Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
Write A Review
August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I first visited Rose of Sharon and met Joan two years ago when I moved from Texas. Having owned a ranch in Texas with horses and longhorns, I was looking for a place to be with horses again. I was immediately impressed with the care the horses receive at Roses. Joan does a great job taking care of the horses and preparing for lessons with the children. Due to my work schedule I can only volunteer on weekends but would love to do more. I am very grateful for my friendship with Joan. Rose of Sharon is a blessing to our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 28, 2010

I am in my third year of being employed with ROSES and I am so thankful that I found this organization. It has given me a new appreciation to families that face the challenges of having a child with ... more

August 15, 2014

I have know Joan my many years now and will always admire her amazing determination to make ROSES the vision she always imagined it would be. Through the hurdles that a nonprofit can go through, she focuses on the people she has touched in so many ways and the horses that are part of her soul. In the 9 years I have been involved it has grown into an even more amazing place with the gorgeous new arena. I never thought that day I walked into the barn to just volunteer once a week with one little boy, that Joan, the horses and all of the people I have met along the way have changed my life. At a time where I needed so much, this place gave me more than I ever imagined! The open arms of ROSES is always a place I know I can go to feel peace and appreciation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2010

I am in my third year of being employed with ROSES and I am so thankful that I found this organization. It has given me a new appreciation to families that face the challenges of having a child with special needs. Having a place like ROSES for their children to be a part of is so important. They are able to care for and ride horses in a safe place and learn skills they can not learn in a classroom. Being a part of the daily care of the horses, teaching the students and everything in between gives me such a feeling of accomplishment that I am proud to help ROSES continue to strive for the goals such as finishing the construction of the indoor arena so that more children can benefit from such an awesome experience!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the role of volunteer, board member, donor, aprentice instructor, and finally certified instructor taking on some students of my own.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the difference it makes in the children.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated, different, but determined to come together to make a difference for others.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide a unique therapeutic environment able to serve many more children and adults with disabilities than are currently being served now.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Volunteering at ROSES has been one of the best experiences of my life. The horses are all so sweet, yes, even the minis sometimes, and I know how much te kids love coming out there. It really is a great program that does a lot of good for the community and the kids whose lives it touches. Everytime I go out there, it puts my life in perspective and allows me to not only help myself, but more importantly help others. It is a truly remarkable thing they've got going on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

When I had the opportunity to volunteer at ROSES it brought such joy and fulfilment being part of such an amazing program. I loved being able to experience things through the students eyes. Watching them overcome their fears and accomplish their goals was extremely rewarding. Joan was the most inspiring person to work with and learn from. Her love for the horses and her students was a part of everything she did for the program. My volunteer experience went far beyond my expectations when we were invited to a talent show at the student's school. I cried through the entire show because I was so overwhelmed with pride at the confidence the performers had in themselves. I believe ROSES played a part in that by allowing them to discover skills and feel proud of themselves by caring for the horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

When I first walked into Rose of Sharon Equestrian school I immediately felt a sense of peace. I had not met Joan, the horses or the other volunteers yet, so I could only assume it was because of the therapeutic atmosphere. I've come to learn after the 5 months I've been able to volunteer with ROSES that I was taking in so much more. The amount of hard-work and compassion poured into the school is very evident, and being a veterinary technician I notice it not only with the therapy program itself but also with the wellness of the animals. Each horse has their very own personality and needs and Joan, with the help of her staff/volunteers sees that these animals are beyond cared for so that they in turn can care for others. The horses at ROSES are naturally kind souls and it is a wonderful experience to interact with them. This is an inspiring organization that promotes wellness and empowerment in all of the best ways!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

This fall begins my third year as a Rose of Sharon volunteer. Each year gets better. Joan, her staff, and all the other volunteers are wonderful to work with and the facility is spotless. When I started volunteering I was a very inexperienced and had no exposure to disabled children. I have observed first hand how much the time the kids spend at Roses means to them and how much their self-confidence improves as they work with such large animals. When they finally have the opportunity to ride "a real" horse, their faces light up. It's a blessing for all of us volunteers and children alike.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No need to make changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

ROSES is one of the most inspirational organizations that I have ever had experience with. Joan twining almost singlehandedly works to keep the farm running so that as many children as possible can ex... more

August 10, 2014

A wonderful organization that helps children with physical and emotional challenges feel empowered by connecting with horses. The immaculately maintained barn is home to a variety of horses and ponies with the very important job of teaching these special children things that could never be taught in a classroom.
I love the fact that Joan Twining, the director and owner, has combined her expertise to benefit children while providing a home and new lease on life to the barn full of horses and ponies that she lovingly cares for.
It is truly amazing to see the connection between the children and horses!!



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2012

ROSES is one of the most inspirational organizations that I have ever had experience with. Joan twining almost singlehandedly works to keep the farm running so that as many children as possible can experience the healing effect that her amazing horses can have. The horses are kind and gentle and really love their job. They have had such a positive impact on the children they meet and definitely deserve to be recognized for their work. ROSES is such a great non profit organization and I have loved being able to be a part of it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

This will be my 3rd year volunteering at ROSES. Each year my commitment to the organization grows with more time spent helping-out as well as increasing my financial giving. That is because ROSES is a wonderful therapeutic riding program with dedicated and caring people who believe in the sanctity of life both human and animal.

To anyone reading this, I encourage you also to volunteer at Roses. You won't be sorry. There is plenty to do. You will feel welcomed and have patient as well as expert instruction. Joan Twining and her critters are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Joan Twining

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

My daughter has been volunteering at ROSES for a year now and asked me to come out this past spring to take a tour to see if I would also like to volunteer. The minute you step into the barn, you are captured by pure serenity. Joan Marie Twining and her horses have created the most welcoming, therapeutic safe haven where children and adults with special needs can come to gain self-confidence, inner strength and peace, which they rarely find in their daily lives. Her compassion for these unique individuals, along with the sweetest horses I have met, has transformed so many. I have seen first hand the once reluctant faces turn into ones with smiles and adoration for Joan and her horses. The past five months of volunteering have been some of the most fulfilling months of my life, and I will be around for a long time to help this great cause become that much greater.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

ROSES is a wonderful place, full of inspirational people and horses! Joan has dedicated her life to therapeutic horsemanship and has touched many souls along the way. The horses are so patient and understanding, no matter who they are working with. If you are looking for therapeutic horsemanship classes that are individualized and personal, ROSES is the place to go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers