Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

First heard about Room to Read 2 years ago when I heard an interview with John Wood(founder of Room to Read) on the radio. Loved the story of how it all started. Read his book and really wanted to get involved. Have arranged a number of fund raising activities as well being involved with activities organised with the Sydney chapter. Whilst I love being involved in the organised chapter activities , I probably get the biggest buzz from the activities I have organised( which have raised approx $3700) so far as none of that money would have happened if I had not done it. Particularly love the fact that RTR helps girls to get an education and how this will flow through generations as they educate their children and so on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

Room to Read gets five stars from me for a number of reasons

1) It is a very effective organisation - it does what it says on the packet - and does it in a very cost-effective way, with tangible and transparent results

2) It is run like a business, so there are clear goals and
outcomes - this makes it easily accessible to donors, volunteers and other interested parties

3) The tagline "World Change Starts with Educated Children" sums it up nicely. Room to Read does educate children, but it goes way beyond this by supporting them into university, providing life skills classes, teaching girls how they can make a positive impact on their communities, and how to say no to things that they don't want.

Volunteering for Room to Read has changed my life - professionally and personally - and I wouldn't have it any other way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the experience of working with a wide variety of nonprofit organizations on both the personal and professional level over the past twenty-five years. In 2007 I discovered Room to Read and knew that the the bar for professionalism and transparency had been raised to an entirely new level. Room to Read is a game-changer for millions of children throughout the developing world. As a volunteer, I have had the opportunity to visit some of the program sites in both India and Cambodia. Through these experiences, I have seen the impact that Room to Read programs have made in the lives of the children they reach. As a donor, I am confident that my contributions are being invested prudently and efficiently. All contributions made to this organization are truly making a significant difference in the lives of the children who benefit from Room to Read programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wave a magic wand so that we could increase the reach of Room to Read in order to eradicate illiteracy around the globe!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been hearing about Room to Read from my girlfriend, who is an education advocate and a Room to Read donor and supporter—she loves them. After watching Half the Sky, I studied their website and was really impressed with their results. Hard to believe they've built nearly 17,000 schools and libraries in just 11 years. I'm sold—and have volunteered to work with Room to Read this Fall.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I first learned of Room to Read while living in Singapore. I served as a volunteer for the 2013 Singapore Gala, which raised an incredible amount of money for the program. Room to Read is a wise steward of funds donated and as such, I trust them with not only my time, but with my money.

I
am madly in love with the Reading and Writing program as well as the commitment they make to the education process, by following it all the way through tertiary education and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm always about awareness. I wish that it had a bigger voice, bigger reach in the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Room to Read is a great nonprofit that really means a great deal to me. In my school I started a Room to Read Club in order to raise money and do community service, for example reading to children or having book drives. This organization is well developed and they have chapters all across the world. The money that is raised goes to building libraries or educating children. When I first heard about it from an active volunteer, I was not sure how reliable it was with the investment of money; however, it is honestly one of the best nonprofits that I personally have ever worked with. I support it gladly and with my club I am trying to make this fantastic organization more known to teenagers my age.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to know exactly where my money goes when I donate. It would be nice to keep me updated on the developments of my donation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful


Room to Read is an organization unlike any other. Aside from their wonderful, knowledgable and incredibly talented employees, they also boast an amazing volunteer chapter network (which I am proudly a member of) represented within 52 countries.

It's this volunteer chapter network and
Room to Read's incredible commitment to keeping internal costs low, that has enabled the organization to contribute 83% of annual revenue in 2012 directly to projects. In addition, they have been recognized for seven consecutive years with Charity Navigator's coveted 4-star rating for their commitment to accountability and transparency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a position for myself to work by expanding operations to Canada and opening a small remote office.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2013

I've been a volunteer fundraiser for 4 years now and am just as impressed with this charity as when I started. Particularly, I appreciate the focus on efficient and effective use of my money to maximize impact on children's education. I like how they are constantly monitoring what they do and adjusting programs and methodology to ensure success. I don't have a lot of money to donate, and I really want my money to go far in support of kids. With Room to Read I feel confident that it does. Check their website and I think you will be quite impressed with the programs and their results. I originally found Room to Read via John Wood's book, Leaving Microsoft to Change the World. He just published a second book called Creating Room to Read: A Story of Hope in the Battle for Global Literacy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

Barely two years ago I read John Wood's book Leaving Microsoft to Change the World. I finished the book in a few days, went onto the website for Room to Read and ask how I could help or volunteer. I give my time to only two other fully transparent and amazing NGO's - Medecins Sans Frontieres and Youth off the Streets. Along now with Room to Read these NGO's deal with and are effective with the most simplest of concepts. Understanding humanity, caring for humans and believing that World Change begins with children, MSF with their amazing work around the globe, YOTS and their incredible care of abused and forgotten children and young people and Room to Read - their own catch-cry being very correctly: World Changes Starts with Educated Children - empowering girls/women in particular in developing nations to equalize the phenomenal imbalance that we all know exists in regards to the genders and education. Anyone needs only look at the Room to Read statistics now over 12 years, go visit sites in 10 countries, or even whilst in countries where R2R operates talk to the local people. I'm proud to be a very small part of an amazing NGO that hourly, daily, yearly is making the world a much better place for humans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

I heard John Wood on ABC 702 earlier this year and was so impressed with everything about Room to Read, not only the work they do (which is amazing) but the professionalism and the growth of the organisation, that I googled it. I was delighted to see they were looking for people to help in the Sydney office. Consequently, I have only been working with Room to Read for the past two weeks, but I am seriously enjoying it. One example of professionalism, comes in the form of timesheets - over the years I have done a lot of volunteer work - never before have I had to give in a timesheet! This, to me, not only sums up the professionalism, it also indicates to me, that they value my time given. I look forward to being involved with Room to Read for the long haul...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join a chapter or attend or an event hosted by volunteer chapters. Room to Read has over 50 volunteer chapters (made up of over 7,000 individuals) across the world. Chapters organize annual fundraising events, introduce us to potential corporate, foundation and individual supporters and are representatives for Room to Read within their area. Visit www.roomtoread.org/chapters to find a chapter near you or to learn how to start one.