Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.936715
Write A Review
June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Coming with a group of 14-20 year old students with Autism, this has been an amazing program. I have watched students grow and learn in an unconventional learning environment in a way that was not thought possible before the experience. The patience of the volunteer staff and their ability to learn and adapt to our students was outstanding, and they were always willing to ask questions and learn a new strategy if needed. They were able to build relationships with the students and in many instances work without the assistance of our school staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am a employee at Forbush School of Glyndon who deals with mostly children with autisim. I can not say enough about the Rose Of Sharon program and how much their program has impacted our children. I have personally watched children improve in every area just from attending this amazing program. The staff is top of the line and simply wonderful with our children. Words can not express how greatful we our for the Rose of Sharon program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is a unique facility that provides services for a variety of people, but especially those with a disability. Children and adults have come through the barn doors meeting horses for the first time and they leave with a new found confidence and a life-long 4 legged friend. ROSES allows students to achieve many goals in the barn or on a horse that usually reflect in other aspects of their life. It has been a great experience volunteering at ROSES for 6 years, getting to know the students personally and watching them grow over the time they have been riding. Students learn horsemanship, but they also grow personally and develop new life skills. ROSES ihas been a huge part of my life and after college, I came back to ROSES as a certified therapeutic riding instructor because I love the atmosphere and seeing the miracles that happen here on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I participated as a chaperone with students attending a special needs school. We traveled to ROSES once per week and spent the morning there. The staff were very accomodating and knowledgeable. The farm and facilities were safe, well-organized, clean and comfortable. The horses were calm and well-mannered and staff made sure that safety was paramount. The students truly enjoyed the program and learned a great deal. The program helped students make progress in other areas of their lives as well, such as socially, emotionally, and behaviorally. The ROSES program has been a highlight for our school and I recommend ROSES highly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Joan has always been the engine that drives the Rose of Sharon Equestrian School. Her love of children and desire to help kids happily achieve has no bounds. Spending time with her while she works with her kids and her horses only reinforces my impression of her obvious love and devotion to what she does. I've honestly never met anyone who matches her patience and love for students with special needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Hello. I am the principal of a special education program for students ages 3-8. This past year 8 of my students had the privilige of visiting the Rose Equestrian School on a weekly basis. The program is amazing! Ms. Joan and her staff are extremely knowlegable about horses, as well as, special needs students. This made it a fit perfect. The students learned about basic horse care and gained the confidence they needed to approach, and even feed, a horse. They looked forward to their weekly visits. The students have truely reaped the benefits of this program. I highly recommend it! Diann Butler, M.S. Forbush Therapeutic Preschool at Towson

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I first came to ROSES in 2009 the moment I pulled onto the property I could feel this place was special. The air just felt cleaner and the beautiful pastures and welcoming barn instantly eased my anxiety. After meeting Joan and the therapists (horses) I knew I had to be a part of this mission. With the help of the vocational director at the school I worked for we were awarded a grant to take 8 Autism Spectrum Adolescents to the farm once a week. Some of these students had never seen a farm before let alone a horse, so it is difficult for me to express with words alone how much this experience meant to these students. But from a practical stand point the data said it all. Students were more willing to do work and after returning from their morning session with the horses they were calm, more focuses, and eager to participate in activities. The horses also brought forward a strengthened ability to communicate. I wish I could tell you how it happened but you'll just have to ask one of the horses...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

My daughter applied to ROS because of her love of horses and also the need to fulfill her service learning hours for high school. She was also suffering from the loss of her beloved horse at the time and her experience helped her in more ways than she expected. She was so excited when she came home and told me that one of the students had taken a liking to her and ran up and hugged her as he entered the barn. She completed her hours over a year ago and still wants to go and help when she can because she enjoys being around the ponies and Ms. Joan. I am thankful that she was accepted to be a part of this wonderful place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I was fortunate and proud to volunteer and work with Joan and her herd for about 6 months. We are moving and I miss those powerful "ponies"! ROSES is a beautiful, peaceful barn that changes lives. Everyone that visits this immaculate real world classroom learns and grows. There are wonderful people and kind spirited horses that enjoy their second careers as teachers. I hope that ROSES will continue to make positive impacts in many more kids and families lives for years to come. By reaching their goal of a finished indoor arena and getting a volunteer coordinator they will continue to share the blessings of those smiling faces after a job well done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2010

more

June 4, 2010

I just cannot express the love I have for ROSES on so many levels. I meet Joan when she allowed me to volunteer at her barn and spent time with her horses. The horses and the quiet environment was so therapeutic at a time in my life when stress levels were high. Life circumstances pulled me way from being able to volunteer, but God knew my heart and put ROSES back in my life when a friend I was helping with a brain injury began attending ROSES and I was driving her to her sessions. God found a way to fit ROSES into my life a handful of times in the past 8 years. Whenever I was there, it was to help ROSES but somehow I always left feeling like I was taking more from the experiences then I was able to give back. Now I have the privilege to take a few of my autistic students (I am an OT at school for children with autism) to ROSES each year and the love they show for the horses and the progress they show through the 8 weeks is always amazing and touching!! They display skills and abilities I dont see in the school environment and they seem to open up and let down their guards in a way I have never seen. I always leave smiling, trying to memorize the way the students engages in ROSES environment and always looking forward to see what the next visit holds! I cant not say enough about ROSES- the therapeutic environment, the amazing horses, Joan's obvious passion for her occupation, her caring for every individual that walks in the door on top of her knowledge and therapeutic use of self- being apart of ROSES is life changing!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

(See above)

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers