Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.733335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Last year my students and several staff members of my school participated in the Speak Truth to Power video contest sponsored by RFK center and NYSUT. In working on the video, our entire vocational training and special education center came together. The experience allowed our students to see a world beyond our classrooms and beyond our community. In addition several of the social justice lessons were valuable in helping my students to understand more about themselves and about the power of one. Through the project we were able to create a sustainable craft room that can be used both as at type of art therapy and as an aid for raising funds for charities.
In the end, I can firmly state that without this opportunity several students may have abandoned their education. The contest and the curriculum became a very bright and positive spot at our center.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2013

It appears that Ms. Kerry Kennedy is now involved with a Scientology front group, Artists for Human Rights, and is using the reputation behind the RFK Center to promote the aims of a dangerous cult. Scientology has been under FBI investigation for Human Trafficking, Forced Abortions, Child Labor violations, just to name a few of their human rights abuses. One only needs to read the recent book by Pulitzer Prize winner, Lawrence Wright, titled "Going Clear" to scratch the surface on the human horrors placed on its members, critics, and adherents.

I would think that she would not want to sully her father's good name by associating with Scientology, which creates a Google footprint that I don't think this organization will want to have. Artists for Human Rights is a subsidiary of Citizens Commission on Human Rights, a hate organization that claims psychiatry was to blame for the Holocaust, and claims that homosexuals are hostile and should be disposed 'quietly and without sorrow'.

I really wish that Ms. Kennedy would do her research before risking the good name of this organization by associating with the front group of a destructive cult. She's making the RFK Center, by proxy, a front group for Scientology's recruitment activities and endorsing an organization with one of the worst human rights abuse reputations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I had the privilege of serving as the Director of the Center for Human Rights for several years. The RFK Center is carrying out the impossible task of carrying on Robert Kennedy's unfinished work. His spirit of walking with those in the midst of struggle drives the human rights work. They do not work on the easy or most popular issues and they understand that change does not happen in a year or two, but requires a resource and time-intensive commitment over several years. The partnerships are genuine- combining the expertise and power of the activists with the RFK Center's access, resources and knowledge. Together, the RFK Center and its partners transform human rights situations, empower communities, and often save lives. Individual communities from Haiti to Chad have benefited from this work and the global human rights movement has been enriched by the RFK Center's example.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am a lawyer and human right advocate from Chad. I win RFK human right award in 2004 and it has chaged my life. the award has raised my profile in Chad and internationnaly. For six years I received RFK technical support that allowed me to establish the first Public Interest Law center in Chad to helppoor people have access to justice. RFK Center has also helped me meet organize advocacy for the best use of oil money and for peace in Chad. Even when my time is I continue to get support from the RFK center and that makes my life and my work a lot easier.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been working in human rights advocacy for more than a decade, and I would rate my collaboration with the staff and laureates at the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights to be one of the most professional and effective work that I have done to advance human rights and protect vulnerable communities across the globe. Beginning in 2007, I worked with the RFK Center on a project to protect and advance the right to education of Afrodescendants and indigenous peoples in the Americas. Aside from its talented and creative staff, the RFK Center's strength is its collaborative work and constant support of its laureates to further local human rights advocates' goals and projects. During the course of our work, we were able to advocate effectively on the ground at the grassroots level, as well as take our findings and recommendations to the highest levels, including the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights and the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights. I would highly recommend this organization in the future toward guaranteeing that voices are heard and action is taken to protect the rights of vulnerable individuals and communities globally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

In 2011, I received the Robert F. Kennedy Award for Human Rights. For a year now, I have been working with the RFK center on advancing LGBT rights in Uganda. Within this period together with the center, I have been able to reach religious groups , members of congress, artists & human rights groups in the United States to support my struggle in Uganda. Most importantly when, RFK center visited Uganda I was able to start a dialogue with Ugandan members of parliament political leaders & key members of civil society, some have come out to support my struggle. This has also opened doors for the LGBT struggle in Uganda and my organization Sexual Minorities Uganda - SMUG in creating a dialogue with Ugandan politicians and getting support from more NGOs in Uganda. This kind of work is greatly helping me and my colleagues in Uganda to fight the anti homosexuality bill that was introduced in the Ugandan parliament this bill would criminalize homosexuality to life in prison and death in some instances if passed into law.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I have been working on human rights for more than 35 years, most recently as Executive Director of Amnesty International USA. At the end of 2011 I was asked to do an in-depth evaluation of the RFK Center's human rights program. What I found was a unique, powerful and highly efffective model of working in genuine partnership with individuals and organizations that are on the front lines of some of the most challenging human rights situations in the world. The RFK Center establishes a long term relationship with these couragenous human rights defenders by listening carefully to their needs and developing a mutally agreed on action plan to help them in winning concrete victories for advancing human rights in their countreis and regions. The RFK Center, based on years of experience and a rich set of contacts and skills is able to offer each of their partners traning opporuniteis, the capacity to bring their demands to the attention of the U.S. government and congress, media attention that offers then both protection and a tool for advancing their objectives, and the mobilization of peoole around the world on their behalf. Through these partnerships the RFK Center has helped to free and protect human rights defenders, bring the violatiors of human rights to justice, establish policies that fufill the rights and improve the lives of thousands of people, and strengthen organizatations and movements that will continue to advance human rights long after the RFK Center has moved on to other partnerships, creating the ripples of hope of which Bobby Kennedy spoke and for which he lived. I have seen first hand the power given to those struggling for their rights in knowing that they are united with a global organization that is using all its resources to help them win their fight for freedom and dignity. I can honestly say that in all my years I have not seen any orgnaization better at working with and contributing to groups on the front lines of the human rights battle. This expereince of working in depth with people who are giving their all for human rights informs every part of the RFK Center including their important efforts to educate the public and inspire young people to follow the example of human rights defenders around the world by becoming involved in their own communities. In this way the RFK Center's work is not only life changing for those who suffer directly from the violations of human rights but all who are in a postion to defend those rights. I can not rate thier work highly enough.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I enthusiastically recommend the RFK Center for the 2012 Top-Rated Nonprofits List. The RFK Center is a well-established organization with a more than 40 year history of supporting the work of individuals who speak out against injustice, often at great personal risk, to make the world more fair, just and peaceful. Whether honoring authors and journalists in the U.S. for documenting and reporting injustice or partnering with human rights advocates from around the world, the RFK Center first brings attention to the issues and then partners with advocates and organizations to help end problems such as discrimination, unfair labor practices and child labor, violence against women, lack of access to health care and many other societal problems. Robert Kennedy believed that together individuals could make a difference in the world and that we all must try. The Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice & Human Rights is an organization dedicated to this vision and has had great success over the years improving the lives of people in all corners of the world.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I am very happy to be writing a review of the Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights. i currently work as a volunteer basis in the NY office as Coordinator of Special Projects. In that role I interact on a daily basis with all aspects of the organization and much of the staff. I am unequivocally impressed by the passion, dedication and professionalism of the members of the RFK Center team. The Center's role is to advance human rights and alleviate suffering by encouraging individual action. They do this in a multitude of ways and involve a large number of projects and events designed to raise money, of course, but also awareness of the human rights violations around the world and the Center's goal of alleviating those abuses. I work on a daily basis with the development team and the administrative staff and various others working in the programming parts of the group. I have seen hard work and teamwork based on specific goals lead to successes in terms of and educating students and adults alike in human rights violations currently underway, and changing the lives of groups of people who need help. I love working at RFK because of that very reason...seeing what individual actions and the power of Robert F. Kennedy's legacy in action.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The RFK Center is a vibrant and active organization that is making real changes in poeple's lives around the world. Their focus on education and action is accurate and effective. I have worked with the RFK Center for the past two years on their Speak Truth to Power curriculum. I wrote the elementary curriculum for Speak Truth to Power and worked with several members of the organization. I am a kindergarten teacher at The Hewitt School and we served as the pilot school for the new curriculum last year. Now I am working with teachers from other schools, and educators from the RFK Center, to spread the word and get human rights education into K-3 schools around the world!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers