Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have loved every second spent at Rose of Sharon. It is really an amazing place. The barn and rings are very well kept and very impressive. The horses clearly love their jobs and it is awesome to see them during lessons and the way they interact with the children. Ms. Joan is especially what makes Rose of Sharon so special. I have always loved watching her during lessons, because the patient, caring way she works with every child makes every experience that much better. My two years spent volunteering at Rose of Sharon were some of the most rewarding experiences I have had. Rose of Sharon is truly a unique and spectacular place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My experience of volunteering at Rose of Sharon has been nothing but amazing! The facilities and barn are extremely well kept and gorgeous. Ms. Joan Twining truly lives for Rose of Sharon. It is amazing to watch someone in action doing something they really love. Her constant positivity and happiness radiate through all she does. She cares so deeply for the horses, childre, and program. The horses are such beautiful animals that are gentle and kind in every way. Roses is a great place that is doing remarkable things to help inspiring children. There is no place quite like Roses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

When I first walked into the barn at ROSES, I knew it was a special place. Then when the children came, and I witnessed and experienced first hand the amazing relationship that built between Joan, the horses and the children, I knew I wanted to get involved. It has made me a better person. Having horses of my own, its made me a better horsewoman. During the program, we get so close to the children that by the end of the session we are sad to see them leave. When you see the progression of the children, you know good things are happening at ROSES. There is no coincidences. Everyone is touched.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is a fantastic place for children and horses to form a bond. The individuality of planning and kindness shown toward my students and staff was amazing. The experience, knowledge of both Joan and her staff contributed to an excellent therapy plan. The staff and students who participated from my class room looked forward to going. What an opportunity for all. I recommend their therapy program without reservation. Respectfully submitted by Michele Shanti special educator at the Glyndon Autism Program

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Rose Of Sharon has been an inspiration to the community and all those they serve ! The kindness , love and encouragement shown to both people and horses is a true blessing ! Joan Twining and her staff of human and equine helpers bring joy to everyone who visits Rose Of Sharon !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

ROSES plays a vital role in the lives of children with special needs. I'm very proud to support of ROSES!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

ROSES is an incredible place to work with. Children are given a chance to grow and experience new interactions in a safe environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I am an equine veterinarian that provides provide care to the horses and ponies of the Rose of Sharon Equestrian School. The barn and riding arena provide a lovely environment for horses, students and staff to do their job in a safe, comfortable and cheerful environment. The stable is impressively maintained with attention to cleanliness, neatness ,compassionate care to the animals and providing an efficient productive learning environment for students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 15, 2010

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is an amazing place. It is a place of wellness, safety, compassion, humility and love. I found the barn and Joan and the fourleggeds when I first moved to Baltimore an... more

June 29, 2012

Rose of Sharon is a magical place. It is a no- judgment-zone full of healing presence. I came to the barn as a volunteer and have loved every moment I've spent working the the people and animals. True miracles happen with the work Joan and the ponies and the rosebuds do at Roses. I believe the world is better because of Roses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2010

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is an amazing place. It is a place of wellness, safety, compassion, humility and love. I found the barn and Joan and the fourleggeds when I first moved to Baltimore and it was a grounding force in my life. I have been privy to see many amazing things happen with people and animals in this space. And, I can only hope that the positive impact this facility has on the people who touch it/are touched by it and the community that surrounds it will be a ripple effect. A deep bow to Roses, and all who make it happen (people and animals, alike).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Feeling gounded in myself as a person, woman and a friend.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have really enjoyed my time as a volunteer at Rose of Sharon so far and it has been a very valuable experience. Joan is wonderful with both the children and her horses and her farm is absolutely beautiful. I love how the children's eyes light up as soon as they enter the barn and see all of the horses (and miniature horses!!). Joan has come up with many creative and innovative ways to incorporate horsemanship into fun activities that the children love. I volunteered during a group of preschoolers' first session at ROSES. I have seen first-hand the impressive progress they have made in a very short amount of time. Their confidence has risen and they have become more self-assured as they complete the various activities. I cannot say enough positive things about Joan and ROSES.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers