Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12.26316345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I currently know a family who moved there with the intentions of starting a new life and all I see is an angry family that has had there money taken, not allowed to live a normal life and are in fear of the managers (Ann and Michelle) who constantly threaten. Any time any money is earned it is taken away and who knows where it is according to reviews. These people are not helping anyone and anyone that is looking to move there, think fourteen times after reading reviews. SOMEONE IN THE GOVERMENT SYSTEM NEEDS TO REVIEW THIS PROGRAM AND THE MANAGERS. I PERSONALLY WILL BE CONTACTING EVERYONE I KNOW TO GET THESE WOMEN OUT OF THIS PROGRAM.....T. LUCIDO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of current managers and someone needs to review the bookkeeping.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2013

This program is the real criminal!!! They kick you out, keep all of your money and leave you on the sidewalk wiyhabsolutely nothing! Then they call the cops and CPS to come see you the next day. Thi... more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Well without homestarts help, me and my family are back on our feet. It was hard because they never gave us a dime back. They are crooks and thiefs. How do you take from the less fortunate and have a clear conscience? How does anybody supports evilness like this? We live in a society that justifies people like MICHELLE and the rest of the staff of inconsiderate, lying, manipulative and power control people who think they are better then you. I emailed everyone on the board and got no response but a call from the cops saying my money was a lost cause. I will continue posting on this site and others letting all the less fortunate families know of what this god forsaken company has done not only to us but to all the other families as well. You can also go to linkedin to find some of the other board members and get email addresses. I have also contacted every news station, including call Curtis, to let them know of the corruption that is happening at Homestart. It is not about the money now, the cops said that it was a lost cause, so now that I have a job and my wife has a job and money, we are taking this to the fullest. Beware all unfortunate families of the trap this company is setting you up for. My opinion would be to contact SAEHC, who are a staff of people who took care of me and my family, and homestart, you can rot in hell!!! Sincerely, one of your victims

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This program is the real criminal!!! They kick you out, keep all of your money and leave you on the sidewalk wiyhabsolutely nothing! Then they call the cops and CPS to come see you the next day. This is a setup and a family wrecker!! Its amazing how people sleep at night knowing what they have done to the children of the less fortunate!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Home Start is a program that helps transition homeless families back into homelessness after psychologically tormenting them and making them jump through hoops, all the while telling them that "when they graduate, they will receive help sustaining a home".. the key word here is "when" and "graduate" hmmm....?? I wonder how many families actually have graduated from this program?
Most families can't handle the communistic way that the director of the program treats them, and end up quiting...and those that don't quit end up getting kicked out! . why? Thats a good question???

Homeless shelters that kick homeless people out after months of following ridiculous rules, for no apparent reason, IS IN NO WAY ,SHAPE ,OR FORM HELPING THAT COMMUNITY !! in fact its insuring the re-occurrence of homelessness !

DO NOT DONATE TO THIS NON-PROFIT!!...they kicked my son(1 1/2 yrs. old) and his mother to the streets with 1/2 hour notice, and with no money! Even though she had saved $2700 during her "participation" in this "non-profit" homeless shelter,not to mention my son was sick and crying, buckled into his stroller downstairs alone,the whole time while she was upstairs being forced to remove her belongings from the "donated" room she had been living in for 8 1/2 months, otherwise her stuff would be thrown away and or the police would be called and she would be charged with trespassing!...............yea thats helping the homeless alright. NOT !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Please do not give your money to this non profit. They claim their success rate is 90%, but this is untrue. Most families do not make it through this program. The director pays herself a hefty salary and treats the families that live there terribly. She has no humanity. They charge monthly rent of $300 to people who have practically nothing, while she draws a six figure salary. They control all of the government aid money the residents recieve and dole it out as they deem needed. When families leave they have to go to small claims court to get their money back. Most families drop out or are kicked out by the director Ann Engelbrecht. She is a terrible woman. The people there live in constant fear of getting kicked out by this woman. She is not there to help the children as she states on the Home Start website. She is there to pay herself a six figure salary so she can drive a Mercedes. It is really sad because a program such as this could really help people if they had the right person in charge. Please give your money to a different shelter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2011

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

replace the Executive Director, Ann Engelbrecht, with someone who truly has compassion for homeless people and their children.

September 8, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 8, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

There are better homeless centers to donate to or assist. Roseville Home Start states it's purpose is to "transition homeless children and families into affordable, sustainable, permanent housing and self-sufficiency", but the program is little more than a shelter, and operates well below their capacity. Can accommodate 30 families with 99 beds, but many times the center will only have a few families living there, while other female/child shelters are at capacity and expanding. Most families drop out of the program before the one year contract, so housing placement and job assistance is not a priority of the center and is non-existent. All money earned/saved by families are administered by the staff and if a family drops out of the program, families see their saving mysteriously disappear or made-up fees for services materialize. Families are not giving printed statements/balance so their is no means for a family to accurately balance their own accounts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been told by families upon exiting the program that their personal financial savings were miss managed by the administration.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers