Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the Ronald McDonald House of Providence for 5+ yeats as a volunteer and donor. I have seen first-hand the excellent work this organization does and the necessary support it provides to families of sick children in the region. This organization deserves a 5-star rating!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As the past president of the Providence Ronald House I can tell you it is the best thing to hear about when your children is ill. My child past away before the house in Providence was built. First hand I can tell you how important it is to have such a place to be close to the hospital. When it came time to build the house I quickly got involved. We have a great staff and volunteer base that keeps all things running. Thanks for letting me tell my story. Jeanette Bucci Past President of the Board

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change one thing because it is well run.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Ronald McDonald House of Providence is truly a home away from home for families going through serious medical situations. The staff and daily volunteers of the House are amazing & they take the time to get to know each family and make them feel welcome. The House is comforting, supportive and provides a must needed respite from the nearby hospitals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

RMH Providence provides a safe and caring environment to a number of families each year, and they do so without a lot of fanfare. Instead, they quietly provide support and a "home away from home" for people when they are distressed over the life and care of children. Our company has proudly "adopted" a room at RMH Providence for multiple years due to the House's dedication to mission: to provide services that assist families during times of medical crisis.

I have visited RMH Providence on multiple occasions, and always find a helpful smile, strong leadership, and genuine hospitality to all who enter their doors. The city and families across Rhode Island are very fortunate to have the House.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Ronald McDonald House consistently follows its mission by providing support to people who are at one of the most vulenerable times of thier lives and allows them to focus on what is important, caring for their loved ones, while RMH Providence takes care of their other needs. The volunteers are comitted to fulfilling the needs of as many patients' and families as they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I became involved with this charity because of the wonderful caring place it gives to those families who have serious ill children . The PRMH is truly a home away from home when families are dealing with a very serious illness with a child. I became involved in a RMH years ago and when we had a son who was very ill with cancer, we were fortunate enough to live close to the hospital he was treated in . We were able to see first hand , families who had no where to stay and often lived in their vehicles. The entire staff, volunteers, and board members truly care about the well being of the child and their family and everything they do comes from their heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try and get the word out what a great place the PRMH is!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is one of the most important organizations I have ever worked with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When our oldest son was born, we never knew about the Ronald McDonald House or how it would play such a significant role in the life of our family. While we had heard of the organization, we had never been intimately aware of the physical and emotional support that they provide to families in need. While our son was in the intensive care unit at Women & Infants, we tried to keep a round the clock bedside vigil. When I was released from the hospital after 48 hours accomplishing that became a difficult task because there was nowhere to change our clothes, wash or rest. The social work staff referred us at that time to the Ronald McDonald House.

What the PRMH provided us was a clean bed; plentiful, nutritious food; a warm shower; a smiling face to greet us each day and an attentive listener if we needed to unburden ourselves. Best of all, it was right across the street from our baby.

During our stay we met other families at the house. There was a young couple whose daughter had been born three months prematurely on the Cape; she had been transferred to W&I and the mother was staying at the PRMH for the duration. We also met several families from Greece whose children were being treated for congenital defects at Hasbro Hospital. And we met some incredible volunteers. When my father and uncle left the hospital to “check us in” at RMH, they came back with full stomachs; the volunteers had insisted that they stay for a meatball dinner. One Sunday morning, I recall a couple of older women making us a delicious hearty breakfast and letting us talk at length about our son. Everyone we met there was truly special.

One year later, our second son was born and he too was admitted to the intensive care unit. Again, we availed ourselves of PRMH. In fact, I almost felt compelled to pre-register before delivering again in 2004. Thankfully that son was born healthy but it was reassuring to know that there was a friendly, convenient, safe and affordable place to stay if circumstances had been different.

The Ronald McDonald House only charges its guests if they can afford to pay. Maximum charge per day is $10. Generous donors cover other expenses and most is raised on their annual walk. Please consider making a donation. Your gift will assist families in what may be their greatest time of need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build a second building on the adjacent campus. The need for PRMH is great.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Although I currently serve as a board member, nine years ago my only nephew was born when my sister was a mere 28 weeks pregnant. As a resident of MA, she was fortunate that RMH had "room at the inn", so to speak. The intensity of the decisions that she and her husband needed to make regarding their son's health far exceeded anything I had ever dealt with when my sons were born. This was my first introduction to any of the Ronald McDonald Houses. As a bystander, an ear, a shoulder or a supplier of personal supplies when necessary, I stood in awe of this House which had given my sister and brother in law a place to retreat and sleep and make these ever so important decisions. The volunteers at this House are loving and kind and they listen, and they clean and they answer the phone to relay incredibly important and hopefully joyful messages, messages like "He's definitely strong enough and weighs enough to go home". When that news was delivered, my one resolve was to somehow give back to the House. I started by raising money when I ran endurance races, when the opportunity to become involved at a committee, and then a board level arose he decision was simple.
Ultimately, the goal at the board level is to ensure that we can provide comfort for as many people as possible and to maintain a true home for folks who desperately need a room close to their child.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After an unexpected , early, and scary delivery , I spent two months at PRMH while my daughter was across the street at the Women&Infants NICU. Over two hours from my home, my husband and I were faced with the reality that we would either spend a fortune on a hotel or essentially miss out on the first two months of our child's life. When the hospital suggested the PRMH I felt uneasy - I didn't want to be a charity case. Walking in to the house the first night, I cried. The warmth I felt from the volunteers and other families was overwhelming. I recieved so much support and love within those walls and never once felt pitied or judged.
While staying there I was able to bond with my daughter during those crucial months. I was able to give my daughter my heart while having the retreat of PRMH just steps away.
The moments I cherish most from the house are having a midnight bowl of cereal in the kitchen and being able to blow kisses goodnight to my daughters hospital room window. Also, doing my very first load of heavenly smelling baby laundry and folding it in the family room. These moments are priceless to me and I thank PRMH for all that they have done for my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

More than 150 volunteers provide the backbone of the House and Family Rooms. In-house volunteers work three, four-hour shifts everyday. They check families in and out, answer telephones, give House tours, perform light housekeeping, assist with clerical work and provide emotional support for the families. Volunteer