Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.925935
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I discovered Room to Read while doing a research paper on non-profit organisations for education, and was impressed by their operating model which prioritises local community involvement and implementation. I then volunteered with their Sydney Chapter which focuses on fund raising, but at the same time was privy to more information and updates on projects and progress in the various communities that the organisation had reached. In particular the facilitation of access to education for girls in Vietnam, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka struck a chord, as these girls' families were previously unable to afford their school fees. Thanks to help from Room to Read, the girls have access to education designed for their local context and are doing well in school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The documentary Girl Rising was a great story to tell on girls' access to education and should be encouraged for wider broadcast, especially in the regions where more support for girls' education is needed among local communities and authorities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

Where else in the world would you find an organisation so dedicated to giving children a shot at a better life? I've always believed that the way out of poverty is education, Room to Read is doing something about that. It's why I volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

First heard about Room to Read 2 years ago when I heard an interview with John Wood(founder of Room to Read) on the radio. Loved the story of how it all started. Read his book and really wanted to get involved. Have arranged a number of fund raising activities as well being involved with activities organised with the Sydney chapter. Whilst I love being involved in the organised chapter activities , I probably get the biggest buzz from the activities I have organised( which have raised approx $3700) so far as none of that money would have happened if I had not done it. Particularly love the fact that RTR helps girls to get an education and how this will flow through generations as they educate their children and so on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

Room to Read gets five stars from me for a number of reasons

1) It is a very effective organisation - it does what it says on the packet - and does it in a very cost-effective way, with tangible and transparent results

2) It is run like a business, so there are clear goals and
outcomes - this makes it easily accessible to donors, volunteers and other interested parties

3) The tagline "World Change Starts with Educated Children" sums it up nicely. Room to Read does educate children, but it goes way beyond this by supporting them into university, providing life skills classes, teaching girls how they can make a positive impact on their communities, and how to say no to things that they don't want.

Volunteering for Room to Read has changed my life - professionally and personally - and I wouldn't have it any other way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the experience of working with a wide variety of nonprofit organizations on both the personal and professional level over the past twenty-five years. In 2007 I discovered Room to Read and knew that the the bar for professionalism and transparency had been raised to an entirely new level. Room to Read is a game-changer for millions of children throughout the developing world. As a volunteer, I have had the opportunity to visit some of the program sites in both India and Cambodia. Through these experiences, I have seen the impact that Room to Read programs have made in the lives of the children they reach. As a donor, I am confident that my contributions are being invested prudently and efficiently. All contributions made to this organization are truly making a significant difference in the lives of the children who benefit from Room to Read programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wave a magic wand so that we could increase the reach of Room to Read in order to eradicate illiteracy around the globe!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over the last twenty years I have worked with and volunteered for countless nonprofit organizations that work domestically and internationally. I can say with confidence I have never been more impressed with and proud to be a part of the Room to Read family. Five years ago the company I work for was searching for a global nonprofit focused on literacy we could partner with as our long term pro bono partner. The criteria we set for our partner was high and the search was extensive. After reading Leaving Microsoft to Change the World our leaders could see the organization operates much like a business – they focus on measured results, efficiency and scalability. They are also a “learning organization,” meaning they listen to and observe the communities and the individuals they serve so that they can always improve. Given their approach, it’s no surprise their passionate and dedicated staff have brought access to education to nearly 8 million children in just over a decade. With a belief that world change starts with educated children, all of the employees, donors and volunteers can be confident their efforts are indeed making a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Room to Read is committed to sustainable world change in every aspect of their operations. From the passionate talent that they recruit around the world to the ongoing innovation that defines their literacy and girls' education programs, Room to Read is a true leader in the non-profit sector. The leadership of the organization has set the bar for excellence high and Room to Read continues to meet the challenge in delivering life-changing educational opportunities to deserving children around the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit a Room to Read school in India and all I can say is WOW!!! To see the impact that the organization makes on so many children's lives every day is truly amazing. Very well-run org with high quality staff doing great work. Happy to be a supporter of their efforts to increase literacy around the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have worked with many international organizations, both large and small. Room to Read has found the most passionate and intelligent people from around the world who are dedicated to making a difference in the field of literacy and gender equality in education. And, this is especially true for the country office staff who implement the work on the ground. These are local teams who run in-country operations and not only know what is needed for their own country, but have a commitment to making the children in their country gain an education and be literate.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been hearing about Room to Read from my girlfriend, who is an education advocate and a Room to Read donor and supporter—she loves them. After watching Half the Sky, I studied their website and was really impressed with their results. Hard to believe they've built nearly 17,000 schools and libraries in just 11 years. I'm sold—and have volunteered to work with Room to Read this Fall.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join a chapter or attend or an event hosted by volunteer chapters. Room to Read has over 50 volunteer chapters (made up of over 7,000 individuals) across the world. Chapters organize annual fundraising events, introduce us to potential corporate, foundation and individual supporters and are representatives for Room to Read within their area. Visit www.roomtoread.org/chapters to find a chapter near you or to learn how to start one.