Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

We have baby gear that is never used, only photographed, due to our editorial work at Parents magazine and American Baby magazine. We love sending it to Room to Grow, where we know it will get into the hands of just-right families. It's important to us that the organization educates families about why they need certain gear and how to use it correctly. And because the families of Room to Grow are "in the zone," so to speak, we can feel reassured that our donations are going to be used quickly by people who truly need it. Plus, the Room to Grow staff never fails to show their appreciation. :)
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

At Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, we are honored to serve the communities of Massachusetts and are ever mindful of our duty to wisely invest the resources entrusted to us—time, talent, as well as financial. We demonstrate our values and pledge to be a thoughtful and effective corporate citizen through partnerships with community-based organizations that share our commitment to promote good health and economic opportunity, particularly for our most vulnerable populations.

We understand that resources and opportunities are in short supply for those living in poverty. This reality can have detrimental effects on families, specifically a child’s ability to develop, learn and lead as a healthy and engaged young person. That is why we are proud to be long-standing partners with Room to Grow. This well-run organization tackles this issue directly and makes a difference in the lives of children born into poverty every day.

Over the course of our six year partnership, hundreds of our associates have witnessed first-hand through a variety of volunteer opportunities, the level of effectiveness the Room to Grow program provides. Their model supports families during the critical first three years of a child’s life with counseling, guidance and material resources. This successful approach supports scientific research about the critical importance of overall human development during the early stages of life.

We are proud to champion their great work. I am also honored to be personally committed to the organization as a Boston Advisory Board Member, and for the past year, the Board Chair.

Respectfully submitted, Jeff Bellows
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

Unlike some other charities for babies and children who provide material goods, Room to Grow's work contains a critical component; one on one social work services for the first 3 years of life. Parents are accepted into the program during pregnancy and sign a contract to attend sessions until their child's first birthday. in addition to critical baby equipment and clothing, toys and books are given to the parent and child at each appointment which are age and develpmentally appropriate. one on one sessions include discussion of safe sleep, safe home, developmental milestones, play, and help with securing a job or preschool if appropriate.
the atmosphere in the Boston center, of which i am familiar, is warm and inviting. the staff is deeply passionate about their work, and the administration is thoughful and deliberate with their budget.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been volunteering for a few months and it has been a very rewarding experience. The staff are all very enthusiastic, personable and positive. The space is warm, clean and inviting. Their mission is an important one and I feel honored to be able to contribute to it. I would highly recommend anyone interested in volunteering to spend their time at this well run organization.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I lead a monthly volunteer project at Room to Grow helping manage the donations they receive. The staff is friendly, smart, and dedicated. The space is warm and welcoming. They provide much needed services to their targeted demographic -- in a respectful, encouraging way. The families lucky enough to work with Room to Grow from before their child's birth through around their 3rd birthday -- and who commit to the experience -- are sure to be set on a path for success in their child's life from 3 years on. I love being even a peripheral part of the life-transforming work they do!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been volunteering with Room to Grow for over 5 years and think very highly of the organization. The staff work tirelessly to have a positive impact on the lives of their clients, it's very inspiring. The clients greatly benefit from the program and receive special personalized care from the everyone at Room to Grow. The donors are extremely generous, mainly because they know how devoted the organization is to carrying out Room to Grow's mission. I feel very fortunate to be involved in this great cause!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I have been volunteering regularly for Room to Grow in New York for about 1.5 years, and it has been an incredible experience. Their space feels warm and inviting, and they have such a friendly, hardworking, and appreciative staff. I love how volunteers aren't relegated to a back room or pushed off to the side, but instead work in the main area and can see the direct impact that the organization has on the families it helps. It warms my heart every time I see a little boy or girl choose a new toy, or observe doting new parents carefully choose items for their babies, knowing that these families would otherwise struggle to obtain these things or the guidance they need if it weren't for the work of this wonderful organization.

My experiences volunteering with Room to Grow have led me to be involved with the organization in other capacities, including attending their most recent Spring Gala and joining the committee for their next fundraiser. I expect to support Room to Grow for a long time to come.
September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for Room to Grow for about a year now and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had to date. Their mission is so important and their programs used to achiev... more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Room to Grow for 2 years now and each time I go to their office I fall in love over and over. Their mission is so important and they have made a tremendous impact in the community. Their staff, volunteers and community partners are the most dedicated, charismatic and personable group of people I have ever met. Room to Grow needs more support in order to reach more children and expand to other cities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for Room to Grow for about a year now and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had to date. Their mission is so important and their programs used to achieve their mission are incredible. The staff at Room to Grow are some of the more hardworking, intelligent, and sincerely genuine people and the number of people reached by Room to Grow could not be met without this staff,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I have been involved with Room to Grow on different levels for a little over 3 years. Coming from a background that is comparative to the beneficiaries of Room to Grow, I feel a strong desire to want to give back and help others in this type of situation. I know the importance of receiving aid as well as support and guidance from others, such as the team at Room to Grow. I am continually impressed by the men and woman who come through this organization. When you hear a parent stand in front of a room of 300+ people, confidently tell his or her story and experience and how much better they are and therefor their children's lives are, because of Room to Grow, its amazing, moving, inspiring and incredibly emotional all at the same time. I look forward to a long relationship with this organization, watching the continued good they do, watching the families, and the children thrive as a result of their involvement, watching more families benefit from this, and over time hopefully watching poverty levels decline because organizations like Room to Grow are able to give these men and woman the tools needed to move beyond the situations they come to Room to Grow from, and the ability to help guide and educate their own children in making good choices for their futures as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I've been volunteering with Room to Grow on and off since they opened in Boston in 2004. I was drawn to the agency because it has such a great mission. They not only help children born into poverty by providing them with all of their material needs such as clothes, toys and personal hygiene items, but they also provide a safe place for the parents to come and talk about being a parent and all that entails. It's a holistic view that really helps families succeed. I keep coming to volunteer every week because of the professional, fun and friendly staff who always make me feel welcome and appreciated, and because I feel that my volunteer time truly helps them continue their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

At Room to Grow we are always looking for dedicated volunteers. Volunteer support is critical to our success and we strive to provide volunteers with a meaningful and fulfilling experience. We have a variety of volunteer opportunities including helping prepare in-kind donations for families, organizing collection drives, assisting with fundraising and events and numerous other special projects. Volunteer