Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2013

I recently visited Rooterville for the first time and was so blown away by all the good that Elaine, Dale and all the volunteers there are doing. It is an amazing place and everyone is truly dedicated... more

October 10, 2014

Rooterville is indeed, a sanctuary....not only for the many piggies (and cows, chickens, turkeys, goats, ponies, cats and dogs) who live there but for anyone who cares about animals and wants to experience all their amazing personalities in a pristine environment!
Dale & Elaine West are
incredible guardians of this peaceful place and give their whole heart and soul (and some blood, sweat and tears) to the cause 24/7. These animals have been rescued from hell and are now enjoying the lives that our Creator always intended them to have, thanks to the Wests.
Do yourself the greatest favor and go visit Rooterville and perhaps donate some of your time and money to support this piggy paradise. It's far better than any therapy one can imagine...and THE place to give away many piggy belly-rubs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 17, 2013

I recently visited Rooterville for the first time and was so blown away by all the good that Elaine, Dale and all the volunteers there are doing. It is an amazing place and everyone is truly dedicated to the well being of so many incredible animals! If more people were educated on the abuse and torture that farm animals suffer, more of us would stand up for humane treatment and compassion. Rooterville epitomizes that compassion - putting others before oneself for a greater calling. My hats off to you all !!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Rooterville is an amazing place for the rescued animals to live and be safe! It's like Disney World for pigs :)
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough about Rooterville and the kind hearted people that open their hearts to these animals, but not just animals, they have a passion for helping people as well. I am speaking from personal experience. This past year has brought about health issues for me, and I thought I was going to have to surrender my piggy, and when we took her to Rooterville, and I spoke with the founders, I am not exaggerating when I say they made a profound difference in my life, and my health, just by reaching out and caring enough to help me change things around. They kept my precious Piggy while I recuperated. I am happy to say that I am home with my piggy and we adopted another adorable, loving addition to our family from Rooterville. We are very blessed beyond words to have found such a wonderful place and people!
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following Rooterville for about a year... They are Amazing Huge Hearted people, who are very Passionate about their Love for animals. Just for example their recent rescue, Precious "Lucy" the Sweet little piggy with pox. Amazing treatment and recovery. I have a situation where I have recently injured my back and through treatment have learned that I also have Degenerative Disc Disease. I contacted Rooterville and explained my situation and the fact that I have several pets that myself and my family own and care for, two of which are female potbelly pigs. Without a hesitation I was told to bring them to their rescue. I will be bringing them as soon as I can provide safe transport. These 2 piggies are part of our family and I am heartbroken that I have to do this, however I have a 10 year old and several other animals and my husband works out of state as well as our families are all in New England. So not having help right now has become extremely difficult on me. I am very comfortable with my decision to place my Beloved Piggies in the care of Rooterville and will plan to Donate as well as visit/volunteer when I can. Again Rooterville is Amazing xoxo

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of one thing I would change!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

This place serves a giant need in our area, being rural and a university town ther are many pigs that end up needing homes. College kids go out and purchase "tea cup" pigs only to find out they are normal pigs and then drop them off here or at
the shelter and not just one but lots! The
couple who run Rooterville live their beliefs as not only Christians but as vegans. I have been here personally and am in awe of their tireless work to provide a loving, interesting, stimulating home! These are devoted people
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

We are from Citra Florida and web found little Lucy on a blustery day. We saw this little red pigglet running across the yard.And not able to take care of her we started to search for someone to take care of her.Thank goodness for the internet and ROOTERVILLE A Sanctuary INC. Elaine And Dale love and understand Gods creatures

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Love to see them Grow

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Rooterville went above and beyond in helping me find a forever home for a rescued little potbelly. I cant thank Elaine and Rooterville enough and am so happy to know that little Charles is safe and loved! The sanctuary is beautiful, clean and safe and all the animals that find their way there look healthy and happy. It really is a wonderful place!!!!
July 26, 2013

more

July 26, 2013

The whole crew at Rooterville is just amazing. I don't know what I'd do without them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they were closer to my house and I could visit all the time!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I am a pig rescue in Las Vegas and have followed Rooterville for years. They do such wonderful work for the piggies and happily endorse them! Elaine and Dale are angels for the animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have donated, volunteered and spent time at Rooterville. The owners, Dale and Elaine West, are superb. The animals are well fed, cared for, socialized and paid attention to. The facilities are always clean and well kept, and my family and I learn something new every time we visit.

We
came upon Rooterville by chance. We adopted a baby pot belly pig who we loved and cherished from a farm near our home in Clermont. We named her Penelope. Unfortunately, Penelope wanted to be the queen of our herd and would challenge our daughter. After nearly a year of trying to work it out and get past this challenge, we had very little success. We found ourselves having to make a very tough decision - finding a new home for our little piggy we loved so much. We tried finding a home locally, but after hearing horror stories of pigs being adopted then slaughtered in numerous horrifying ways, decided against it. That's when we found Rooterville. Elaine tried to help us get past the dominance issues we were having with our pig and taught us new methods of trying to tame her. That didn't work. After numerous conversations and lots of unsuccessful added efforts by our family, Elaine agreed to take in Penelope.

Penelope has grown and flourished at Rooterville. She is no longer aggressive towards others and seems to have found her place there. Dale and Elaine continue to take care of the animals and help those in any way they can. They feed their animals fresh foods and make sure they are satisfied nutritionally and mentally. Dale and Elaine are educators and care takers. Rooterville is one of the cleanest facilities I have seen that deals with animals....as I am sure keeping up after animals - whether it be a cat, dog, pig, or any type of animal sanctuary - can be an all day event.

They do it though. The place looks great, there's always something to learn, and most importantly, the animals they take in are cared for, nourished, loved and happy.

Rooterville saved my pig's life....we would have never put her down or given her to someone who we would suspect of doing Penelope harm. But we know Penelope is loved, and safe and in a place where it's much easier for her to just be a pig.

We'll definitely be up again soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them more money so they can continue their efforts and make more people aware of the plight of all animals - not just pigs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

elp feed the animals, refill water bowls with clean water, pull weeds, plant flowers and trees, clean the barn, help make an event great, leaflet at events and on college campuses, assist with one of our "Food for Life" classes in the community, please come, invite us to teach a nutrition class at your club or place of worship, we have a place for everyone! Volunteer