Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1.545452345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I wish there was a "negative star" rating.... this is a club that had great potential, but the "NFP" is a joke.... Peter makes hundreds of thousands of dollars in his "other" businesses that he funnels the money to.... The BUffalo Grove facility is too small for all the girls he packs in there for their less than adequate practices. I question his ability to host legal tournaments, no bathrooms, he's selling food etc....is he licensed???? He'll sell you the moon, then treat you like dirt..... Parents have been yelled at, he speaks ill about other families to parents, he didn't have coaches for teams for MONTHS, has coaches that are MOMS without any experience coaching NATIONAL teams!!! Parents are paying THOUSANDS of dollars to have their children coached by a MOM with NO training !!!! How can you get quality instruction when the MOM doesn't know what shes' doing????? My daughter needs a COACH, she has a MOM! I didn't pay thousands of dollars to have a MOM reading how to do rotations she just learned a few weeks prior.... Peter will take your money, shove a BS sunshine story up your rear, then turn his back. Forget about asking questions, forget about getting a simple email returned, forget about a phone call.... NEVER will he communicate, unless it's to yell and scream that some "ungrateful, overbearing, overprotective, over-involved, talentless mom" is in his way of making another buck. I would like the IRS to look into his holdings..... he's a scam in a RTVBC jacket! I would take your money and put it towards a college fund, and take your money elsewhere. He scares players into thinking he'll blackball them in the volleyball world, and they'll never play again if they don't do what he says and travel to BS tournaments..... he's a joke... he's a bully that never played volleyball, just knows how to sell the club.... GIrls are learning their bad behavior because they see this "man" yelling and belittling the coaches, and other girls in front of them... how can they teach sportsman like behavior when it's being displayed by the OWNER!? THere is NO consistency in discipline either....if he "likes" you, you can bash the world online and in person, and there is no consequence... Players miss practices and tournaments and still play.... I would rather burn my money than give that man another penny. Peter only wants to make millions, while being the cheapest piece of garbage around. Slimy snake in the grass. He's worse than a gypsy. My daughter has a MOM for a coach, a $3000+ MOM.... pathetic...... but he's bringing in big bucks with his 40+ teams (10-12 girls per team).... you do the math.... TAKE YOUR CHILD ELSEWHERE....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

report it to the IRS, zoning board, health department, and shut it down....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

My daughters team didn't have a coach for two months of practice and 3 weeks into the season. There still several teams without coaches. We pay good money and they have no instruction. What a joke. Practices are just the team on the court watching the other teams with and without coaches. This was our first, and this is our last year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ORGANIZATION! COMMUNICATION!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Practices are all the same no matter the age group. Same drills, same agenda. Teams are not instructed based on their individual needs and performance. Has a problem keeping coaching staff consistently because of the detrimental treatment and all around environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take Peter out of the communication process and the interaction all around.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2013

more

November 14, 2013

My daughter joined this club during her first year of volleyball. Pro's the club is large...younger players are easily accepted onto a team, good entry level training for the novice player, the Director makes every young athlete feel special. Con's the director is a former Direct Marketer - he knows how to 'sell'. Therefore, individualized training to correct bad habits in a high impact sport for girls is nonexistent. His U13/14 players are not receiving the instruction needed to prevent serious shoulder and ACL injury during high school and college play. Given that in 2007 his total income was $800K, he can afford to build his own facility, but he won't. He is in this for profit - does not offer year-round training - which would include beach/sand play to help build muscle and response time - also relieving some of the high impact pressure of indoor play - making for a well-rounded player overall. Extremely expensive given the ROI. Also, his parents generally do not come for well-rounded athletic backgrounds. Very unsportsmanlike behavior. His girls do not know how to gel with club players from other teams during IHSA high school play. We have experienced this first hand. They assume that since that one of the club coaches is a HS school - all girls from RTVBC should make this HS team. If your daughter is NOT from his club, she will be bullied, excluded all communication - and this was led by the parents during our year with them on a HS team. Despite our efforts to try and team build outside of HS practice team and overcome their complaints - our offers were refused. Feel bad for the HS coaching staff as they tried to work with us. But, hard to do when 95% of the HS players come from this club and have been told their children will definitely play college volleyball. Thank you for checking out this site. If you are serious about having your daughter play volleyball - this isn't the club for you. A smaller club, with private lessons, and year-round programs that include sand play will produce MUCH better results as a cheaper price! Even their largest competitor would be a better choice...even though the same unsportsmanlike behavior exists there as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Changes are coming soon enough - unless he builds his own facility and include beach instruction this business (it is NOT a Not for Profit) will slowly shut down due to attrition. For now, I'm glad all of our area girls go to him...allows my daughter to place higher with a smaller club for more individualized attention and more play time. (10 player teams vs. 12 player teams). Parents...do your research before shelling out money for a club that your neighbors joined for convenience!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

My daughter had a great time this past season. She loved her coach, and her teammates. She jokes that if it weren't for her club team she wouldn't have half of her friends. Definitely going back this upcoming season.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

My daughter had a terrible experience at rolling thunder. Peter the owner is verbally abusive to the girls. Players left practice crying. There are many quality volleyball clubs in the area, I will be sending my daughter to one of them next season.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

While I cannot say this has been a perfect situation, overall my daughter has learned to be a better player, more passionate, more confident in life and handles criticism much better. Is Peter tough, absolutely! Does he scream at the girls and openly criticize their playing, yes. Does he care about how the girls progress, yes. Does he expect the girls to come to practice and tournaments to work their butts off most definitely! Does he frustrate the parents by changing up teams and changing practices yep sometimes he does.
If your child is doing this for the social aspect of playing a sport then this is probably not the place for them. This is not the top club in the area but it isnt the most expensive either. When I get frustrated I talk to her coach and work through the issues. I dont do it in front of others and never at tournaments. I have seen some very good teams fall apart because a couple of players are not as focused as the others. I believe that to be the problems many times. You maybe thinking my daughter must be treated differently, nope she works her butt off or she doesnt play because there are others that play her positions just as well. When she is angry we talk and refocus that we play club to be better high school players. If she stops loving the game we quit. So far its been three years and her passison grows year over year. Could it really be as bad as these others have stated I suppose but you get out of it what you put into it. If you want reward with out work dont play here.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

My daughter and her friends spent the entire season complaining about Peter, the owner, and the way he belittled her team. Girls who play for other teams in the area are very satisfied with their experiences. I will not allow her to play for Rolling Thunder again, she and her team mates will all be joining a different club next year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Everything about Rolling Thunder Volleyball Club was misleading and negative. My daughter loves volleyball, but I can't believe how frustrated and aggravated her experience with RTVBC made all of us. We wanted her in a club close to home where she could continue to improve, with a reasonable cost and commitment. But we were talked into spending more money to go to a facility further from home, only to have our daughter so exhausted by the unreasonable expectations of this cult club that she struggled in school and all of her other endeavors. She was forced to quit because she otherwise would not have been able to achieve academic and other athletic goals. Girls from her school who joined other clubs had a much more positive experience. I would encourage anyone considering this club to look elsewhere. Peter cares more about money than about the girls and my daughter gained very little new skills of value to her, despite the $3000+ cost. Luckily, she's a good athlete and will play varsity for her school, but I'm sorry to say this club was a waste of money and time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

My daughter left practices so upset and distraught. She was mentally beaten down. Of the 11 girls that started the season on her team, only 3 plan to return next year. This has to say something! Look at other clubs. My daughters life long long of volleyball was killed by this club! The owner, Peter, will tell you your daughter is so amazing....she'll play in college. Yet, as I spoke with many other parents, the same speech was given to each family. Once you sign on the dotted line, you mean NOTHING! A few years ago, the entire boys teams and their coaches up and left......do not send your child here!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers