Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 29, 2012

ROSES has been an important part of my life and my daughters life. My daughter was first a student at ROSES and was changed by working with Joan and the horses. It was a place where self esteem and se... more

October 30, 2013

Until we found ROSES, my daughter was struggling to find something that would give her a sense of accomplishment. There was very little for her due to her disability and she was feeling a lack of self confidence. ROSES changed all of that when she started working with the horses, which are incredible animals. Joan has created an amazing program that has given my daughter confidence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This place is amazing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2012

ROSES has been an important part of my life and my daughters life. My daughter was first a student at ROSES and was changed by working with Joan and the horses. It was a place where self esteem and self worth was gained along with a sense of accomplishment. Over time, my daughter began working at ROSES and she has blossomed under Joan's tutelage. I have also been witness to the successes of many other students who come in contact with this special place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2010

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is a place where miracles happen on a regular basis. From personal experience, my daughter went from a child who had no self esteem and wouldn't try anything to a young lady who is extremely comfortable with the horses and is very confident. This didn't happen overnight but over the course of time, I could see a change in her. The beautiful tranquil setting of the barn along with Joan Twining's calming nature made my daughter realize her potential. My daughter has a developmental disability but this isn't evident when she's at ROSES. Joan and the horses are amazing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

After many years of my daughter going to ROSES, I became a board member and hope to spread the word about ROSES.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the changes in the students. It's amazing to see how confident they become.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

amazing.....very dedicated.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

finish the indoor arena and begin to reach out to more children that would benefit from being around the horses.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I was originally a Towson University Family Studies and Human Services intern at Rose of Sharon from January 2013-May 2013, became a donor in August 2013, and am now a volunteer. ROSES has not only introduced me to what I want to do but it has helped me grow and truly realize my full potential. From Jake the barn cat to Joan Twinning, everyone is warm, welcoming, kind, and nurturing. I have volunteered for other therapeutic equestrian centers and none compare. There is no better place to volunteer for or donate to. ROSES really works hard to be the best they can be and to benefit as many individuals as they can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them continued growth and recognition!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I recently became a volunteer at Rose of Sharon Equestrian School. From the very first day when I came to interview with Joan and see the facility, I was positively impressed by the environment there. The atmosphere is extremely pleasant and relaxing, with soft instrumental music playing in the barn which seems to enhance the well-appointed buildings and pastoral setting. The new indoor riding arena offers students an opportunity to work, while protected from the weather. The barn is the most clean and well-organized farm building I have ever visited. It is clear that these are not just animal stalls but the homes of the special equines which help to heal the spirit of all humans who come there. The horses receive the most exquisite individualized care, including specially tailored diets and meticulously groomed living quarters. Joan’s caring nature and gentle personality come together with the peaceful setting she has created to foster a positive learning and healing environment.

My schedule is very busy and although time constraints only allow me to volunteer a few hours per week. I look forward to going to work there, whether I am sweeping floors, cleaning feeding trays or watering horses. It has rapidly become a respite from the daily grind of rushing around town. I highly recommend the Rose of Sharon Equestrian School as place of solace, encouragement and growth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

Roses is an amazing organization for children with disabilities. The amount of time, effort, love, and caring that goes into making this such a life changing experience for their students is amazing. Joan is truly making a difference with not only her students, but every person that walks through her door.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My daughter volunteered at ROSES. She came for the opportunity to work with horses and stayed for the love of Roses. The program is very well run with such love and attention to detail. The horse and barn are so well cared for. There is even soothing music that plays just for the horses. This is a place where healing occurs not only for the clients but also for the animals and anyone who comes into contact with Roses. Such a worthy program that will leave an impact on you for the rest of your life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have loved every second spent at Rose of Sharon. It is really an amazing place. The barn and rings are very well kept and very impressive. The horses clearly love their jobs and it is awesome to see them during lessons and the way they interact with the children. Ms. Joan is especially what makes Rose of Sharon so special. I have always loved watching her during lessons, because the patient, caring way she works with every child makes every experience that much better. My two years spent volunteering at Rose of Sharon were some of the most rewarding experiences I have had. Rose of Sharon is truly a unique and spectacular place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My experience of volunteering at Rose of Sharon has been nothing but amazing! The facilities and barn are extremely well kept and gorgeous. Ms. Joan Twining truly lives for Rose of Sharon. It is amazing to watch someone in action doing something they really love. Her constant positivity and happiness radiate through all she does. She cares so deeply for the horses, childre, and program. The horses are such beautiful animals that are gentle and kind in every way. Roses is a great place that is doing remarkable things to help inspiring children. There is no place quite like Roses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

When I first walked into the barn at ROSES, I knew it was a special place. Then when the children came, and I witnessed and experienced first hand the amazing relationship that built between Joan, the horses and the children, I knew I wanted to get involved. It has made me a better person. Having horses of my own, its made me a better horsewoman. During the program, we get so close to the children that by the end of the session we are sad to see them leave. When you see the progression of the children, you know good things are happening at ROSES. There is no coincidences. Everyone is touched.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

Rose of Sharon Equestrian School is a fantastic place for children and horses to form a bond. The individuality of planning and kindness shown toward my students and staff was amazing. The experience, knowledge of both Joan and her staff contributed to an excellent therapy plan. The staff and students who participated from my class room looked forward to going. What an opportunity for all. I recommend their therapy program without reservation. Respectfully submitted by Michele Shanti special educator at the Glyndon Autism Program

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Rose Of Sharon has been an inspiration to the community and all those they serve ! The kindness , love and encouragement shown to both people and horses is a true blessing ! Joan Twining and her staff of human and equine helpers bring joy to everyone who visits Rose Of Sharon !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers