Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12.125345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I had two daughters in the Rolling Thunder program. This review is intended to help other parents who are stressing out as they evaluate the best program to develop their children. Pass on Rolling Thunder. As other posters have mentioned, we will not be returning nor are most of their teammates.

1. Peter (owner) does a terrific job of "selling" the club. He visits local schools with his RT logo jacket, walks around like a scout, and drops nice full color brochures. But (no offense to used car sales people) like a used car the package "looks" good but then starts to fall apart once part of the program.

2. in 2013, almost everyone who tried out made the teams. Sounds good. Unfortunately, this had two consequences. First, they stacked the teams with 12 players which means much less playing time. Second, Peter didn't have enough "qualified" coaches. Created tons of teams as his marketing worked, but then started asking Mom's with no prior coaching experience to become a coach. So we paid over $1K for inexperienced coaches? The first few games were embarrassing as many coaches were unable to correct faulty rotations and did not understand substitution rules.

3. Peter is terrible with communications after you sign up and paid. Like a good salesman right?

4. If you are not on the top 2-3 teams in an age group you get no attention. This is where Peter & Spencer focus all their time. This is what fills the brochure with college & high school success stories. They also get the best coaches and believe it or not MORE tournaments than the other teams. Yes - you read that correct. So I paid the same $1K+ for my daughter, I get a first time coach because she is middle of the road in talent (came here to get better) and they go to 2 less tournaments than the top 3 teams? I'm paying for the top 3 teams to play more?

5. Peter is just plain rude and demeaning to his coaches and yes, even the children. I'm all for a little "tough love" coaching to push your athletes rather than always cuddling them - if done the right way. Yelling at kids for mistakes during games and at practice - and not in a positive way. Let me explain. It's not about improving the kids for their benefit - but rather "how do you think your performance makes me and the club look?" I can't make this stuff up.

One thing I agree with Peter on is volleyball clubs are all about giving your kids repetition and conditioning. But...you can get this at any club without feeling your in the movie "Grumpy old men."
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

My daughter has been with this club for 4 years. She had knew and inexperienced coaches her first two years. Although inexperienced, the coaches were seasoned volleyball people that new the game and followed a set practice schedule across the age groups. She learned a lot. At first I didn't understand the concept but the results after a few years validated the process.
My daughter was not always a starter but worked to improve her game both during the season and at summer camps. She learned how to deal with adversity and work hard for what she wanted. She got better and she received more play time on the 1's team. She also took advantage of the skills nights that the club offered. As a freshman she was prepared and made her varsity team and started in over half the matches. She is currently getting interest from numerous D1 schools.
This is our third child playing club. Our oldest was at Sky High. We were happy at Sky High but are even more happy with our experience at Rolling Thunder. Our daughter had a goal of playing high school and college volleyball and Rolling thunder has given her the opportunity to reach those goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This year, my daughter and the other team players are not returning. Only the teams coached by Peter and Spencer get any attention. They never returned an email or acknowledged any communications. I think there a lot more disappointed families that are looking elsewhere for the 2014-2015 season.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

My daughter is currently a Freshman at a local high school to Chicago. As a freshman she is the only setter playing on the VARSITY team. She is also the only freshman on the team. The owner of the club, Peter, coached my daughter last season, and I can tell you that she had a great time playing for RTVBC. She said there were nights that practices were really tough, but that's what I'm paying money for. I'm paying money for her to get better, you can't be taking it easy on people and expect to get better. I can't speak to everyone else's poor reviews, but my daughter had a blast!
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

