Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I started to volunteer at ROSES my junior year of high school. I thought it would just be a way to earn my service hours but after my first day I realized it was so much more. I saw first hand how effective equine therapy is and how excited the students are to come into contact with the horses. I look forward every week to come and see the students and watch them grow and become more confident in their abilities. I never realized how much this experience would mean to me. ROSES is a place of learning and growing not only for the students but for the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have been working at ROSES for about 7 years and it has been the best experience I have ever had. Everyone who comes there has such a positive attitude when ever they are there. I have seen amazing changes in the students that come to Roses. Kids who have severe problems are changed after leaving there. You hear stories from the kids aids about how happier they are in the classroom and at home all because of what everyone does at Roses. I love being a part of this program and being able to help students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I started volunteering at Rose's a year ago. I found them online and it seemed like a perfect fit for me to be able to work with special needs kids and horses. I started with barn chores in the summer and then moved to classes with the students 3 days a week in the Fall and Spring. Rose's founder, Joan Twining is an inspiration to the volunteers, teachers and especially her students. It is such an overwhelming joy to be able to see the students overcome their fears and learn so much. I love getting to know each of their personalities and am sad when each session ends. I can honestly say that the opportunity to serve at Rose's has made more impact on my life than I ever expected.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for Roses for some time now and love it! The amazing care that Ms. Joan and the horses give to the children is something simply amazing. The work that they do on a day to day basis is unbelievable but I believe that their sense of sincere love and care for the people they are touching is the most important of all. I have never met such gentle, pacient horses so willing and eager to please. The work that she does is truly spectacular and touches the hearts of not only the students but everyone invoved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Rose of Sharon is supportive and caring of all the students they work with. Joan is careful to individualize each students experience including those who won't ride. The calm and gentle nature of all the staff working with the students is reassuring and comforting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Coming with a group of 14-20 year old students with Autism, this has been an amazing program. I have watched students grow and learn in an unconventional learning environment in a way that was not thought possible before the experience. The patience of the volunteer staff and their ability to learn and adapt to our students was outstanding, and they were always willing to ask questions and learn a new strategy if needed. They were able to build relationships with the students and in many instances work without the assistance of our school staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am a employee at Forbush School of Glyndon who deals with mostly children with autisim. I can not say enough about the Rose Of Sharon program and how much their program has impacted our children. I have personally watched children improve in every area just from attending this amazing program. The staff is top of the line and simply wonderful with our children. Words can not express how greatful we our for the Rose of Sharon program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is a unique facility that provides services for a variety of people, but especially those with a disability. Children and adults have come through the barn doors meeting horses for the first time and they leave with a new found confidence and a life-long 4 legged friend. ROSES allows students to achieve many goals in the barn or on a horse that usually reflect in other aspects of their life. It has been a great experience volunteering at ROSES for 6 years, getting to know the students personally and watching them grow over the time they have been riding. Students learn horsemanship, but they also grow personally and develop new life skills. ROSES ihas been a huge part of my life and after college, I came back to ROSES as a certified therapeutic riding instructor because I love the atmosphere and seeing the miracles that happen here on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I participated as a chaperone with students attending a special needs school. We traveled to ROSES once per week and spent the morning there. The staff were very accomodating and knowledgeable. The farm and facilities were safe, well-organized, clean and comfortable. The horses were calm and well-mannered and staff made sure that safety was paramount. The students truly enjoyed the program and learned a great deal. The program helped students make progress in other areas of their lives as well, such as socially, emotionally, and behaviorally. The ROSES program has been a highlight for our school and I recommend ROSES highly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Joan has always been the engine that drives the Rose of Sharon Equestrian School. Her love of children and desire to help kids happily achieve has no bounds. Spending time with her while she works with her kids and her horses only reinforces my impression of her obvious love and devotion to what she does. I've honestly never met anyone who matches her patience and love for students with special needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers