Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After an unexpected , early, and scary delivery , I spent two months at PRMH while my daughter was across the street at the Women&Infants NICU. Over two hours from my home, my husband and I were faced with the reality that we would either spend a fortune on a hotel or essentially miss out on the first two months of our child's life. When the hospital suggested the PRMH I felt uneasy - I didn't want to be a charity case. Walking in to the house the first night, I cried. The warmth I felt from the volunteers and other families was overwhelming. I recieved so much support and love within those walls and never once felt pitied or judged.
While staying there I was able to bond with my daughter during those crucial months. I was able to give my daughter my heart while having the retreat of PRMH just steps away.
The moments I cherish most from the house are having a midnight bowl of cereal in the kitchen and being able to blow kisses goodnight to my daughters hospital room window. Also, doing my very first load of heavenly smelling baby laundry and folding it in the family room. These moments are priceless to me and I thank PRMH for all that they have done for my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last month my youngest son was born pre-term and experienced difficulty breathing and eating. The little guy ended up spending a week in the NICU at Women and Infants. This week pales in comparison to the ordeals that many other families and babies will experience in the W&I NICU. However, my family lives about an hour from W&I and we still needed to care for our two year old son, while being there for the baby.

Being invited to stay at the Ronald McDonald House allowed me to do both with little hardship. I could come and go from the NICU as I pleased which allowed me to assist my wife who spent most of her time there nursing and caring for our baby. This arrangement also allowed my wife to see our two year old son often throughout the day and for him to meet his new baby brother.

Honestly, the Ronald McDonald House turned what could have been a frustrating and emotional week into a sort of mini vacation for my two year old son and I. The room was comfortable and homey. The kitchen was huge and accommodating for my picky toddler. The beautiful basement family room provided a regular retreat where my son and I shared a lot of laughs and hugs - he even made some new playmates there! On sunny days he begged to play on the swing set outside. Every staff and volunteer was friendly and helpful.

I'm so grateful for my brief time at the Ronald McDonald House and I hope to contribute in whatever ways I can to help other future guests.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This was my first experience with a RMH. Thankfully, there has never been a need. When I first considered bringing my daughter to RI for treatment, I immediately became stressed. How would I be able to afford this? Two weeks for a hotel, and money for meals was more than I had. Then someone suggested RMH. What a wonderful experience! The employees and volunteers were considerate, professional, and compassionate. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and homey. The kitchen was large and more than inviting.
We formed friendships while there, that will last a lifetime.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter,myself and my 2 year old granddaughter stayed at the RMH of Providence for 2 months as my other granddaughter was in the NICU at Woman & Infants hospital.. Visiting from NJ my daughter gave birth at 25 weeks. The RMH was TRULY a blessing that has changed my life. All of the Volunteers and staff were the most wonderful people who greeted you each day with smiles and helping hands. In the evening we would come back to the house & enjoy delicious food provided by VOLUNTEERS. There is NO WAY to say how much peace of mind we had staying there. We have made friends that have a bond . Thank You again for helping our family and countless more families during a trying time. We will always remember what a BLESSING we were given. Maureen Seguna..LI ,N.Y.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The RMH of Providence is such a great organization! My husband and I and our 6 yr old son Conner stayed there in June 2011 after Conner was involved in a lawnmower accident in which he injured his foot. We needed to be close to the hospital since Conner was requiring weekly procedures and additional surgeries. Though I am from Rhode Island, we currently live in Georgia and were visiting my family when the accident occurred. The RMH provided us a much needed home away from home, and I couldn't have asked for a better one. From the staff to the volunteers to other families staying at the house, it was a great experience. Loving support, hot meals, smiling faces and warm embraces helped get us through this difficult time. They are a top notch organization and do so much for the local community. Providence is very lucky to have them helping so many!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the RMH Providence during October and November 2009 while our son was in the Women and Infants NICU. I don't know what we would've done without the house. You can feel the kindness and compassion from the moment you walk through the doors. The volunteers are all such wonderful people. Each time we saw them, we were greeted with a smile and asked how our son was doing. I can't tell you how much that meant to us. It was such a relief to know that at the end of our day we knew we would return "home" to a hot meal and smiling faces. The volunteers even put together a Thanksgiving meal for us. That truly touched my heart. We were able to bring our son home on Thanksgiving, but it was very moving to know that these people were spending their holiday at the house, providing a holiday meal for perfect strangers instead of dining with their families. This is a very special place. Although the time we spent there was short in comparison to some families, our lives were forever changed by it. The kindness, compassion and support we were given while there showed us that good still does exist in this world. We will never, ever forget the RMH Providence for all that they did for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The RMH Providence was nothing short of amazing for our family during our 4 week stay there Dec 2007 to Jan 2008. Besides always being our home away from home, we were always greeted with a smile and a warm welcome. We were so thankful for a place to rest between visiting our son, Benjamin. When we left the house, the circumstances were not good. We were bringing Ben home because there was nothing more that could be done for him. When we told the staff we were sending someone to clean our room and pack our stuff, they insisted they would do it for us. What a huge help! One less thing for us to have to do! We will always be thankful for the support we received during our stay there. And though it is a very difficult time to think about, we couldn't be more thankful that the house was there for us. It gave us more time to be with our precious Benjamin for the short time we had with him. Thank you RMH Providence!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed for 3 weeks the end of November, beginning of December 2010 while my daughter attended a Pain Management program at Hasbro Children's. Without RMH of Providence she would never have been able to attend this wonderful program that helped her to heal so much. It was unbelievable to have warm, clean and welcoming environment to stay in at a reasonable price near the hospital. Not only that, but there was food and company to talk to that understood what we were going through at the end of the day. I think the companionship of other children and parents with similar problems helped us both heal a little. Thank you RMH!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 24, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

Their staff and volunteers were both so amazing. I was impressed with how welcoming and comforting they were through tough times.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

peace of mind of being so close to the hospital.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

amazing, wonderful, caring, helpful.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help millions of families.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 7, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

We (me and my wife) had twins at Women & Infants. It was great that we could stay at a place so close to them while they were being treated.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the positive impact on the community, by the people who stay here, by the people who volunteer.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the hospitality.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

nice.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help a lot more families in need.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

More than 150 volunteers provide the backbone of the House and Family Rooms. In-house volunteers work three, four-hour shifts everyday. They check families in and out, answer telephones, give House tours, perform light housekeeping, assist with clerical work and provide emotional support for the families. Volunteer