Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

ROSES is one of the most inspirational organizations that I have ever had experience with. Joan twining almost singlehandedly works to keep the farm running so that as many children as possible can experience the healing effect that her amazing horses can have. The horses are kind and gentle and really love their job. They have had such a positive impact on the children they meet and definitely deserve to be recognized for their work. ROSES is such a great non profit organization and I have loved being able to be a part of it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

ROSES plays a vital role in the lives of children with special needs. I'm very proud to support of ROSES!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

ROSES is an incredible place to work with. Children are given a chance to grow and experience new interactions in a safe environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I am an equine veterinarian that provides provide care to the horses and ponies of the Rose of Sharon Equestrian School. The barn and riding arena provide a lovely environment for horses, students and staff to do their job in a safe, comfortable and cheerful environment. The stable is impressively maintained with attention to cleanliness, neatness ,compassionate care to the animals and providing an efficient productive learning environment for students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 15, 2010

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is an amazing place. It is a place of wellness, safety, compassion, humility and love. I found the barn and Joan and the fourleggeds when I first moved to Baltimore an... more

June 29, 2012

Rose of Sharon is a magical place. It is a no- judgment-zone full of healing presence. I came to the barn as a volunteer and have loved every moment I've spent working the the people and animals. True miracles happen with the work Joan and the ponies and the rosebuds do at Roses. I believe the world is better because of Roses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2010

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is an amazing place. It is a place of wellness, safety, compassion, humility and love. I found the barn and Joan and the fourleggeds when I first moved to Baltimore and it was a grounding force in my life. I have been privy to see many amazing things happen with people and animals in this space. And, I can only hope that the positive impact this facility has on the people who touch it/are touched by it and the community that surrounds it will be a ripple effect. A deep bow to Roses, and all who make it happen (people and animals, alike).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Feeling gounded in myself as a person, woman and a friend.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have really enjoyed my time as a volunteer at Rose of Sharon so far and it has been a very valuable experience. Joan is wonderful with both the children and her horses and her farm is absolutely beautiful. I love how the children's eyes light up as soon as they enter the barn and see all of the horses (and miniature horses!!). Joan has come up with many creative and innovative ways to incorporate horsemanship into fun activities that the children love. I volunteered during a group of preschoolers' first session at ROSES. I have seen first-hand the impressive progress they have made in a very short amount of time. Their confidence has risen and they have become more self-assured as they complete the various activities. I cannot say enough positive things about Joan and ROSES.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Roses is built with passion: for the persons/kids we serve,for the horses that are our staff;for the volunteers that provide their time and energy to make changes in the lives of the clients we serve. the executive director takes no salary as the program is building; her salary is the positive changes she sees in the clients we serve. We live for the day that weather is no barrier to providing the services that make our clients blossom . Once our indoor arean is complete we will be able to serve so many more and the changes that evolve will touch so many lives in such a positive way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the changes in the students that we serve communicated by the teachers and families of the students

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more contributors to establish a regular cash flow

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

a friend of mine was volunteering and after she passed I wanted to honor her

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

complete the indoor arena so we are not beholdent to the weather for lessons

What is its top priority in the long run?

annual fundraising to bring it to the next level of financial security that includes service to adults as well as children providing not only therapeutic riding but vocational training and ongoing educational training to clinicians

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

It's very difficult to really understand the impact that Roses has had on my daughter's life. Starting at a very young age, she began her work at Roses. She learned how to brush using various brushes and strokes. Clean hooves, prepare meals, give showers, give treats and the list goes on. Throughout the process, she even learned how to ride her horse (actually it was Izzy the Pony). She learned how to be gentle and in return gained confidence when riding or even being around her Pony. When she started she was very quiet and said very little. Today she loves to talk about riding and spending time with Ms. Joan and the other helpers at Roses. The experience has truly given my daughter a greater appreciation for animals and other beings and enabled her to develop in ways that would otherwise not have been possible. We owe so much to Roses and the staff, and a special thanks to Izzy!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Our granddaughter was originally diagnosed with POD NOS at the age of three. Most people are more familiar with the term :AUTISM" after doing much research we were lucky to find a place called Roses (Rose of sharon Equestrain School). Mrs Joan the director, and her volunteer staff who work with children with learning disabilities do and unblievable job ,you would have to be there and see it with your own eyes. Our granddaughter loved her horse "IZZY" she learned how to groom her and take care of her horse. After a morning ride "IZZY" was always waiting for her treat. we went to Roses from 2005 to 2011. She was always ready on Saturday mornings to go see "IZZY" , now she is very busy on Saturdays with her social life , she is out with her friends and has dance classes and drama classes Who would have ever thought this day would have come. She now has a social life. When I asked Joan about her she said, "we launched your granddaughter ,now we have all these other kids to take care of . I never left I still get out there about once a week to see and here whats going on with the other kids. I once took a close friend out to see this place and on the way back he said to me," where did you find this SAINT? " I'll probably never leave, I can't get enough of this good feeling I get out there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 29, 2012

I have been in the field of Special Education for 36 years-I have met indivduals whom I have taught or served in some capacity and I have met many professionals in this fiels along the way. I had read about Joan Trinings "Roses " program a few years ago and was curious but this year I had the opportunity to directly work with her because of my students.My students, in a high school life skills type program, raise $ every year for a charity of their choice, After much research and conversation, they chose "Roses" as their focus this year. I met with Joan and she gave me ideas for lessons I could do with my students to learn about her program and the horses and the care they needetc. We had about 8 weeks between the time she and I met, and when the students took a trip to meet Joan and the horses and ponies. During that time, they learned everything they could about the animals as well as how horses and ponies could be therapeutic for them and others with Special Needs. They raised over $500.oo to donate to the farm for a special blanket. Finally the day came to meet Joan , her volunteers, and her employee who is a graduate of the class I teach!!!! That in and of itself was so inspiring to the students.. bt there was more. Joans wonderful gentle way with humans and animals touched all of us to the core. Her appreciation of the students efforts: their reports which they had put together into a book and read to her, and the money they presented, was heartfelt. She was astounded by them and what they gave of themselves for her program. There was not a dry eye in the barn. It truly was an amzing experience for each and every one of us.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers