Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.93225
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

After reading John Wood's book 'Leaving Microsoft to Change the World' I knew I just had to get involved with this organisation. I have enjoyed volunteering for RtR on and off in Sydney and London over the last few years and am constantly impressed with the calibre of volunteers it attracts. Everyone is so professional and dedicated to the cause which results in some pretty amazing things happening. It's a pleasure to be part of such a well oiled machine of goodness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

For the past 6 years, I have happily and enthusiastically been a part of the volunteer chapter team in Singapore, raising significant funds for Room to Read’s programs in Asia and Africa. Room to Read is an exceptional non-profit that has received a 4-star rating from Charity Navigator for the past 8 consecutive years. As a donor and a volunteer, I am confident that Room to Read is using the funds in the most impactful way possible to provide children access to a quality education in developing countries. In fact, I have seen firsthand Room to Read’s operations in Cambodia and Vietnam and have seen the positive outcomes on the children and their communities! It is very evident that Room to Read delivers on their mission – to build quality schools and libraries, provide teacher and librarian training in literacy, to publish local-language books, and to support girls’ education. All of these programs are supported by Room to Read’s “Monitoring and Evaluation” process that uses independent monitors to evaluate the efficacy of their programs. If a program is not producing the desired results, Room to Read will make the necessary changes to improve it. Room to Read continues to evolve and improve its programs. They are committed to excellence! Finally, the programs in each of the ten countries are managed by local teams. This deliberate and strategic model makes for a more sustainable and lasting endeavor.

I have volunteered for other well-known non-profits, but none compare to Room to Read. This is where I want to spend my volunteer time and my donations because the impact is a significant game-changer for so many children!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them additional resources and unrestricted funds so that they could reach even more children!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I volunteered for Room to Read because I've seen the impact literacy has on families. I can't imagine a world without words; where you have to ask a stranger what you should pay for a bus ticket or before that, if this is the queue for bus tickets. The feeling of sheer impotence would overwhelm me. Room to Read has a laser focus on educating girls which, in my opinion, is why it succeeds. It stands for something and its people stand for something. The world it moves in is very complex but the goals are simple and few. There is no noise, no chatter, no wondering what it's all about. We know what it's about and we're all working towards the one thing. Clarity of vision is the most powerful thing a non-profit can have, and Room to Read has it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Room to Read is an impressive non profit organisation and I have been involved as a volunteer for the Sydney Chapter. The volunteer and chapter leaders are highly organised and get excellent results from their hard work. The organisation places importance on accountability and the achievements in terms of the number of books, libraries and education programs rolled out, particularly for girls, is inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

I have been involved with the Sydney Chapter of Room 2 Read for just over a year now. The committee is really skilled, friendly and welcoming. Every contribution that you offer is celebrated regardless of whether this is big or small and they offer lots of assistance as you learn about being involved in a nonprofit organisation. This approach is consistent with my experience of how R2R globally has been established and conducted and is integral to the wonderful achievements of the organisation. I encourage you to consider becoming a part of the R2R community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I first heard of Room to Read in 2011 in a presentation by the Founder John Wood. What struck me was the business-like structure including partnerships with local communities, a war on overhead, their transparency and accountability. Three years later with a break from full time work I have my chance to help them by funding a school build and doing all I can to raise funds and awareness of Room to Read's great programs so that they can reach 10 million children by 2015.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it easier to donate on their website

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

My involvement with Room to Read started in 2009, after a friend gifted me the book 'Leaving Microsoft to Change the World'. From the get go my involvement with the Sydney Chapter of Room to Read was very rewarding and inspiring. All of the people whom volunteer their time are intelligent, exceptional leaders and it was very satisfying to work alongside and collaborate with these volunteers.

I am particularly drawn to the work that Room to Read does, as I truly believe that it is education that can change the world. Education is the basis for the reduction of poverty, violence, trafficking, disease, political unrest and other ailments that plague the less developed parts of the world.

The 'open book' business style that Room to Read operates in is comforting from a donor point of view. We have the ability to physically see the change that our donations make. Room to Read also does what many charities do not by quantifying and publishing their goals and metrics allowing donors to clearly see and decide for themselves the effectiveness of their donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help discourage the double standard that exists between the for-profit and nonprofit sectors when it comes to marketing and administration. Room to Read should use a larger portion of their donations to help increase the likelihood of more donations through paid marketing and administration.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Living close to Asia I am aware of the many problems facing education in the widely diverse regions. Over many years, I have liked the way that Room to Read has adapted to new ideas, learnt from prior mistakes and, in particular, centred the ownership of the local language book publishing and library and school construction on the local communities. Educating the young to learn about the world with the added advantage of incorporating their own languages and perspectives adds to a richer learning experience which benefits not only the local culture but contributes to the world's uniqueness and diversity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that resources created are available to individuals or organisations and not become caught up with brand protection.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I first became aware of Room to Read in I think 2011 or 2012 on stumbling across John Wood's book 'Leaving Microsoft to Change the World'. It is a great read and most inspiring even to those who are not charity minded.
I have become a volunteer at the Sydney Chapter and might I say what a well
organised and productive chapter it is. Having run many business over the years I can say that these people are good operators. And they do not waste any funds, its a tight ship.
I have sponsored a library in Nepal which is now completed and I will very much enjoy visiting soon. I also assisted with The Wine Gala in March this year where we raised $2.4m, in the room on the night, which I still think is extraordinary. But to see Room to Read in operation it is actually not that extraordinary. These people deliver results.
One of the features of Room to Read that I find appealing is their focus on the solution to global illiteracy rather than being preoccupied the problem. Of course there is a major problem, that is why Room to Read and others are working in this area, but Room to Read attention is on what can be realistically achieved and where. I also like their follow up, assisting in areas on an ongoing basis not just building schools and leaving it for the villages to run them. And with this their ongoing measuring of their results. This is not a charity handing out funds to the needy. It is a well organised operation where the recipients must be shareholders in the plan and must take ownership.
I am sure Room to Read are assisting in educating and developing productive and worthy citizens in the countries where they operate and could not recommend the organisation more highly.
John Baker
Sydney

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them tell the world what they are doing by marketing and advertising, like good growing business do. But they are quite frugal in their administration and are unlikely to use funds in this manner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

In 2012 my wife and I read John Wood's book " Leaving Microsoft to Change the World "
We were truly inspired and set about becoming involved together with our family ...both daughters and including our 5 grandchildren.

We set ourselves a goal of raising $ 20,000 in 2013 to fund and
resource a library in Cambodia.
We worked closely with Room to Read Sydney and organised a large number of functions. With the generous support of friends and family, we raised $ 40,000. This included many functions arranged organised by our grandchildren at their schools.

Our major fund raising event was a food and wine festival which our family organised in a suburb of Sydney where we had 55 local companies participate. I have now joined the Rotary Club of St Ives and they have kindly agreed to make the St Ives Food and Wine Festival their major annual fund raising event and will donate half of all funds to Room to Read.

In March, we attended the Wine Gala in Sydney where we met John Wood who gave a superb speech and which raised over $ 2.4 million dollars. One of our friends at our table was so inspired that he decided that all his donations to charity will in future be given to Room to Read.

We maintain our ongoing commitment to Room to Read and my wife and I are taking all our family to Cambodia to the opening of the library built by Room to Read. This will further inspire our grandchildren to support the biggest challenge in the world which is improving access to education and providing literacy.

Peter Lorschy Sydney Australia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extensively promote Room to Read at all schools in Australia

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join a chapter or attend or an event hosted by volunteer chapters. Room to Read has over 50 volunteer chapters (made up of over 7,000 individuals) across the world. Chapters organize annual fundraising events, introduce us to potential corporate, foundation and individual supporters and are representatives for Room to Read within their area. Visit www.roomtoread.org/chapters to find a chapter near you or to learn how to start one.