade. Most are very believable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen many children blessed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would require leadership to increase their level of education about abusers & their tactics & ask all leaders to seriously make connections with anyone in the history of their camps who they may have inadvertently hurt due to lack of knowledge.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

collect birthday box contents for the local camps