Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12.09091345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

On approx. 7-19-2014 myself and my 2 children was homeless and needed shelter and went to Home Start in Roseville, CA. The only money I had was $25 and on 7-21-14 I gave it to them, out of that they gave me a $5.00 check so I could wash clothes.then on 8-4-14 I gave them my Welfare money of $310.00. Then on 8-5-14 I left there because of the treatment we were receiving. Today I just received the statement from Home Start and they kept ALL my money. I am 33 weeks pregnant, they wouldn't let me go to the doctor and when I left they would not give me any of my money back, plus called CPS on me. All is ok thankfully because my Aunt took me in. I have called TELL 10 . I urge everyone that has had any problems with this place to PLEASE do the same. This is a non-profit place and I have never felt so abused. PLEASE, PLEASE FLOOD NEWS 10 WITH CALLS, NO MATTER HOW LONG AGO THIS HAPPENED TO YOU.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire everyone there and place honest people that really CARE for the homeless with children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Terrible place!! Horrible people! Don't waste your time and money. They will lie and deceive and put you and your family at danger leaving you broke and in an even worse position than you had been in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire everyone and start over with people that have actual social skills.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

why do all the reviews with more than one star all sound the same and in fact are not reviews at all? they all tell of following rules etc...most people write reviews speaking of their own experiences and letting their feelings be known. The reviews with one star seems to have very similar experiences.

the shared experiences of most of the reviewers is what caught my attention. sounds like illegal activity is occurring here on a large scale and it needs to stop asap!
This place is life-changing alright, changing lives for the worse and putting the disadvantaged at a BIGGER DISADVANTAGE!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

close the place down and have all the staff arrested and return all the clients money!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I currently know a family who moved there with the intentions of starting a new life and all I see is an angry family that has had there money taken, not allowed to live a normal life and are in fear of the managers (Ann and Michelle) who constantly threaten. Any time any money is earned it is taken away and who knows where it is according to reviews. These people are not helping anyone and anyone that is looking to move there, think fourteen times after reading reviews. SOMEONE IN THE GOVERMENT SYSTEM NEEDS TO REVIEW THIS PROGRAM AND THE MANAGERS. I PERSONALLY WILL BE CONTACTING EVERYONE I KNOW TO GET THESE WOMEN OUT OF THIS PROGRAM.....T. LUCIDO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of current managers and someone needs to review the bookkeeping.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Homestart is a joke we were there 36 hours gave them $300 when we got there they mailed us a check 2 weeks later with $102. They are corrupt I think we should all get in contact with "Call Curtis"

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2013

This program is the real criminal!!! They kick you out, keep all of your money and leave you on the sidewalk wiyhabsolutely nothing! Then they call the cops and CPS to come see you the next day. Thi... more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Well without homestarts help, me and my family are back on our feet. It was hard because they never gave us a dime back. They are crooks and thiefs. How do you take from the less fortunate and have a clear conscience? How does anybody supports evilness like this? We live in a society that justifies people like MICHELLE and the rest of the staff of inconsiderate, lying, manipulative and power control people who think they are better then you. I emailed everyone on the board and got no response but a call from the cops saying my money was a lost cause. I will continue posting on this site and others letting all the less fortunate families know of what this god forsaken company has done not only to us but to all the other families as well. You can also go to linkedin to find some of the other board members and get email addresses. I have also contacted every news station, including call Curtis, to let them know of the corruption that is happening at Homestart. It is not about the money now, the cops said that it was a lost cause, so now that I have a job and my wife has a job and money, we are taking this to the fullest. Beware all unfortunate families of the trap this company is setting you up for. My opinion would be to contact SAEHC, who are a staff of people who took care of me and my family, and homestart, you can rot in hell!!! Sincerely, one of your victims

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This program is the real criminal!!! They kick you out, keep all of your money and leave you on the sidewalk wiyhabsolutely nothing! Then they call the cops and CPS to come see you the next day. This is a setup and a family wrecker!! Its amazing how people sleep at night knowing what they have done to the children of the less fortunate!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I was told about homestart from a friend when my boyfriend and I were struggling. We were getting evicted from our apartment and turned to homestart for help. They sounded like a good program so we applied and moved in a week later. Needles to say it was horrible. The lady who worked with us was rude abd treated us like crap. The rooms are dirty and gross they give u nasty blankets abd expected me to put my 4 month old baby in a dirty play pin. They r extremley dishonest and do not care about ur well being. My family and I were only there for 3 hours before deciding this place is worse then jail. They took the money we gave them when we checked in with them and they refuse to give it back. The only reason they are still arounfbis because they rip everyone off. I wish I would have read the reviews on this hell hole before giving them my money. I don't recomend this place to anyone. I'm so disappointed and I hope they get shut down because they are not the great place they make themselves out to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My 8 year old son, wife and myself were put out on the sidewalk after 2 days of being in the program. Our worker Michellr gave us 30 minutes yo be off the property and left us there without a dimr. We just gave them over $400 less thrn 48 hours ago but said," To Baf" as she walked away with a smile on her face. She was rude, mean, direspectful and treated us like we were scum. I have worked all my life and have been successful, so this is very new to me. I cannot imagine her ever treating any of those famalies like human .beings. We still have no cash and no place. They should be ashamed for whothey are.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Home Start is a program that helps transition homeless families back into homelessness after psychologically tormenting them and making them jump through hoops, all the while telling them that "when they graduate, they will receive help sustaining a home".. the key word here is "when" and "graduate" hmmm....?? I wonder how many families actually have graduated from this program?
Most families can't handle the communistic way that the director of the program treats them, and end up quiting...and those that don't quit end up getting kicked out! . why? Thats a good question???

Homeless shelters that kick homeless people out after months of following ridiculous rules, for no apparent reason, IS IN NO WAY ,SHAPE ,OR FORM HELPING THAT COMMUNITY !! in fact its insuring the re-occurrence of homelessness !

DO NOT DONATE TO THIS NON-PROFIT!!...they kicked my son(1 1/2 yrs. old) and his mother to the streets with 1/2 hour notice, and with no money! Even though she had saved $2700 during her "participation" in this "non-profit" homeless shelter,not to mention my son was sick and crying, buckled into his stroller downstairs alone,the whole time while she was upstairs being forced to remove her belongings from the "donated" room she had been living in for 8 1/2 months, otherwise her stuff would be thrown away and or the police would be called and she would be charged with trespassing!...............yea thats helping the homeless alright. NOT !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This program does not help the people it claims to help. Families enter the program hoping to get help, when in reality they get scrutinize disrespected and be little by the director, Ann. I was a resident and did exactly what I was supposed to and got kicked out for no reason. Ann made my son sit out in the freezing cold weather, while he was sick, and told me I had a half an hour to clean up and move all of my stuff. They took my phone so I was unable to find anybody to help me move my things. I had nowhere to go thankfully a friend allowed me to stay with her for a couple of days. They "managed" my money the entire time I was there. I I had approximately $2700, I received my money 17 days after I was kicked out, and it was over $2000 short. The director, Ann,charge me $50 for kicking me out and proceeded to unjustly (and without permission) spend $2000 of money that took me over 8 months to save. I was approximately 3 and a half months away from graduating the program. In my 8 and a half months at home start I saw several families torn apart and kicked out. These positive comments that are written on this site were obviously conjured up by, Ann or one of her employees that she constantly makes do her dirty work, like Michelle/Kayla. I feel sorry for employees that have to work beneath her, but mostly I pray for the future families that will fall victim to her. I really think this place to do good, if someone else was running it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers