Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

Rock-It-Science: Putting the FUN in Science

We often hear about how our country is not producing enough scientists. There is now a big push to generate more interest among our youth, but all too often, the science classes that they take in school are focused on book reading and test
taking. This does not inspire our kids to love science. In fact it often makes them dread it.

That is why programs like Rock-it-Science are so important. John makes science come alive! He presents each lesson in the context of a story that engages a child's interest. Then he has the kids do HANDS ON experiments. This allows the students to feel like scientists -- to enjoy the excitement of guessing what might happen next and then seeing the results. Programs like Rock-it-Science are desperately needed because they will actually inspire a love of science.

If we want more scientists in our country, then we need more programs like Rock-it-Science.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 12, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 12, 2013

My eldest daughter took Rock-It-Science classes for 5 years, and now my younger daughter is taking the classes. My kids have absolutely loved these classes! They love the stories, but most importantly they love the experiments. The experiments are aimed to show kids interesting properties of matter, but without the scientific names or the theories behind them. These experiments are truly aimed to let the kids discover for themselves the fun of experimentation, the fact that sometimes experiments do not work exactly as planned, and that science can be so much fun. I love hearing them excitedly tell me what they did that day in the class. I would not hesitate to recommend this class to any one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 11, 2013

My 5-year-old grandson always loves Rock-It Science, and he is a young man who knows what he likes and doesn't like. Rock-it Science is fun, engaging, and calls for young people to think scientifically, not just memorize or be told. I love seeing him explore things at home that he explored previously in Rock-it Science.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 11, 2013

Rock-It Science is a wonderful and weird hands-on science experience for home-schooled kids; a combination of comedic storytelling and open ended, thought-provoking explorations of different scientific principles. My son is habitually late for everything, but he strives to always be early for Rock-It Science because he doesn't want to miss any of it. And the fact that it's not affiliated with any umbrella organization or franchise means that it ranges far and wide in unexpected and surprising ways... This is definitely an experience worth preserving, supporting and indulging in!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 10, 2013

Both of my children go to Rock-It Science. My oldest for three years now. My youngest could not wait until she was 5 years old so she could join in. They look forward to it every week. As a parent who sits and watches the class I am always impressed with Mr. Mac (as the kids call him). I watch him both with the eye of a parent and the eye of a person with a BA in Education. Not only does he present an innovative, new experiment each week (a feat I find astounding) but his attitude and skill with the children is amazing. He is calm, centered and delightful as he teaches them, keeping things safe without making the kids fear anything. My children are learning hands-on science from him and I can see the results in their play at home as they adjust a fulcrum to make a toy or talk about gravity and temperature, but for me, I am incredibly grateful for Mr. Mac's educational approach. My children are presented each week with an amazing adult mentor who models respect, joy, and learning. It's a fantastic educational environment and I recommend Rock-It Science with enthusiasm.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2013

Rock-It Science understands what motivates kids to learn. Classroom experience is more conducive to the real world, which is rare here in the Silicon Valley. Collaboration is key, and projects are left to the creativity and resourcefulness of the kids. Regardless of age, kids are given a range to explore, and their curiosity is always triggered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2013

My kids and I very much enjoyed the year of science classes thy took a couple of years ago, taught by Mr. Mac. Mr. Mac has a great way with kids. His style of story with a subtle lesson underneath and then hands on lesson is perfect for young kids in particular. My kids always looked forward to their classes with him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 9, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2013

My kids enjoy their classes and summer cams, highly recommend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

Mr. Mac and his assistant made the world come alive for my two sons. Rock-it Science's effective use of the picture story format was visually engaging for my 9 and 12 year olds, and the enquiry based learning stimulated their imagination - words spilled excitedly from the boys as they retold what they learned each day. Sometimes the why wasn't always clear but that's what made Rock-it Science exciting - there's always something to learn, or prove, or try again. Rock-it Science infused a curiosity for science and how it explains our world, that remains with my sons to this day. As the parent, I appreciated they came home with their own projects sans adult influence on trying to "cookie cutter - make it pretty." I know when it's my son's creations and the fact they proudly came home with it, showed Rock-it Science respected the students creativity. Thank you Rock-it Science!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 8, 2013

My son went to the summer session for two summers. They make science fun and very understandable.

There lessons are technically very acurate while still having the kids play and learn at the same time.

I higly recommend it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers