Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for Room to Grow for about a year now and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had to date. Their mission is so important and their programs used to achiev... more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Room to Grow for 2 years now and each time I go to their office I fall in love over and over. Their mission is so important and they have made a tremendous impact in the community. Their staff, volunteers and community partners are the most dedicated, charismatic and personable group of people I have ever met. Room to Grow needs more support in order to reach more children and expand to other cities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for Room to Grow for about a year now and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had to date. Their mission is so important and their programs used to achieve their mission are incredible. The staff at Room to Grow are some of the more hardworking, intelligent, and sincerely genuine people and the number of people reached by Room to Grow could not be met without this staff,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I have been involved with Room to Grow on different levels for a little over 3 years. Coming from a background that is comparative to the beneficiaries of Room to Grow, I feel a strong desire to want to give back and help others in this type of situation. I know the importance of receiving aid as well as support and guidance from others, such as the team at Room to Grow. I am continually impressed by the men and woman who come through this organization. When you hear a parent stand in front of a room of 300+ people, confidently tell his or her story and experience and how much better they are and therefor their children's lives are, because of Room to Grow, its amazing, moving, inspiring and incredibly emotional all at the same time. I look forward to a long relationship with this organization, watching the continued good they do, watching the families, and the children thrive as a result of their involvement, watching more families benefit from this, and over time hopefully watching poverty levels decline because organizations like Room to Grow are able to give these men and woman the tools needed to move beyond the situations they come to Room to Grow from, and the ability to help guide and educate their own children in making good choices for their futures as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I've been volunteering with Room to Grow on and off since they opened in Boston in 2004. I was drawn to the agency because it has such a great mission. They not only help children born into poverty by providing them with all of their material needs such as clothes, toys and personal hygiene items, but they also provide a safe place for the parents to come and talk about being a parent and all that entails. It's a holistic view that really helps families succeed. I keep coming to volunteer every week because of the professional, fun and friendly staff who always make me feel welcome and appreciated, and because I feel that my volunteer time truly helps them continue their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Room to Grow in Boston makes it extremely easy for me to donate my daughter's lightly used clothing, books and baby gear (some items she never touched). I can either deliver the items curbside, or drop them off at Isis Parenting, a local parenting store and class center. What I most appreciate about Room to Grow is that my donations are going to families in need who made a commitment to work on their parenting and life skills in a three year program, so they are better prepared to raise a happy and healthy child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Room to Grow is such a great idea by providing material resources to low-income families, while also giving them the emotional support and resources they may need to position their children for success and happiness. I wish Room to Grow were in more cities. There is certainly a need for the organization's services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I began volunteering for Room to Grow after attending their 2011 Boston gala. I was so impressed with their mission, the work that they do, and the difference they make in their clients' lives. I have three young children and life is so hectic, but being a part of this organization is so important to me that it is worth the juggling and shuffling to be able to volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Simply encourage more people to donate and/or volunteer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I first started working with Room to Grow about 7 years ago after attending a small breakfast at their site on 20th Street in New York City. My friend and I then decided to host their annual Holiday party as a way to support the organization and engage with the clients of Room to Grow in a personal way. From that first experience with Room to Grow, my relationship with the organization continued to evolve. There are many ways to become involved and really make a difference. I was thrilled to be able to volunteer in other capacities and help support babies born into poverty in New York City and Boston. It's the only organization that I know that supports early childhood development through providing not only in-kind items to the child but also offers a customized support for each family through one-on-one appointments with incredibly talented social workers. This organization is extremely approachable from a donor perspective and most importantly, the majority of their funding is spent on program support directly benefitting the families that they serve. That percentage is impressive because most non-profits only spend 65-75% of their budget on program support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I have been involved with Room to Grow for more than 7 years and continue to be impressed. The organization's thoughtful, committed management leverages resources well to best serve Room to Grow's clients. Their mission, to improve the lives of babies born into poverty, is most compelling. Their combination of providing clients both physical items for their children (books, clothing, toys) as well as one-on-one parent counseling is most effective

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

A Room To Grow has been a tremendous resource to the populations that I have also served over the years. This organization fills a critical gap in services when working with low income women and girls who do not have the support, education, or access to resources that they need to prepare them for parenthood. The structure of the support they provide along with the expectations they have of their clients not only equips clients with much needed additional resources but also empowers them to make informed decisions as parents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I came to Room to Grow over the summer to volunteer. The moment you step into Room to Grow, you really don't know what to say, how can a place like this provide so much for families in need. There so much support and love that is being given to others. Families come in with their kids, only hoping for the best of their kids. As they leave, they not only carry a big smile but they also carried along what they needed, the love, the support, and the things they need to grow as a family. If you stay for long, you'll see, Room to Grow, is a home for everyone. A home that kids can run in, can be free from pressure, and a place for support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I came across Room to Grow as a place to volunteer and will never regret giving my service here. They do wonderful jobs to keep babies and children from being deprived of necessities and even more wonderful that they give their all to support families. They provide clothes, books, toys, and other essential items to help babies develop, especially in their most crucial stage of growing up. Also, everyone was generous and I did not once ever felt pressured or as if I was unwanted. Together, we got through a lot of work no matter how arduous it was.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

At Room to Grow we are always looking for dedicated volunteers. Volunteer support is critical to our success and we strive to provide volunteers with a meaningful and fulfilling experience. We have a variety of volunteer opportunities including helping prepare in-kind donations for families, organizing collection drives, assisting with fundraising and events and numerous other special projects. Volunteer