Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 17, 2013

more

November 17, 2013

I recently visited Rooterville for the first time and was so blown away by all the good that Elaine, Dale and all the volunteers there are doing. It is an amazing place and everyone is truly dedicated to the well being of so many incredible animals! If more people were educated on the abuse and torture that farm animals suffer, more of us would stand up for humane treatment and compassion. Rooterville epitomizes that compassion - putting others before oneself for a greater calling. My hats off to you all !!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013

more

July 26, 2013

The whole crew at Rooterville is just amazing. I don't know what I'd do without them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they were closer to my house and I could visit all the time!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I have followed Rooterville for many years and have read many media articles about them. They have so much compassion for all of their animals and are great advocates for all animals. An inspiration I hope to emulate at our own sanctuary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I am a pig rescue in Las Vegas and have followed Rooterville for years. They do such wonderful work for the piggies and happily endorse them! Elaine and Dale are angels for the animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have donated, volunteered and spent time at Rooterville. The owners, Dale and Elaine West, are superb. The animals are well fed, cared for, socialized and paid attention to. The facilities are always clean and well kept, and my family and I learn something new every time we visit.

We
came upon Rooterville by chance. We adopted a baby pot belly pig who we loved and cherished from a farm near our home in Clermont. We named her Penelope. Unfortunately, Penelope wanted to be the queen of our herd and would challenge our daughter. After nearly a year of trying to work it out and get past this challenge, we had very little success. We found ourselves having to make a very tough decision - finding a new home for our little piggy we loved so much. We tried finding a home locally, but after hearing horror stories of pigs being adopted then slaughtered in numerous horrifying ways, decided against it. That's when we found Rooterville. Elaine tried to help us get past the dominance issues we were having with our pig and taught us new methods of trying to tame her. That didn't work. After numerous conversations and lots of unsuccessful added efforts by our family, Elaine agreed to take in Penelope.

Penelope has grown and flourished at Rooterville. She is no longer aggressive towards others and seems to have found her place there. Dale and Elaine continue to take care of the animals and help those in any way they can. They feed their animals fresh foods and make sure they are satisfied nutritionally and mentally. Dale and Elaine are educators and care takers. Rooterville is one of the cleanest facilities I have seen that deals with animals....as I am sure keeping up after animals - whether it be a cat, dog, pig, or any type of animal sanctuary - can be an all day event.

They do it though. The place looks great, there's always something to learn, and most importantly, the animals they take in are cared for, nourished, loved and happy.

Rooterville saved my pig's life....we would have never put her down or given her to someone who we would suspect of doing Penelope harm. But we know Penelope is loved, and safe and in a place where it's much easier for her to just be a pig.

We'll definitely be up again soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them more money so they can continue their efforts and make more people aware of the plight of all animals - not just pigs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

Roooterville is such a loving environment for the precious pigs and farm animals. They are well cared for and have the perfect place to live out the remainder of their lives. I would certainly recommend a visit. You fall in love with all God's beautiful creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 18, 2013

I met the folks at Rooterville a couple months ago. I volunteer at a large animal rescue in another part of the state, we needed to find a forever home for Francis (a piglet found by animal services... more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I work at a Horse Rescue facility in Florida. We do a good job with horses but our solo pig (rescued from euthanasia by a good hearted animal services employee) was not getting what he needed to live a good life. Francis grew from a baby to maturity VERY FAST and we knew he needed to be in the right place to thrive. No one was willing to take on Francis as a pet locally ( we were very worried about the motives of some people who did make inquiries :( After a thorough search we found ROOTERVILLE and although resources were tight and there are sooo many pigs that need a home: Elaine/Dale agreed to give Francis his forever home. A fellow board member and myself traveled to visit Francis in his new residence. We could not believe the paradise where he now lives. The folks at Rooterville work hard to create and sustain a welcoming facility where the animals COME FIRST. They do an incredible job with education and outreach. I always try to remember them with a check when I can. They really do fabulous work and deserve to be recognized as an extremely well run sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes, just continue to acquire more acreage so they can take in more critters and expand their fabulous work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met the folks at Rooterville a couple months ago. I volunteer at a large animal rescue in another part of the state, we needed to find a forever home for Francis (a piglet found by animal services that grew too large for us to care for properly). The folks at Rooterville worked with me to adopt, transport (not so easy) and neuter Francis. I took the 4 hour trip to visit Francis in his new home at Rooterville and I was amazed at what I saw. Elaine and Dale have created a heaven on earth for pigs and a few other large rescued animals. They work extremely hard to make their sanctuary a healthy, safe and beautiful environment for their critters. They are committed to their mission of vegetarian lifestyle and to prevent animal cruelty. They have outstanding educational outreach. These are truly humans acting humanely. We owe them our gratitude and support for how much they contribute. They did not choose an easy life nor an easy mission but I have to say, they do an excellent job day in, day out. I have been there, I know :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

Such a wonderful and loving environment for creatures in need of a forever home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I've volunteered at Rooterville for years and the work that they do is special. They have saved hundreds of animals' lives (mostly pigs - pot bellies, farm and even some piney rooters). The Sanctuary also has a couple of cows, horses, chickens, dogs and cats. The sanctuary is run in a compassionate way and they are always in need of volunteers. It is a beautiful place for the farm animals to live out their lives. I highly recommend Rooterville as a great nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just need more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 11, 2013

The Wests provide a superior standard of care to the animals at Rooterville and do a fabulous job educating the public about animal welfare and its effects on human health and the environment. They d... more

July 21, 2013

I am a fellow pig rescuer. This is a demanding, unrelenting and sometimes dangerous job. Rooterville takes all aspects of this very seriously, from professionalism to maintaining a high standard of care for all the animals. This organization also places a high priority on education which in turn helps many animals. Please support the great work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their funding so they could do more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

The Wests provide a superior standard of care to the animals at Rooterville and do a fabulous job educating the public about animal welfare and its effects on human health and the environment. They do a wonderful job. Both animals and humans are beneficiaries of the good work they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

elp feed the animals, refill water bowls with clean water, pull weeds, plant flowers and trees, clean the barn, help make an event great, leaflet at events and on college campuses, assist with one of our "Food for Life" classes in the community, please come, invite us to teach a nutrition class at your club or place of worship, we have a place for everyone! Volunteer