Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.936715
Write A Review
December 16, 2014

more

December 16, 2014

ROSES is a wonderful school. I've had some experience with therapeutic riding programs, and ROSES exceeds them all. The curriculum is well thought out and holistic in its approach, the horses are very well trained and cared for, and the volunteers, volunteer coordinator and owner are welcoming and passionate about their work.
December 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 9, 2014

This will be my 3rd year volunteering at ROSES. Each year my commitment to the organization grows with more time spent helping-out as well as increasing my financial giving. That is because ROSES is a... more

December 16, 2014

This is my 3rd school year volunteering at Roses. Each year I become more financially committed and more time committed. I help out by working in the barn, taking care of the horses and working with the students. 2015 means more commitment as we all work forward to learning about and training the minis to pull a cart as well as getting Stella, the horse more involved in lessons. It is a very exciting time at Roses. I hope anyone reading this will consider joining us and helping out. Janet Knox, volunteer
August 9, 2014

This will be my 3rd year volunteering at ROSES. Each year my commitment to the organization grows with more time spent helping-out as well as increasing my financial giving. That is because ROSES is a wonderful therapeutic riding program with dedicated and caring people who believe in the sanctity of life both human and animal.

To anyone reading this, I encourage you also to volunteer at Roses. You won't be sorry. There is plenty to do. You will feel welcomed and have patient as well as expert instruction. Joan Twining and her critters are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Joan Twining

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 15, 2014

more

December 15, 2014

Rose of Sharon is definitely the best nonprofit I have ever volunteered for. The program is very well-organized and the horses are given extremely good care. The other volunteers and the supervisors are friendly and devoted. It is not uncommon to stay extra time after a volunteering shift just because we don't want to leave!
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

I got involved with Rose of Sharon through the purchase of a horse I sold, Stella, who is now in their program. Joan Twinning is an exceptionally diverse woman with extensive knowledge of horses and horse care. I got the opportunity of visiting Rose of Sharon when I delivered Stella to Rose of Sharon. The operation is amazing.... well thought out with every detail addressed. Although I didn't get to meet any of the students, there was a flow of positive energy that filled this operation. Joan and her staff are certainly the roots that make this operation so wonderful and successful.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I first visited Rose of Sharon and met Joan two years ago when I moved from Texas. Having owned a ranch in Texas with horses and longhorns, I was looking for a place to be with horses again. I was immediately impressed with the care the horses receive at Roses. Joan does a great job taking care of the horses and preparing for lessons with the children. Due to my work schedule I can only volunteer on weekends but would love to do more. I am very grateful for my friendship with Joan. Rose of Sharon is a blessing to our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 28, 2010

I am in my third year of being employed with ROSES and I am so thankful that I found this organization. It has given me a new appreciation to families that face the challenges of having a child with ... more

August 15, 2014

I have know Joan my many years now and will always admire her amazing determination to make ROSES the vision she always imagined it would be. Through the hurdles that a nonprofit can go through, she focuses on the people she has touched in so many ways and the horses that are part of her soul. In the 9 years I have been involved it has grown into an even more amazing place with the gorgeous new arena. I never thought that day I walked into the barn to just volunteer once a week with one little boy, that Joan, the horses and all of the people I have met along the way have changed my life. At a time where I needed so much, this place gave me more than I ever imagined! The open arms of ROSES is always a place I know I can go to feel peace and appreciation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2010

I am in my third year of being employed with ROSES and I am so thankful that I found this organization. It has given me a new appreciation to families that face the challenges of having a child with special needs. Having a place like ROSES for their children to be a part of is so important. They are able to care for and ride horses in a safe place and learn skills they can not learn in a classroom. Being a part of the daily care of the horses, teaching the students and everything in between gives me such a feeling of accomplishment that I am proud to help ROSES continue to strive for the goals such as finishing the construction of the indoor arena so that more children can benefit from such an awesome experience!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the role of volunteer, board member, donor, aprentice instructor, and finally certified instructor taking on some students of my own.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the difference it makes in the children.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated, different, but determined to come together to make a difference for others.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide a unique therapeutic environment able to serve many more children and adults with disabilities than are currently being served now.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

As a donor to any charity, I like to know first hand the organizational structure, skill set, efficiency and passion of the administrators. I do not donate to charities that have heavy over-head costs and over-paid management. Roses definitely meets my criteria of fiscal responsibility and compassionate service to an under-served group of children. My husband and I contribute funds to Rose of Sharon with high confidence that resources will be utilized with maximum impact in delivering service to the special needs children fortunate enough to be introducedrecru to Rose of Sharon.
Joan is the heart and soul of Roses, and her husband Randy is the muscle and strength of Roses. Together and with the support of many volunteers, they have built an incredible facility that provides a valuable service to children of special needs and to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to recruit a big donor so that Roses could be free of financial worries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

My experience with Rose was truly amazing. I run a program for students with special needs and my students had the great pleasure of attending Joan's program for many sessions. From the first day I meet Joan I knew her program was a good fit for all student young and old. Her organization is run professionally and with great care and compassion for the horses and the clients. Joan takes great care to ensure that all have a good experience on the farm. She worked with my staff to set up individual programming for students that needed extra planning and support. The horses themselves have special needs and this too makes it a special place to be. I highly recommend it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more horses if and when possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Volunteering at ROSES has been one of the best experiences of my life. The horses are all so sweet, yes, even the minis sometimes, and I know how much te kids love coming out there. It really is a great program that does a lot of good for the community and the kids whose lives it touches. Everytime I go out there, it puts my life in perspective and allows me to not only help myself, but more importantly help others. It is a truly remarkable thing they've got going on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

When I had the opportunity to volunteer at ROSES it brought such joy and fulfilment being part of such an amazing program. I loved being able to experience things through the students eyes. Watching them overcome their fears and accomplish their goals was extremely rewarding. Joan was the most inspiring person to work with and learn from. Her love for the horses and her students was a part of everything she did for the program. My volunteer experience went far beyond my expectations when we were invited to a talent show at the student's school. I cried through the entire show because I was so overwhelmed with pride at the confidence the performers had in themselves. I believe ROSES played a part in that by allowing them to discover skills and feel proud of themselves by caring for the horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers