Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
March 12, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 12, 2013

The best teachers are those who show you where to look, but don't tell you what to see. ~ Alexandra Trenfor

This quote immediately made me think of John McChesney and his teaching philosophies. Children at Rock'it Science experience the thrill of their own discoveries because he does not
ever tell them what the expected outcomes are. I have had my two children enrolled in Rock'it Science classes for several years now and I will continue to register them for as many years as "Mr. Mac" is available.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 10, 2013

Rock-It Science is a unique program and place. Kids learn creatively, with hands-on, interactive, thought provoking science experiments. Where else are kids going to learn, in a tactile way, how big and heavy each of the planets are and how relatively far planets are from each other, using the parking lot as the canvas? Where else are kids going to learn how salt changes freezing points and, oh, make ice cream in the process? Mr. Mac, as John MChesney is affectionately known by all the kids, is enthusiastic, creative and dedicated to teaching kids about science in a makes-you-want-to-know-more kind of way. Even further, Mr. Mac and his team created a teach-the-teacher program to further share the great way they teach science.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 8, 2013

My son really love the class and the summer camp. Last year I signed him up for one week summer camp, and he liked so much that he asked for more. Eventually he attended all the remaining rock it science summer camp. He is having once a week class and he wants more. I do wish they have more classes per week.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 8, 2013

My three children have been attending classes here for 2 years now. They are always looking very much forward to it every week, they come out very excited about the experiments they had done. I like the fact that I can put my 5 year old in the same group with her older brothers, 8 and 10, she has as much fun as they do. Mister Mac has a very positive attitude, it is a very relaxed environment, the children are thrilled about the stories through which Mister Mac explains the facts.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 8, 2013

My two children (a 9 year old daughter and a 13 year old son) always looked forward to Rock It Science classes with Mr. Mac.

They enjoyed his stories about Evil Mr. Fred, but the real fun was hands-on science.

After classes with him my kids wanted to know more on the subject he
introduced so we always ended in the library or bookstore to learn more.

Mr. Mac is an incredible teacher. He treats kids with respect and he knows how to engage them and to make them curious.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 7, 2013

I heard about this site from a very close friend of mine. He sent his daughter to the camp last summer and is going to send her again this summer. He highly recommended this program and told me the it is really rocking!! I am happy there's something like this site for my son's after school activities and for summer fun. Way to Rock it Science!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 7, 2013

I wish that everyone could visit John McChesney's small lab to witness the workings of his incredible science program. He knows how to work with kids. He provides the right amount of magic and instruction, while allowing the students to explore and experiment. It's really amazing. A brilliant program provided by a wonderful, patient, knowledgeable human being. Please keep his lab in operation. I think that the exposure to science that Mr. McChesney provides is life-changing for the lucky kids who get to participate. My kids loved it!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 7, 2013

Rock-it-Science is an outstanding hand's on experience for children that they gear towards the respective age group. In this learn-by-doing environment, children are are challenged to find out answers by their experience, vs. being "told" what's going to happen. In addition to summer programs, Rock-it Science offers programs during the school year. Rock-it Science is a terrific program that is highly recommended.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers