Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over the last twenty years I have worked with and volunteered for countless nonprofit organizations that work domestically and internationally. I can say with confidence I have never been more impressed with and proud to be a part of the Room to Read family. Five years ago the company I work for was searching for a global nonprofit focused on literacy we could partner with as our long term pro bono partner. The criteria we set for our partner was high and the search was extensive. After reading Leaving Microsoft to Change the World our leaders could see the organization operates much like a business – they focus on measured results, efficiency and scalability. They are also a “learning organization,” meaning they listen to and observe the communities and the individuals they serve so that they can always improve. Given their approach, it’s no surprise their passionate and dedicated staff have brought access to education to nearly 8 million children in just over a decade. With a belief that world change starts with educated children, all of the employees, donors and volunteers can be confident their efforts are indeed making a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Room to Read is committed to sustainable world change in every aspect of their operations. From the passionate talent that they recruit around the world to the ongoing innovation that defines their literacy and girls' education programs, Room to Read is a true leader in the non-profit sector. The leadership of the organization has set the bar for excellence high and Room to Read continues to meet the challenge in delivering life-changing educational opportunities to deserving children around the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit a Room to Read school in India and all I can say is WOW!!! To see the impact that the organization makes on so many children's lives every day is truly amazing. Very well-run org with high quality staff doing great work. Happy to be a supporter of their efforts to increase literacy around the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have worked with many international organizations, both large and small. Room to Read has found the most passionate and intelligent people from around the world who are dedicated to making a difference in the field of literacy and gender equality in education. And, this is especially true for the country office staff who implement the work on the ground. These are local teams who run in-country operations and not only know what is needed for their own country, but have a commitment to making the children in their country gain an education and be literate.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been hearing about Room to Read from my girlfriend, who is an education advocate and a Room to Read donor and supporter—she loves them. After watching Half the Sky, I studied their website and was really impressed with their results. Hard to believe they've built nearly 17,000 schools and libraries in just 11 years. I'm sold—and have volunteered to work with Room to Read this Fall.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first heard about Room to Read five years ago. I contacted them immediately after reading an article about them, and have worked with them as a consultant ever since. I am also a Room to Read donor. I work with many non-profit organizations, and it's interesting to see how they are all run differently. Room to Read is special because they are incredibly efficient. They work much like a corporation in terms of reaching the highest levels of accountability. Everyone I have met at Room to Read is super professional, smart and fully engaged in their mission. As someone who has been able to look "under the hood," I can tell you that I'm even more convinced that Room to Read is one of the best social change organizations out there. With all the bad news we hear constantly, my involvement with Room to Read has given me an opportunity to see that good work and positive change is happening everyday.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand! The more countries in which they can work, the better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I first learned of Room to Read while living in Singapore. I served as a volunteer for the 2013 Singapore Gala, which raised an incredible amount of money for the program. Room to Read is a wise steward of funds donated and as such, I trust them with not only my time, but with my money.

I
am madly in love with the Reading and Writing program as well as the commitment they make to the education process, by following it all the way through tertiary education and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm always about awareness. I wish that it had a bigger voice, bigger reach in the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Room to Read is a great nonprofit that really means a great deal to me. In my school I started a Room to Read Club in order to raise money and do community service, for example reading to children or having book drives. This organization is well developed and they have chapters all across the world. The money that is raised goes to building libraries or educating children. When I first heard about it from an active volunteer, I was not sure how reliable it was with the investment of money; however, it is honestly one of the best nonprofits that I personally have ever worked with. I support it gladly and with my club I am trying to make this fantastic organization more known to teenagers my age.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to know exactly where my money goes when I donate. It would be nice to keep me updated on the developments of my donation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I first learned about Room To Read after watching the documentary "Half the Sky" and immediately picked up John Wood's book, "Leaving Microsoft to Change the World." I was shocked to learn that over 790MM people (67% female) worldwide lack the ability to read and write. Therefore, putting them in a very disadvantaged position in terms of earning potential, being independent, and educating their own children.

The facts are simple, educated women have smaller, healthier families, earn more, help stimulate the economies of their underdeveloped countries, and are more likely to educate their own families. Therefore, investing in a girl's education can end the cycle of poverty in just one generation.

As a young woman, who's access to a quality education has had such a strong impact on my success and happiness, I believe it's important for us to do what we can to work towards a world where every child has the same opportunity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful


Room to Read is an organization unlike any other. Aside from their wonderful, knowledgable and incredibly talented employees, they also boast an amazing volunteer chapter network (which I am proudly a member of) represented within 52 countries.

It's this volunteer chapter network and
Room to Read's incredible commitment to keeping internal costs low, that has enabled the organization to contribute 83% of annual revenue in 2012 directly to projects. In addition, they have been recognized for seven consecutive years with Charity Navigator's coveted 4-star rating for their commitment to accountability and transparency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a position for myself to work by expanding operations to Canada and opening a small remote office.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join a chapter or attend or an event hosted by volunteer chapters. Room to Read has over 50 volunteer chapters (made up of over 7,000 individuals) across the world. Chapters organize annual fundraising events, introduce us to potential corporate, foundation and individual supporters and are representatives for Room to Read within their area. Visit www.roomtoread.org/chapters to find a chapter near you or to learn how to start one.