Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.733335
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am delighted to offer comments and my wholehearted endorsement for the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights and especially the work on curriculum about human rights defenders, Speak Truth to Power. STTP is an initiative and curriculum the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights developed in collaboration with my union, the New York State United Teachers. The curriculum introduces students from elementary to high school to the field of human rights and human rights issues. It does so through the stories of courageous women and men from around the world who defend those very rights, giving voice to the voiceless from the most remote regions of the globe to the heavily populated urban centers right here in the United States.The Speak Truth to Power lessons provide a rich curriculum aligned with rigorous common core learning standards. Parhaps most importantly, the lessons provide opportunities for students to submit their own ideas and make their own judgments about the world around them. The lessons' focus on practice encourages young minds to see how they, too, can take action and become defenders in their own right. The universality of the defenders engages students from all socio-economic backgrounds and provides examples of how people in desperate circumstances have empowered themselves and others to speak up and speak out.
This commitment to educate the next generation of human rights defenders lifts the RFKCJHR above many other worthwhile advocates by understanding and making part of its mission passing on the obligation to defend those who advocate for social justice and, yes, when necessary, speaking truth to power even in the face of tyranny and personal danger. The record demonstrates that, led by President Kerry Kennedy, the center is willing to travel to places of great danger to expose human rights violations and to defend those who speak out against oppression and the denial of basic human rights. Taking this to the next step by educating future generations is indeed a continuation of Robert F. Kennedy's understanding that educating our youth is the greatest weapon in defense of social justice. As a board member, partner and witness to its work, I know that the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights is truly a gift to those who advocate for and defend justice throughout the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

My name is Vera Stremkovskaya, I am human right defender from Belarus, who lives now in Sweden. I am one of the human rights defenders fI took part in many events of the STTP, as well as presentation of the book in USA and Qatar, exhibitions of the portraits and educational program of the RKF in Europe, Italy that year, as a speaker. I think the activity of the RKF is very important, and mostly in a field of the promotion and defending human rights in the world. After the information about human right defenders and there praktikal experiences was collected and summarized in the book, very important to share that information now with everybody who working ore study in a field of human rights. There for I was make the exibition from the book and infromation about RFK and STTP on the day of the human right in Göteborg that year, on September 8, 2012, and I will continue to share that information throught the exibition about STTP and RKF in the Hissingen Lbrary in Göteborg from the november 13, 2012. I am very much appreciate the RKF office in Washington, and RKF office in Europe for there help with the organisations of that programs and exibition, with the matherials they had sent to me and all information I was provided by them. I am very much happy to participate in a STTP and RKF programs in Sweden, as well as presentation of the book which will be in October 26 in Stockholm and the Bingolotto event for human rights and STTP in May 2012., in Stockholm. I think it is very important activity. And I am glad i can take part in that activity now. I enclose a few photos from our exibition in Göteborg, on October 8, 2012, with the collegues from the Cultural department of the lundby city Göteborg, and more photos from the educational program on May 2012 in Italy, RKF in Europa, and STTP and Bingolotto event in Stockholm on May 2012.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

As a career educator, I've long held the belief that a fundamental goal of schooling should be to develop within students an understanding of human rights and the inspiration to take action toward assuring social justice for all. In aiming to fulfill that goal as the Superintendent of Schools of a school district in suburban NYC, I found a powerful partner in the RFK Center's remarkable 'Speak Truth to Power' program. Reflecting RFK's deep passion and relentless drive toward defending the rights of others, STTP - the book, play and lesson plans - profoundly transforms students' view of the world and inspires them towards social activism. Simply stated, it changes lives!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

My first Experience with the RFK Center is when I worked on a RFK curriculum project through my State teachers union--New York State United Teachers. Of all the big ideas that can be taught in social studies, one could argue that teaching students to value each other as human beings is perhaps the most important. Whether it is in appreciating diversity, understanding our shared humanity, or seeing that civilization is fragile, this concept is at the heart of who we are as a society and as educators. The RFK center understands this and provides outstanding human rights resources and opportunities for educators though the Speak Truth To Power program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

My first RFK Center volunteer experience was soon after the Tiananmen Square crack down. The Center helped organize one of the largest demonstrations outside the Chinese Embassy. Juggling many interests and concerns, the Center helped pulled together not only a large demo but one that was on message and clear regarding human rights. From that point on, I have always looked for ways to partner and/or volunteer with the center. One opportunity that came my way was to help develop the Center's human rights education program, Speak Truth To Power - this experience has been amazing, transformative and at times a little challenging. The RFK Center does so much, touches on so many issues that at times it can be a little overwhelming but in the end, the work is important and someone has lead the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers