Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Room to Read achieves wonderful things with limited resources and minimal overhead. I support Room to Read because it is fiscally responsible, continually improves upon its programmes and has such a positive long-term impact upon the communities it works with. World Change Starts With Educated Children!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

A not for profit with a positive solution to help individuals and communities who have been dealt a more challenging start to life. I became a volunteer once I learned how Room to Read gets communities to buy in and help create their own solutions (by having communities contribute to new schools, libraries, etc that are built) and through finding and nurturing leaders on the ground where the projects are being done. And by transparently having investors know exactly where the money goes to. I love how the organisation keeps its focus and still constantly innovates its positive solution - by changing both is projects on the ground and how its volunteer chapters continue to raise funds and awareness. I have been volunteering for over three years and look forward to continuing far into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2012

I heard John Wood on ABC 702 earlier this year and was so impressed with everything about Room to Read, not only the work they do (which is amazing) but the professionalism and the growth of the organ... more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I truly believe Room to Read’s tag line – “World Change Starts with Educated Children”.

After a quick introduction to Room to Read in 2012, I have had the extraordinary opportunity to visit Room to Read’s work in Nepal, see the programmes first hand and see the impact that these programmes
have made in the lives of the children they reach. I have also had the pleasure of engaging with my family to raise funds (and awareness) towards the goal of building a library in Cambodia, which we are excited to be visiting in December 2014.

I look forward to continuing and growing my involvement with Room to Read. As an organisation Room to Read is very professional and transparent - it does what it says it will do and it measures what it does. It is very much run like a business, with clear goals and outcomes.

As a volunteer with Room to Read I am confident my efforts are making a significant difference in the lives of children who benefit from Room to Read. I am also confident as a donor that my financial contributions are being invested efficiently and wisely with great impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2012

I heard John Wood on ABC 702 earlier this year and was so impressed with everything about Room to Read, not only the work they do (which is amazing) but the professionalism and the growth of the organisation, that I googled it. I was delighted to see they were looking for people to help in the Sydney office. Consequently, I have only been working with Room to Read for the past two weeks, but I am seriously enjoying it. One example of professionalism, comes in the form of timesheets - over the years I have done a lot of volunteer work - never before have I had to give in a timesheet! This, to me, not only sums up the professionalism, it also indicates to me, that they value my time given. I look forward to being involved with Room to Read for the long haul...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I discovered Room to Read while doing a research paper on non-profit organisations for education, and was impressed by their operating model which prioritises local community involvement and implementation. I then volunteered with their Sydney Chapter which focuses on fund raising, but at the same time was privy to more information and updates on projects and progress in the various communities that the organisation had reached. In particular the facilitation of access to education for girls in Vietnam, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka struck a chord, as these girls' families were previously unable to afford their school fees. Thanks to help from Room to Read, the girls have access to education designed for their local context and are doing well in school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The documentary Girl Rising was a great story to tell on girls' access to education and should be encouraged for wider broadcast, especially in the regions where more support for girls' education is needed among local communities and authorities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

Where else in the world would you find an organisation so dedicated to giving children a shot at a better life? I've always believed that the way out of poverty is education, Room to Read is doing something about that. It's why I volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

First heard about Room to Read 2 years ago when I heard an interview with John Wood(founder of Room to Read) on the radio. Loved the story of how it all started. Read his book and really wanted to get involved. Have arranged a number of fund raising activities as well being involved with activities organised with the Sydney chapter. Whilst I love being involved in the organised chapter activities , I probably get the biggest buzz from the activities I have organised( which have raised approx $3700) so far as none of that money would have happened if I had not done it. Particularly love the fact that RTR helps girls to get an education and how this will flow through generations as they educate their children and so on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Room to Read gets five stars from me for a number of reasons

1) It is a very effective organisation - it does what it says on the packet - and does it in a very cost-effective way, with tangible and transparent results

2) It is run like a business, so there are clear goals and
outcomes - this makes it easily accessible to donors, volunteers and other interested parties

3) The tagline "World Change Starts with Educated Children" sums it up nicely. Room to Read does educate children, but it goes way beyond this by supporting them into university, providing life skills classes, teaching girls how they can make a positive impact on their communities, and how to say no to things that they don't want.

Volunteering for Room to Read has changed my life - professionally and personally - and I wouldn't have it any other way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the experience of working with a wide variety of nonprofit organizations on both the personal and professional level over the past twenty-five years. In 2007 I discovered Room to Read and knew that the the bar for professionalism and transparency had been raised to an entirely new level. Room to Read is a game-changer for millions of children throughout the developing world. As a volunteer, I have had the opportunity to visit some of the program sites in both India and Cambodia. Through these experiences, I have seen the impact that Room to Read programs have made in the lives of the children they reach. As a donor, I am confident that my contributions are being invested prudently and efficiently. All contributions made to this organization are truly making a significant difference in the lives of the children who benefit from Room to Read programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wave a magic wand so that we could increase the reach of Room to Read in order to eradicate illiteracy around the globe!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over the last twenty years I have worked with and volunteered for countless nonprofit organizations that work domestically and internationally. I can say with confidence I have never been more impressed with and proud to be a part of the Room to Read family. Five years ago the company I work for was searching for a global nonprofit focused on literacy we could partner with as our long term pro bono partner. The criteria we set for our partner was high and the search was extensive. After reading Leaving Microsoft to Change the World our leaders could see the organization operates much like a business – they focus on measured results, efficiency and scalability. They are also a “learning organization,” meaning they listen to and observe the communities and the individuals they serve so that they can always improve. Given their approach, it’s no surprise their passionate and dedicated staff have brought access to education to nearly 8 million children in just over a decade. With a belief that world change starts with educated children, all of the employees, donors and volunteers can be confident their efforts are indeed making a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Room to Read is committed to sustainable world change in every aspect of their operations. From the passionate talent that they recruit around the world to the ongoing innovation that defines their literacy and girls' education programs, Room to Read is a true leader in the non-profit sector. The leadership of the organization has set the bar for excellence high and Room to Read continues to meet the challenge in delivering life-changing educational opportunities to deserving children around the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join a chapter or attend or an event hosted by volunteer chapters. Room to Read has over 50 volunteer chapters (made up of over 7,000 individuals) across the world. Chapters organize annual fundraising events, introduce us to potential corporate, foundation and individual supporters and are representatives for Room to Read within their area. Visit www.roomtoread.org/chapters to find a chapter near you or to learn how to start one.