Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2012

Roses is built with passion: for the persons/kids we serve,for the horses that are our staff;for the volunteers that provide their time and energy to make changes in the lives of the clients we serve.... more

August 12, 2014

a great non profit organization that was started more than 11 yr ago. Primary focus is providing basic horsemanship skills to persons with disabilities;primarily those on the autism spectrum. Through a grassroot approach they were able to build a wonderful indoor arena that was designed for the needs of those with sensory processing issues. It truly demonstrates how it puts the ability in disability; for the participants and the equine partners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find additional philanthropists to donate more financial resources allowing them to expand the staffing which would allow more services to be provide

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2012

Roses is built with passion: for the persons/kids we serve,for the horses that are our staff;for the volunteers that provide their time and energy to make changes in the lives of the clients we serve. the executive director takes no salary as the program is building; her salary is the positive changes she sees in the clients we serve. We live for the day that weather is no barrier to providing the services that make our clients blossom . Once our indoor arean is complete we will be able to serve so many more and the changes that evolve will touch so many lives in such a positive way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the changes in the students that we serve communicated by the teachers and families of the students

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more contributors to establish a regular cash flow

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

a friend of mine was volunteering and after she passed I wanted to honor her

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

complete the indoor arena so we are not beholdent to the weather for lessons

What is its top priority in the long run?

annual fundraising to bring it to the next level of financial security that includes service to adults as well as children providing not only therapeutic riding but vocational training and ongoing educational training to clinicians

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

This fall begins my third year as a Rose of Sharon volunteer. Each year gets better. Joan, her staff, and all the other volunteers are wonderful to work with and the facility is spotless. When I started volunteering I was a very inexperienced and had no exposure to disabled children. I have observed first hand how much the time the kids spend at Roses means to them and how much their self-confidence improves as they work with such large animals. When they finally have the opportunity to ride "a real" horse, their faces light up. It's a blessing for all of us volunteers and children alike.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No need to make changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

ROSES is one of the most inspirational organizations that I have ever had experience with. Joan twining almost singlehandedly works to keep the farm running so that as many children as possible can ex... more

August 10, 2014

A wonderful organization that helps children with physical and emotional challenges feel empowered by connecting with horses. The immaculately maintained barn is home to a variety of horses and ponies with the very important job of teaching these special children things that could never be taught in a classroom.
I love the fact that Joan Twining, the director and owner, has combined her expertise to benefit children while providing a home and new lease on life to the barn full of horses and ponies that she lovingly cares for.
It is truly amazing to see the connection between the children and horses!!



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2012

ROSES is one of the most inspirational organizations that I have ever had experience with. Joan twining almost singlehandedly works to keep the farm running so that as many children as possible can experience the healing effect that her amazing horses can have. The horses are kind and gentle and really love their job. They have had such a positive impact on the children they meet and definitely deserve to be recognized for their work. ROSES is such a great non profit organization and I have loved being able to be a part of it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

This will be my 3rd year volunteering at ROSES. Each year my commitment to the organization grows with more time spent helping-out as well as increasing my financial giving. That is because ROSES is a wonderful therapeutic riding program with dedicated and caring people who believe in the sanctity of life both human and animal.

To anyone reading this, I encourage you also to volunteer at Roses. You won't be sorry. There is plenty to do. You will feel welcomed and have patient as well as expert instruction. Joan Twining and her critters are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Joan Twining

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

My daughter has been volunteering at ROSES for a year now and asked me to come out this past spring to take a tour to see if I would also like to volunteer. The minute you step into the barn, you are captured by pure serenity. Joan Marie Twining and her horses have created the most welcoming, therapeutic safe haven where children and adults with special needs can come to gain self-confidence, inner strength and peace, which they rarely find in their daily lives. Her compassion for these unique individuals, along with the sweetest horses I have met, has transformed so many. I have seen first hand the once reluctant faces turn into ones with smiles and adoration for Joan and her horses. The past five months of volunteering have been some of the most fulfilling months of my life, and I will be around for a long time to help this great cause become that much greater.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

ROSES is a wonderful place, full of inspirational people and horses! Joan has dedicated her life to therapeutic horsemanship and has touched many souls along the way. The horses are so patient and understanding, no matter who they are working with. If you are looking for therapeutic horsemanship classes that are individualized and personal, ROSES is the place to go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I was originally a Towson University Family Studies and Human Services intern at Rose of Sharon from January 2013-May 2013, became a donor in August 2013, and am now a volunteer. ROSES has not only introduced me to what I want to do but it has helped me grow and truly realize my full potential. From Jake the barn cat to Joan Twinning, everyone is warm, welcoming, kind, and nurturing. I have volunteered for other therapeutic equestrian centers and none compare. There is no better place to volunteer for or donate to. ROSES really works hard to be the best they can be and to benefit as many individuals as they can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them continued growth and recognition!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I recently became a volunteer at Rose of Sharon Equestrian School. From the very first day when I came to interview with Joan and see the facility, I was positively impressed by the environment there. The atmosphere is extremely pleasant and relaxing, with soft instrumental music playing in the barn which seems to enhance the well-appointed buildings and pastoral setting. The new indoor riding arena offers students an opportunity to work, while protected from the weather. The barn is the most clean and well-organized farm building I have ever visited. It is clear that these are not just animal stalls but the homes of the special equines which help to heal the spirit of all humans who come there. The horses receive the most exquisite individualized care, including specially tailored diets and meticulously groomed living quarters. Joan’s caring nature and gentle personality come together with the peaceful setting she has created to foster a positive learning and healing environment.

My schedule is very busy and although time constraints only allow me to volunteer a few hours per week. I look forward to going to work there, whether I am sweeping floors, cleaning feeding trays or watering horses. It has rapidly become a respite from the daily grind of rushing around town. I highly recommend the Rose of Sharon Equestrian School as place of solace, encouragement and growth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

Roses is an amazing organization for children with disabilities. The amount of time, effort, love, and caring that goes into making this such a life changing experience for their students is amazing. Joan is truly making a difference with not only her students, but every person that walks through her door.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My daughter volunteered at ROSES. She came for the opportunity to work with horses and stayed for the love of Roses. The program is very well run with such love and attention to detail. The horse and barn are so well cared for. There is even soothing music that plays just for the horses. This is a place where healing occurs not only for the clients but also for the animals and anyone who comes into contact with Roses. Such a worthy program that will leave an impact on you for the rest of your life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers