Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.722225
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2011

The RRCA does an outstanding job promoting health and fitness through running. They support local running clubs across the nation, sanction races, recognize those who make contributions to the running community, promote safety, and encourage young people to be physically active.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My club has hosted RRCA Championship races. Several of our members have been recognized for their achievements or contributions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any at this time.

February 24, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 24, 2011

The RRCA has been the national organization supporting the grassroots running clubs and events across the country for 50 years now. So many individuals have benefitted physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually from being able to run in races or with others in training groups that these grassroots running clubs promote and direct. My running started on a high school track team and luckily for me the local RRCA running club supported the youth teams and I was able to see that running was not just a high school or even college activity. I have been able to volunteer with that same local club for 25 years now in many ways but none more special than with the young runners. The RRCA has made a strong push towards the kids of late and my hope is that all the grassroots running clubs across the country offer a program for the kids so they can have fun, get some physical activity with some positive adult role models and to get a chance to compete. RRCA don't be afraid to encourage competition for the kids as running is one of the best sports for some one to see their improvement as times are in black and white. Of course, the coaches and parents need to have a positive and supportive coaching philosophy with long term progression as the focus. Thank you RRCA for allowing me to be apart of the organization. Being a State Rep for all these years has been a very positive experience for me as working with all these energetic and knowledable people have inspired me in so many ways.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By attending nearly a dozen National Conventions and seeing how great ideas are shared and how the national organization supports the needs of the grassroots running clubs on a very personal level.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Always have hoped and dreamed a sponsor would come along to help make the RRCA championship events something the elite runners would really want to compete in. I understand there just isn't any funding currently to do more than is being done but I would love that to change!

February 17, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2011

I have been a member of the RRCA for more than 30 years. During that time I have benefitted from the useful and practical resources produced by the RRCA including its Race Management manual, Womens Running Safety Programs, Kids Running programs, and its coaching education programs.

Whenever I have had a question or needed information, help has been only a telephone call or email away--quickly and completely.

I have also been a supporter of the RRCA Roads Scholar program, a program that raises money and issues grants to emerging elite distance runners. These grants fill a real need, and this is just one of the many efforts that the RRCA has pioneered and championed. I always feel good when a former Roads Scholar wins a national championship or otherwise distinquishes himself or herself.

The RRCA through its publications and educational workshops held each year at its annual meeting are among the best sources of information available for local clubs and local club leaders. Not only do we learn alot, we always have fun.

I also appreciate the willingness of the RRCA to share via its website news and information, including things like meeting minutes and reports from its various committees.

Hooray for the RRCA!
Carl Sniffen

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

coaching education, road race management manual, Roads Scholar program, championship race program, attending annual meetings and informative workshops on topics ranging from insurance issues to club management and much more

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to increase funraising capabilities. The RRCA does so much with very little. Additional revenues could help expand existing educational efforts and allow it to pursue more activities related to children's running and obesity and womens running safety.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of anything.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely. I learned many things about coaching, race management and club management. I met many friends with whom I continue to network and visit regularly.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me proud to be a part of this organization, and I have always felt that the RRCA has made me feel like my efforts have made a positive difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2011

The RRCA provides a lot of support for local communities and has a network of representatives in every state to help local races and clubs put on safe, high quality events for their runners. They provide tools for runners to find local clubs, races and even coaches.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in every level of running in my local community from the running specialty to shops to the races.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would make the website easier to search and navigate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers