Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12.26316345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Homestart is a joke we were there 36 hours gave them $300 when we got there they mailed us a check 2 weeks later with $102. They are corrupt I think we should all get in contact with "Call Curtis"

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was told about homestart from a friend when my boyfriend and I were struggling. We were getting evicted from our apartment and turned to homestart for help. They sounded like a good program so we applied and moved in a week later. Needles to say it was horrible. The lady who worked with us was rude abd treated us like crap. The rooms are dirty and gross they give u nasty blankets abd expected me to put my 4 month old baby in a dirty play pin. They r extremley dishonest and do not care about ur well being. My family and I were only there for 3 hours before deciding this place is worse then jail. They took the money we gave them when we checked in with them and they refuse to give it back. The only reason they are still arounfbis because they rip everyone off. I wish I would have read the reviews on this hell hole before giving them my money. I don't recomend this place to anyone. I'm so disappointed and I hope they get shut down because they are not the great place they make themselves out to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2013

This program is the real criminal!!! They kick you out, keep all of your money and leave you on the sidewalk wiyhabsolutely nothing! Then they call the cops and CPS to come see you the next day. Thi... more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Well without homestarts help, me and my family are back on our feet. It was hard because they never gave us a dime back. They are crooks and thiefs. How do you take from the less fortunate and have a clear conscience? How does anybody supports evilness like this? We live in a society that justifies people like MICHELLE and the rest of the staff of inconsiderate, lying, manipulative and power control people who think they are better then you. I emailed everyone on the board and got no response but a call from the cops saying my money was a lost cause. I will continue posting on this site and others letting all the less fortunate families know of what this god forsaken company has done not only to us but to all the other families as well. You can also go to linkedin to find some of the other board members and get email addresses. I have also contacted every news station, including call Curtis, to let them know of the corruption that is happening at Homestart. It is not about the money now, the cops said that it was a lost cause, so now that I have a job and my wife has a job and money, we are taking this to the fullest. Beware all unfortunate families of the trap this company is setting you up for. My opinion would be to contact SAEHC, who are a staff of people who took care of me and my family, and homestart, you can rot in hell!!! Sincerely, one of your victims

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This program is the real criminal!!! They kick you out, keep all of your money and leave you on the sidewalk wiyhabsolutely nothing! Then they call the cops and CPS to come see you the next day. This is a setup and a family wrecker!! Its amazing how people sleep at night knowing what they have done to the children of the less fortunate!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My 8 year old son, wife and myself were put out on the sidewalk after 2 days of being in the program. Our worker Michellr gave us 30 minutes yo be off the property and left us there without a dimr. We just gave them over $400 less thrn 48 hours ago but said," To Baf" as she walked away with a smile on her face. She was rude, mean, direspectful and treated us like we were scum. I have worked all my life and have been successful, so this is very new to me. I cannot imagine her ever treating any of those famalies like human .beings. We still have no cash and no place. They should be ashamed for whothey are.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This program does not help the people it claims to help. Families enter the program hoping to get help, when in reality they get scrutinize disrespected and be little by the director, Ann. I was a resident and did exactly what I was supposed to and got kicked out for no reason. Ann made my son sit out in the freezing cold weather, while he was sick, and told me I had a half an hour to clean up and move all of my stuff. They took my phone so I was unable to find anybody to help me move my things. I had nowhere to go thankfully a friend allowed me to stay with her for a couple of days. They "managed" my money the entire time I was there. I I had approximately $2700, I received my money 17 days after I was kicked out, and it was over $2000 short. The director, Ann,charge me $50 for kicking me out and proceeded to unjustly (and without permission) spend $2000 of money that took me over 8 months to save. I was approximately 3 and a half months away from graduating the program. In my 8 and a half months at home start I saw several families torn apart and kicked out. These positive comments that are written on this site were obviously conjured up by, Ann or one of her employees that she constantly makes do her dirty work, like Michelle/Kayla. I feel sorry for employees that have to work beneath her, but mostly I pray for the future families that will fall victim to her. I really think this place to do good, if someone else was running it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I wish people could see this program for what it really is. In no way does this program help those it intends to. They have room for 30 families there are currently two that reside there. My wife, daughter and I were residents there for seven months. We were close to graduating until one day staff knocked on the door and told my wife that they would like me to leave. They did not give her any reason what so ever, just that they wanted her to stay and me to leave. They intentionally try to break up families, in the eight months we have been there I have witnessed this six seperate times. The final reason they gave me for exiting me was that my job did not meet their requirements. I have been employed since my first week upon moving in to home start. I am on commission sales and make more than any other resident did. How could my job not meet their standards. I had over 8000 dollars saved up when exited. I followed every rule they had and even some they made up just for me. It a completly arbitrary and inconsistent program. It would be a great program if they were consistent and did not go back on their own rules. The comments about clients not wanting to help themselves could not be farther from the truth. After exiting my family it took three weeks to send us our savings. They took it upon themselves to pay 3000 out of it on meanlingless things. They did pay some bills however a month later the creditors have yet to recieve them. I have done follow up on these bills and Home Start will not call me back. I have several thousand dollars in limbeau that I can not account for. People are worse off when leaving than they are when they get there. In some cases the clients are the problems some people can not be helped. However, the majority of the problems start with Home Start Staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My husband, son, and I needed a place to live so we contacted Homestart. It was good at the beginning then after being there 7 months they started treating me like a criminal. My husband couldn't find a job, so one day he went to the program director, Ann, and he told her that he had wanted to go to truck driving school. Ann suggested that he get all the information for the school and bring it to her. After fulfilling her request she told him to go for it. My husband went to the school for 3 weeks and was told that he had to go to Fontana to finish his training. He explained to Ann that he was going to be gone for 4-5 weeks, she approved it, however did not give him any money to live on, so he went. Given the fact that he had no money to live on he used his checks and had to ask family for money. While he was gone Ann would constantly ask me questions about where he got the money to live off of. When he finished his training and was heading “home” Ann said that he can't come back and that he was exited.

Finally, after being told that I had moved onto the second stage in the program, I went out looking for an apartment. As a graduate I was supposed to receive section 8, and help with rent for 6 months after leaving. I received NOTHING. In fact, I had to stay with family while waiting for the approval on my apartment. Its been only 3 months since I left (as a so called graduate) and I still have received no help, no follow up, NOTHING from Roseville Homestart.

That place is terrible, they need to have another person in charge. Ann breaks up families and ensures the reoccurrence homelessness in Placer County. I have seen so many kids and families get kicked out with nowhere to go. The majority of their money is taken and spent frivolously and is sent 2-3 weeks AFTER leaving. Ann uses the money as she pleases on paying the clients bills even after they are kicked out.

Please for anyone who is donating to this program, STOP!!! It’s hurting people rather than helping.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Home Start helps families who want to put in the effort themselves. If you dont want to work hard this is not for you. The classes are great and helped me more than words can say. Clients who dont like to follow rules love to complain.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being a client. I graduated and was given a car and rental help for six months. Clients who dont want to follow the rules complane all the time. i saved alot of money and cleaned my credit so that I owe nobody now. The staff supports you.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers