Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Rotary Foundation has helped millions around the world with its programs. What makes this charity different is that along with the funds donated the 1.2 million Rotarians around the world also provide their time, expertise and labor all over the globe. The Rotary Foundation's program to eradicate polio has resulted in a reduction in cases from over half a million a year in the beginning to just 9 so far this year. There are only three countries left with reported cases, Nigeria, Pakistan and Afghanistan. The eradication of polio will be only the second time a disease has been eradicated worldwide.
Virtually every dollar raised goes to help those who have no clean water, no sanitation, are unable to read and write, and have no shelter. There is no greater force in the world for world peace and the eradication of poverty. This foundation changes lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In full disclosure, I have been a member of Rotary since the 90's. Rotary amazes all who are touched by it because it relies on more than 1.2 million fellow members in 34,000 Rotary clubs in over 200 countries and geographical areas. What makes it unique is that we form teams across borders through special projects which grow out of a single vision of a single member. Because of this international commitment to volunteer as a team the administrative costs are one of the lowest in the world. Rotary is a global humanitarian organization with a seat at the UN and with men and women who are business, professional and community leaders with a shared commitment to make the world a better place through humanitarian service. I have found no other organization which gives so much with so little overhead cost and shares the same reliable set of business ethics as I have .
Alice Neily Mutch
Annapolis, Maryland, USA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2011

more

May 19, 2011

I've been a member of Rotary since 2003, and immediatley began serving as a local and international volunteer. For the past few years I've been focused on clean water projects in Central America. Last year we dedicated the first, entirely solar powered, community wide potable water system in a rural village in El Salvador. This would not have been possible without the support of local clubs in multiple districts in Michigan, Ohion, Indiana and Ontario, nor especially without the help of The Rotary Foundation. We are continuing to build ecologically friendly, solar powered and UV filtered community potable water systems and look forward to the continued support of The Rotary Foundation. Thanks!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've been involved in working with Rotary Clubs and other organizations in developing, leading and implementing these water projects, including coordinating with local host clubs and writing the grant requests supported by The Rotary Foundation. If you want to see results, check this website: http://cocoda.weebly.com/projects.html

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

TRF and Rotary is implementing a beta test of Future Vision, which provides for more District-level control of the granting management process, which I believe will assist Rotarians in implementation of a more nimble project managment structure, creating a faster turnaround on project wrapup and allowing clubs to move to other project implementations more quickly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Increase publicity of the projects for which grants have been provided. Help coordiate delegations to key project sites so that donors from outside of Rotary International could see the work of Rotarians first hand. Highlight successful project management methodologies that support the development and implementation of sustainable projects.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I'm a Certified Public Accountant by training and I've learned so much about building and implementing clean water projects through workshops, seminars and speaking engagements that I've been asked to participate in. Many people think that I must have an engineering background to be involved in these projects. All you need is the desire to be involved and make a difference.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Volunteering on these delegations and sharing my experiences with the delegates, and learning from members of these affected communities has a huge impact on my desire to continue to be involved in expanding the project methodologies thorughout projects in Central America and the world.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 6, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Inthe past 2 1/2 years I have gone with organization to immunize children in both Bangladesh and Nigeria. While I was there in both countries I saw how the Rotary Foundation provided the funding to buy the vaccine and volunteers to immunize 24 million Children in Bangladesh. In Nigeria the Rotarians actually worked with village elders, and mullahs to convince them to allow Rotarians and Health Care works access to schools so that children 5 years and younger could be immunized. Since 2009 Rotary in partnership with WHO, Unicef and the Center for disease control have reduced the # of cases to 3 in the country for the first half of 2010. Additionally I witnessed that the Rotary Foundation was providing funding for Water and Sanitation projects to drill wells for safe drinking water, Pond Sand filters in Bangladesh, Eye Clinics, Health Clinics, Polio Rehabilitation surgery ands therapy, Mosquito netting, Perinatal care. If there was acause they were addressing it on there own and in partnership with other Non Goverment Organizations. All Rotarians are VOLUNTEERS and pay there own way for travel/transfers/accomodations while on volunteer trips and in there daily lives. This assist the Rotary Foundation to have a very low administrative cost factor. Within the past year the Gates Foundation has made two matching Grant Challenges to the Rotary Foundation for a total of 355 Milion dollar (US). This is to be matched by the $200 milion from the Rotary Foundation which will be collected within three years. The foundation has already raised 120 million. I have since made a major donation to this foundation and I highly recommend to those who are looking to put the donation to work and to make a difference around the world and in the USA.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Bangladesh and India in 2007. Kano, Nigeria in 2009.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

That it is ALL volunteers and that such a large percentage of the donations go to grants.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

This is a volunteer organization so that all Rotarians are there on there own time, at there own expence and really want help there fellow man.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

This organization would give the the mosty efficient use of your donated money. It would also provide no cost stewardship to help maintain there project or Polio Plus

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers