Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I've been volunteering at Room to Grow for 7 years and it is a wonderful organization. The space itself is colorful and clean, making it very welcoming to the clients who arrive with their children. I've mainly worked with Naomi, who does a great job welcoming the volunteers, explaining the activity we'll be helping with, and answering questions from the volunteers throughout the project. The other staff members I've met have also been extremely friendly, welcoming, and appreciative of the volunteers. By the end of the project, the volunteers feel as though they've truly made a difference and so many return to volunteer each month. I'm looking forward to volunteering with Room to Grow for many years to come!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I first came across Room to Grow when I was looking for a children’s charity to donate baby items to. I was delighted to find out that the company that I work for has an ongoing Corporate volunteering relationship with the organization. After doing some research and taking part in my first monthly volunteer session, I realized that this was a charity that I wanted to become more involved in. I was very impressed with the work the organization does. What sets Room to Grow apart from the vast majority of children’s charities is the fact that it’s so much more than just giving away “stuff”. Room to Grow and its staff cares deeply about the families that participates in its programs. The social workers at Room to Grow develop strong relationships with the families that are built on trust and mutual respect. The families receive customized educational and social support for the first three years of their child’s life, paving the way for a brighter forward looking future.

Room to Grow’s impact extends far beyond the immediate families that it works with, it is an integral part of the community and I am so happy and proud to be affiliated with such an organization.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Room to grow has made such an impact in my life. It has helped me to care for my child in more ways than one. From the clothes and toys he receives every visit to the mentoring and educating on his development. I feel so fortunate to be a part of such a wonderful program.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Room to Grow is a very special organization with an extremely noble cause that is changing the lives of babies and young families faced with very challenging circumstances every single day.

With a dedicated focus on providing educational and social support as well as essential gear and
supplies to babies living in poverty through their first three years of development, along with their outstanding staff and leadership, Room to Grow gives babies and families in great need a fighting chance to thrive.

The families who participate in this program face intense struggles every single day yet remain extremely optimistic and strong through it all thanks to the wonderful support of Room to Grow...all reasons why I am extremely proud and fortunate to be affiliated with Room to Grow.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Our school was looking to partner with an organization that was directly influencing the lives of women and children, and Room to Grow was a perfect fit. They worked with our middle school girls and taught them how a difference can be made on a local level in their city by seeing a need and filling it. The people who work at Room to Grow are incredibly dedicated to their work and want to spread their belief in helping others, and I know they have made a difference in the lives of the girls I teach and in how they view their role in society. I couldn't ask for more in a partnership like this.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

I interned with Room to Grow this last summer, and it was one of the greatest experiences I have had with a nonprofit. The women that work at Room to Grow are impassioned and knowledgeable about their field. It is also an incredibly organized nonprofit that serves an important clientele of the New York City area. Each visit parents are provided with a meeting with a social worker, clothing for a week (including coats, shoes, costumes for Halloween), toys, and books for the child and parents. This organization focuses on the first three years of a child's development, which current studies are demonstrating are incredibly vital for ensuring a child does not start kindergarten behind his or her classmates.

For potential donors - it is one of the easiest places to donate with free curbside pick-up or a paid pick-up and delivery service. They provide an inclusive list of what they do or do not accept on their website, and they are always available by phone to ask about other items.

For potential volunteers - the work you do is important for the nonprofit. Sorting through donations and organizing toys and books, there is never a wasted moment of your time. Naomi, who is the Volunteer Coordinator, is not only a sweet and welcoming person, but she also incredibly organized and plans for your time to be spent wisely.

This is an incredible nonprofit filled with and run by inspiring women that are determined to make a change and better the lives of parents in their community.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

We have baby gear that is never used, only photographed, due to our editorial work at Parents magazine and American Baby magazine. We love sending it to Room to Grow, where we know it will get into the hands of just-right families. It's important to us that the organization educates families about why they need certain gear and how to use it correctly. And because the families of Room to Grow are "in the zone," so to speak, we can feel reassured that our donations are going to be used quickly by people who truly need it. Plus, the Room to Grow staff never fails to show their appreciation. :)
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

At Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, we are honored to serve the communities of Massachusetts and are ever mindful of our duty to wisely invest the resources entrusted to us—time, talent, as well as financial. We demonstrate our values and pledge to be a thoughtful and effective corporate citizen through partnerships with community-based organizations that share our commitment to promote good health and economic opportunity, particularly for our most vulnerable populations.

We understand that resources and opportunities are in short supply for those living in poverty. This reality can have detrimental effects on families, specifically a child’s ability to develop, learn and lead as a healthy and engaged young person. That is why we are proud to be long-standing partners with Room to Grow. This well-run organization tackles this issue directly and makes a difference in the lives of children born into poverty every day.

Over the course of our six year partnership, hundreds of our associates have witnessed first-hand through a variety of volunteer opportunities, the level of effectiveness the Room to Grow program provides. Their model supports families during the critical first three years of a child’s life with counseling, guidance and material resources. This successful approach supports scientific research about the critical importance of overall human development during the early stages of life.

We are proud to champion their great work. I am also honored to be personally committed to the organization as a Boston Advisory Board Member, and for the past year, the Board Chair.

Respectfully submitted, Jeff Bellows
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

Unlike some other charities for babies and children who provide material goods, Room to Grow's work contains a critical component; one on one social work services for the first 3 years of life. Parents are accepted into the program during pregnancy and sign a contract to attend sessions until their child's first birthday. in addition to critical baby equipment and clothing, toys and books are given to the parent and child at each appointment which are age and develpmentally appropriate. one on one sessions include discussion of safe sleep, safe home, developmental milestones, play, and help with securing a job or preschool if appropriate.
the atmosphere in the Boston center, of which i am familiar, is warm and inviting. the staff is deeply passionate about their work, and the administration is thoughful and deliberate with their budget.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been volunteering for a few months and it has been a very rewarding experience. The staff are all very enthusiastic, personable and positive. The space is warm, clean and inviting. Their mission is an important one and I feel honored to be able to contribute to it. I would highly recommend anyone interested in volunteering to spend their time at this well run organization.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

At Room to Grow we are always looking for dedicated volunteers. Volunteer support is critical to our success and we strive to provide volunteers with a meaningful and fulfilling experience. We have a variety of volunteer opportunities including helping prepare in-kind donations for families, organizing collection drives, assisting with fundraising and events and numerous other special projects. Volunteer