Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12.09091345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I wish people could see this program for what it really is. In no way does this program help those it intends to. They have room for 30 families there are currently two that reside there. My wife, daughter and I were residents there for seven months. We were close to graduating until one day staff knocked on the door and told my wife that they would like me to leave. They did not give her any reason what so ever, just that they wanted her to stay and me to leave. They intentionally try to break up families, in the eight months we have been there I have witnessed this six seperate times. The final reason they gave me for exiting me was that my job did not meet their requirements. I have been employed since my first week upon moving in to home start. I am on commission sales and make more than any other resident did. How could my job not meet their standards. I had over 8000 dollars saved up when exited. I followed every rule they had and even some they made up just for me. It a completly arbitrary and inconsistent program. It would be a great program if they were consistent and did not go back on their own rules. The comments about clients not wanting to help themselves could not be farther from the truth. After exiting my family it took three weeks to send us our savings. They took it upon themselves to pay 3000 out of it on meanlingless things. They did pay some bills however a month later the creditors have yet to recieve them. I have done follow up on these bills and Home Start will not call me back. I have several thousand dollars in limbeau that I can not account for. People are worse off when leaving than they are when they get there. In some cases the clients are the problems some people can not be helped. However, the majority of the problems start with Home Start Staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Home Start is an extremely comprehensive program with many rules and expectations for their residents. Adults are expected to put their family first and to become contributing members of the community.

Lea3 below put it beautifully, “clients who don’t like to follow rules love to
complain.” Individuals who do not follow the rules that have been laid out are not successful in the program. If an individual complies with the program that they agreed to upon arrival to the facility, they will graduate successfully, making a better life for themselves and their children.

It is unfortunate that our society makes it easy for capable people to live on handouts and do no real work for themselves and their family. Home Start is constantly bashed by ex-clients that do not want to put in the work. This is a unique facility that actually hold’s their residents to high standards and keeps them accountable for their decisions and actions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Home Start is a program that prioritizes the needs of children in homeless families. Adults of the family are expected to abide by strict program rules and are taught essential skills. The goal is for adults to become strong parents and leaders of their family. Adults who put their children’s needs above their own thrive at Home Start. Success at Home Start requires residents to be honest with themselves and others, to take responsibility for life choices, and to begin making decisions that benefit the welfare of their children. Adults receive a detailed explanation of program requirements and expectation prior to entrance. When adults choose to deceive the program, they jeopardize the safety and wellness of their children. Adults must make a commitment to change their unhealthy lifestyle to benefit their children’s futures.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Home Start is designed for families who are ready to get their life back together. Those who are not ready to take control of their situation create frivolous complaints because they are required to obtain employment, pay bills, and take care of their family. Every rule has a purpose to better the lives of the families and Placer County community. Each rule is set to ensure success after graduation: to set up family values and responsibility.

To receive services such as Section 8 housing and rental assistance graduated clients must have abided by the budget program. The budget program is designed to help clients save money and payoff any outstanding bills. Disgruntled clients complain because money is going toward current and past bills rather than frivolous items. Home Start is about setting priorities straight – family, bills, and employment – to become a contributing member of society.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2013

more

January 28, 2013

Home Start is a program that works for families in the community who are willing to focus on becoming successful members of our community. Families enter Home Start having come from a myriad of backgrounds and life experiences. Often there have been long periods of unemployment coupled with substance abuse and poor choices. Home Start focuses on the needs of the children because the adults are often the generation that chooses not to do what it is going to take to move forward, become self sufficient and provide the stability and home-life their children deserve.

When the parents of the children served at Home Start choose not to comply with the policies, create an unsafe environment for staff, volunteers and other families, they are required to find alternate housing. The facility is not locked, so folks are able to leave when they choose.

Unfortunately disgruntled ex clients posing as others are using this venue to post their opinions, rather than making use of the grievance policy and procedures that are in place at Home Start.

Home Start is a non profit audited annually and the financial reports are available to the public.

Home Start is not a "flop house". Strict rules apply and are enforced, for the benefit of the Home Start community and our community regionally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was part of a organization that donated a signifigant amount of time and materials to homestart. Our organization was countlessly demeaned by the director Ann and other staff members. Our organization has asked several times where are donations and have recieved no answer. This program claims to have a 90% graduation rate however no statistics can be provided. After talking with several current and past clients I have deamed this program extremely unproffesional and inconsistent. Homestart has room for up to 30 families, however they never have more than 6 and often has less. If you are an organization looking to donate goods and services I would strongly reccomend looking elsewhere. It is my opinion that this program does not help those it intends to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

My husband, son, and I needed a place to live so we contacted Homestart. It was good at the beginning then after being there 7 months they started treating me like a criminal. My husband couldn't find a job, so one day he went to the program director, Ann, and he told her that he had wanted to go to truck driving school. Ann suggested that he get all the information for the school and bring it to her. After fulfilling her request she told him to go for it. My husband went to the school for 3 weeks and was told that he had to go to Fontana to finish his training. He explained to Ann that he was going to be gone for 4-5 weeks, she approved it, however did not give him any money to live on, so he went. Given the fact that he had no money to live on he used his checks and had to ask family for money. While he was gone Ann would constantly ask me questions about where he got the money to live off of. When he finished his training and was heading “home” Ann said that he can't come back and that he was exited.

Finally, after being told that I had moved onto the second stage in the program, I went out looking for an apartment. As a graduate I was supposed to receive section 8, and help with rent for 6 months after leaving. I received NOTHING. In fact, I had to stay with family while waiting for the approval on my apartment. Its been only 3 months since I left (as a so called graduate) and I still have received no help, no follow up, NOTHING from Roseville Homestart.

That place is terrible, they need to have another person in charge. Ann breaks up families and ensures the reoccurrence homelessness in Placer County. I have seen so many kids and families get kicked out with nowhere to go. The majority of their money is taken and spent frivolously and is sent 2-3 weeks AFTER leaving. Ann uses the money as she pleases on paying the clients bills even after they are kicked out.

Please for anyone who is donating to this program, STOP!!! It’s hurting people rather than helping.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2011

more

October 17, 2011

Home Start offers people the chance to become self-sufficient by assiting them in the path to employment and off government aid. They help clients with resources when they lack the means to obtain them such as a place to stay, food, clothing, and baby items. Sadly, many are not ready to end their drug, partying, violent and criminal pasts for a more family-oriented one. This is a great program for peope who are truly ready to change their ways.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Please do not give your money to this non profit. They claim their success rate is 90%, but this is untrue. Most families do not make it through this program. The director pays herself a hefty salary and treats the families that live there terribly. She has no humanity. They charge monthly rent of $300 to people who have practically nothing, while she draws a six figure salary. They control all of the government aid money the residents recieve and dole it out as they deem needed. When families leave they have to go to small claims court to get their money back. Most families drop out or are kicked out by the director Ann Engelbrecht. She is a terrible woman. The people there live in constant fear of getting kicked out by this woman. She is not there to help the children as she states on the Home Start website. She is there to pay herself a six figure salary so she can drive a Mercedes. It is really sad because a program such as this could really help people if they had the right person in charge. Please give your money to a different shelter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2011

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

replace the Executive Director, Ann Engelbrecht, with someone who truly has compassion for homeless people and their children.

September 19, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Home Start helps families who want to put in the effort themselves. If you dont want to work hard this is not for you. The classes are great and helped me more than words can say. Clients who dont like to follow rules love to complain.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being a client. I graduated and was given a car and rental help for six months. Clients who dont want to follow the rules complane all the time. i saved alot of money and cleaned my credit so that I owe nobody now. The staff supports you.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers