Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.971435
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been meandered in spiritual circles for quite a while and stumbled upon John and Carla's work in 2008. For a short time, I enthusiastically translated some of John's articles and then cooled off or got distracted by something else... But perhaps this initial looking had a root in myself, and I "rediscovered" them again a few months ago. What I can tell? I think I hadn't had a serious "recovery" phase so far. My life is now as it has always been - ups and downs, accidents and unexpected events, not always pleasant. But, but, but... my relationships with life and people are changing, very incrementally, not dramatically, not overnight, no enlightenment or anything like that. But it is completely different now compared to what it was even a couple of month ago. I don't know how to fully express my deep and genuine gratitude to them both, to what they are doing.
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Just a quick note; I am not a spiritual seeker, per se, but life choices up to now had been less than effective, shall we say. I've had psychotherapy for many years, and in the last six weeks have been seeking a permanent solution through meditation. I couldn't meditate very well due to my heavy thought activity. I chanced on the name John Sherman through a YouTube clip of Eckhart Tolle's, and checked it out. His Just One Look video changed my life. In a matter of minutes, the power of negative thoughts was diminished to the point that I don't get that racing pulse, that churning stomach, that sense of rage in reaction to events big and small that I always had experienced as threatening. Jealousy is reduced to a passing thought. It's a permanent change. My life is different, and much better for me. We need give this experience to as many people as possible. Human angst would be greatly reduced. What's to lose? There's a reason why all the reviews are five stars - it works. Let's get the word out.
July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

John and Carla offer a simple and effective means to end human suffering, for anyone with ears to hear it. Stripped of the mystique and romance that accompanies most prescribed roads to freedom, It's almost too simple, and it may be hard to believe that it actually works. But when you listen to John speak, you know that it has worked for him. I believe "the looking" has also created a shift in my own life. Personal anxiety is so missing in my daily experience that I sometimes feel nostalgic about it, which gives way to compassion. I find RiverGanga Foundation's full disclosure of finances quite unique, and refreshingly innocent for this world. They make it very easy to trust that any money donated to them will be put to good use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have already suggested that they be more bold in their asking for funds, but it's a touchy situation, and sometimes I don't have money to give either, so it's hard to say what works.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 5, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Carla and John are the first who discovered a simple method that can be applied by every human.
If you apply this method you will be free from all psychological misery and you will be able to realise your full potential. This is all anybody could want from life.
And it is free.
I
understand that what I write above is hard to believe. So try yourself. It is simple and cannot do any harm. If you followed so far, you will understand why it comes natural to donate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it grows to reach all people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

After decades of searching the meaning of life, my life and reading dozens of books if not hundreds, attending seminars, watching videos, going for psychotherapy etc. to get some satisfactory kind of answer, stop mental anguish and enjoy the ride, I finally found John and Carla Sherman who are devoting their lives through the River Ganga Foundation to help us all in getting rid of the fear of life by this very simple act of looking. I am now enjoying my life more and more in spite of difficulties that keep arising as before but they certainly don't have the same impact True peace is at hand and I will always be thankful to John and Carla who are truly supportive in our endeavour. Theymore than certainly deserve your support.Sincerely,

Elizabeth

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

John's looking technique quite simply changed my life. The anxiety, depression shame, and anger I carried around like a backpack is gone. What's left is a growing clarity and curiosity about life.....it's become more adventure than burden.

I don't think there is a sum of money that can
cover this rebirth or repay John and Carla. I give what I can with no reservations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Why should you not support John & Carla Shermans work when they are amongst the very few who have understood the root cause and underlying mechanics of our human suffering and self destructive behavior, and they even have developed a medicine, a simple act, called "the inward looking", that will wash our human mind clean from it´s deadly malfunction, so that we humans can take part in life with all our resources and and be constructive.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The RiverGanga Foundation is doing a vital work for the human society. Their vision, support and continuous work has changed and continues to change the lives of all those that take their approach to heart.

I consider that they bring beauty and richness in the world. I believe that their
projects should be made available more and more. I did and will continue to offer them as much support as I can, since they offered me a way to be satisfied with myself and my life. They showed me the way to be myself, to learn, to grow, to not be afraid of the human life, of the human experience. To experience compassion, to help others find their way.

I believe the RiverGanga Foundation has a role in creating a better world, for each one of us and for all of us together.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

River Ganga Foundation is the place that supports knowledge and support around a mental act called, the act of inward looking. It is a very simple act that is performed by moving our attention to the feeling of being a person. That act provides a revolution in mental health, because when we see ourselves in this way we free ourselves from a kind of fear based context that is called, the fear of life.

I know how it is to live with a distance and fear towards my own life. But I also know how it is to live without it. To be free of the fear of life has made all the difference to me. It has totally revolutionized the way I relate to my life. It is amazing how such a simple act can be of such importance. I believe that this act would be of great help to everyone who tried it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Why I SUPPORT the River Ganga Foundation ? Here is a true life story I’d like to share…is a story about a woman and a man - is a story about RELATIONSHIPS ! this is the conversation between myself (who has discovered John Sherman’s work while going through a deep depression in 2007) and my best friend who was in love with a men, whom she felt, was backing back after one year of fun dating ! I have edited the text to highlight the essence of the conversation that took place both, via e-mail and Facebook messages. For privacy reasons, I will not mention her real name !



She : Yesterday, after work, I felt crushed so I stopped in the parc and sat on the bench crying a river to the point that 2 people came to ask me if I needed help ! I smoked all night ! cigarette after cigarette and in the morning I walked out the house in disarray…! Then, I came back and the first thing I did, I went throughout the cupboards and I took his T-shirts, his adidas, his socks and shoes, the toaster he brought to my place… all in one large garbage bag ! Next time I see him, I will ask him to give me back the keys from my apartment and I tell him to take back his stuff. I hope I will be strong enough to do it and end it! No more sex, no more messages… nothing ! For how long I will be able to say no ? I don’t know ! I hope I’m strong! I keep you posted ! XXXXXXXX

Me : Dearest… I hear your pain and I don’t know how more to help you ! But I repeat once again ! Listen to what I say ! Direct your attention towards the feeling of BEING YOU !…. Let me know !

She : Today I isolated myself totally ! I do not want to see anybody ! You are my only connection… Since you left Montreal it turns out that you are my virtual notebook… I write to you because I feel compelled to express myself and I know that you understand me. I know you read me… and I do not expect you to write me back ! I hope you enjoy time on the island ! Kiss xxxxxxxxx

She : Last night I tried to do what you told me again and again during the entire year ! And for the first time I understood you ! Through rivers of tears and cigarettes, last night I looked at myself ! It lasted a second… but in that second, a veil lifted somehow. I woke-up this morning and for the first time I saw the plant in my bedroom. I looked at it in awe, for maybe 20 minutes then, I went to water it… because, like me, it was dyeing… ! Afterwards I had a craving for an omelette, and I went to the kitchen. And then ???? AFTER I ate, I realised that I did not think of him all morning !!!!!?!?!?! ! I did not wake up with the obsession !!!!!!! My first thoughts walking up in the morning were not longer on him ! :))))) I think is sign of healing ….

….

Me : :))) I know what you are referring to ! the fraction of the second is the MOST IMPORTANT thing that ever happened to you ! All will change form now on ! DO not expect miracles… Bu you will see things clear !

She : No ! I realise that is a perception thing ! And in that second, my perception has turned towards me !...

She : If I learned something this year ?!?!?! A lot ! About myself, about life and relationships, about humans !. Now, looking back, I see where I have made a mistake in my relationship with him ! It was me who took the horns is this relationship ! I wanted to control everything - to plan the trips, the dates, to choose where we go, what we do… EVERYTHING !!!!! Now i lay back ! I do not care. And I fell, that with small steps, he is coming back towards me!

In the past I would say : ‘I bought duty-free drinks… come and pick me up from the train-station and we drink it together !’

Today, when he called, I told him that I arrived at the train station with 2 bottles of whiskey and I take the taxi back home. And I will make a gin for myself… And he said : mhhhh!

I did not look to get him come to me.. I did not look to control… and I did not need his approval ! I need to go through hell and reborn like the Phoenix bird, from my own ashes.!!! Don’t understand me wrong ! I stopped playing games with him! Simply, in that second, I succeed to focus my energy towards myself and take it away from projecting it towards him ! And the situation changed in an INCREDIBLE way ! And the moment I stopped trying to understand the situation and to analyse things, the entire situation changed by itself !

And besides the fact that I remember reading it, you told me this so many times ! And you were so right !

Anyway ! I let you go ! Life is full of mystery and at the same time… so simple !!!! Love you a lot and infinite thanks from my heart !

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it nr. 1 charity for a worldwide reach !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

transcribe a recording of a meeting to be posted on our blog, put up posters for upcoming events, download, print and distribute business cards and flyers about the looking, etc... Volunteer