Surprised to see all the negativity. My daughter absolutely LOVED her club experience and is about to graduate from her college, that she has been playing at with a full ride scholarship.
February 4, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I wish there was a "negative star" rating.... this is a club that had great potential, but the "NFP" is a joke.... Peter makes hundreds of thousands of dollars in his "other" businesses that he funnels the money to.... The BUffalo Grove facility is too small for all the girls he packs in there for their less than adequate practices. I question his ability to host legal tournaments, no bathrooms, he's selling food etc....is he licensed???? He'll sell you the moon, then treat you like dirt..... Parents have been yelled at, he speaks ill about other families to parents, he didn't have coaches for teams for MONTHS, has coaches that are MOMS without any experience coaching NATIONAL teams!!! Parents are paying THOUSANDS of dollars to have their children coached by a MOM with NO training !!!! How can you get quality instruction when the MOM doesn't know what shes' doing????? My daughter needs a COACH, she has a MOM! I didn't pay thousands of dollars to have a MOM reading how to do rotations she just learned a few weeks prior.... Peter will take your money, shove a BS sunshine story up your rear, then turn his back. Forget about asking questions, forget about getting a simple email returned, forget about a phone call.... NEVER will he communicate, unless it's to yell and scream that some "ungrateful, overbearing, overprotective, over-involved, talentless mom" is in his way of making another buck. I would like the IRS to look into his holdings..... he's a scam in a RTVBC jacket! I would take your money and put it towards a college fund, and take your money elsewhere. He scares players into thinking he'll blackball them in the volleyball world, and they'll never play again if they don't do what he says and travel to BS tournaments..... he's a joke... he's a bully that never played volleyball, just knows how to sell the club.... GIrls are learning their bad behavior because they see this "man" yelling and belittling the coaches, and other girls in front of them... how can they teach sportsman like behavior when it's being displayed by the OWNER!? THere is NO consistency in discipline either....if he "likes" you, you can bash the world online and in person, and there is no consequence... Players miss practices and tournaments and still play.... I would rather burn my money than give that man another penny. Peter only wants to make millions, while being the cheapest piece of garbage around. Slimy snake in the grass. He's worse than a gypsy. My daughter has a MOM for a coach, a $3000+ MOM.... pathetic...... but he's bringing in big bucks with his 40+ teams (10-12 girls per team).... you do the math.... TAKE YOUR CHILD ELSEWHERE....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

report it to the IRS, zoning board, health department, and shut it down....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

My daughters team didn't have a coach for two months of practice and 3 weeks into the season. There still several teams without coaches. We pay good money and they have no instruction. What a joke. Practices are just the team on the court watching the other teams with and without coaches. This was our first, and this is our last year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ORGANIZATION! COMMUNICATION!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

Practices are all the same no matter the age group. Same drills, same agenda. Teams are not instructed based on their individual needs and performance. Has a problem keeping coaching staff consistently because of the detrimental treatment and all around environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take Peter out of the communication process and the interaction all around.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter joined this club during her first year of volleyball. Pro's the club is large...younger players are easily accepted onto a team, good entry level training for the novice player, the Director makes every young athlete feel special. Con's the director is a former Direct Marketer - he knows how to 'sell'. Therefore, individualized training to correct bad habits in a high impact sport for girls is nonexistent. His U13/14 players are not receiving the instruction needed to prevent serious shoulder and ACL injury during high school and college play. Given that in 2007 his total income was $800K, he can afford to build his own facility, but he won't. He is in this for profit - does not offer year-round training - which would include beach/sand play to help build muscle and response time - also relieving some of the high impact pressure of indoor play - making for a well-rounded player overall. Extremely expensive given the ROI. Also, his parents generally do not come for well-rounded athletic backgrounds. Very unsportsmanlike behavior. His girls do not know how to gel with club players from other teams during IHSA high school play. We have experienced this first hand. They assume that since that one of the club coaches is a HS school - all girls from RTVBC should make this HS team. If your daughter is NOT from his club, she will be bullied, excluded all communication - and this was led by the parents during our year with them on a HS team. Despite our efforts to try and team build outside of HS practice team and overcome their complaints - our offers were refused. Feel bad for the HS coaching staff as they tried to work with us. But, hard to do when 95% of the HS players come from this club and have been told their children will definitely play college volleyball. Thank you for checking out this site. If you are serious about having your daughter play volleyball - this isn't the club for you. A smaller club, with private lessons, and year-round programs that include sand play will produce MUCH better results as a cheaper price! Even their largest competitor would be a better choice...even though the same unsportsmanlike behavior exists there as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Changes are coming soon enough - unless he builds his own facility and include beach instruction this business (it is NOT a Not for Profit) will slowly shut down due to attrition. For now, I'm glad all of our area girls go to him...allows my daughter to place higher with a smaller club for more individualized attention and more play time. (10 player teams vs. 12 player teams). Parents...do your research before shelling out money for a club that your neighbors joined for convenience!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

My daughter had a great time this past season. She loved her coach, and her teammates. She jokes that if it weren't for her club team she wouldn't have half of her friends. Definitely going back this upcoming season.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers