Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

River Network links river and watershed groups from across the country into a movement. It provides individual groups with the tools they need to be stronger and more effective. The annual River Rally they've hosted for 20 years allows river folks to get together - to learn and to share.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I became more deeply involved with River Network (as a board member and donor) because of the life-saving support it gave to the watershed group I previously led. Our watershed organization was teetering on the brink of solvency, getting tangled up in our own organizational issues at the expense of the rivers we needed to serve. With scholarship support from River Network we were able to send our one staff person to River Rally, and she returned with the basic tools we needed to get ourselves organized and bringing in small but important support. We returned each year (and that organization still returns each year) to learn the latest, network with the leaders in water protection and restoration, and strategize about work ahead. That organization is now 15 years old, well-staffed, and is a solid, respected, and needed part of its region. Without River Network's help I'm certain it would have disappeared or remained a kitchen table organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them the financial security to think bigger, do more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

River Network has served my organization for several years and I have worked directly with them for the past 2 years. They continue to provide me with networking resources, professional development tools, program ideas, and industry news and data that is invaluable to growing my programs and organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

River Network is like the glue or duck tape that helps a local, state or regional group put it together to achieve their mission. The glue they provide is diverse. It includes but is not limited to webinars, documents, list serve, research, access to experts and networks of information and training that cover organizational development, fund raising, board development, management and recruitment, budgeting and accounting, volunteer management, leadership and technical assistance in Clean Water Act implementation, interpretation, water quality and biological monitoring, restoration planning, implementation and monitoring, green infrastructure, storm water, energy extraction, connection between energy and water and so much more! If you are a local group, regardless of composition (grass roots, agency, academia, etc.) you are LOOSING money and resources if you are not connected to River Network. They only add value to what you do and help you do it bigger, better, more efficient and more often!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educate funders of all types to understand that protecting and preserving our nations waters requires supporting small, local organizations and larger national organizations together. Support means having funding for leaders, lights and computers as well as on the ground work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

River Network's River Rally has been a part of training for watershed coordinators in my state. Many watershed groups operate with very small budgets. The scholarship program to cover expences for the training conference registration allows so many more folks the unique opportunity of networking with
collegues frm around the country and to learn from exerts in their fields. The webinars throughout the year are very beneficial to continue that dialoge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like for them to have even more funding for grants to local watershed groups than they have today.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

River Network lives up to its name. Those of us who work with rivers and watersheds are usually working within a local sphere. It is so helpful to have an organization that taps into the expertise throughout the country on issues that affect each of us. Whether it's insurance, organizational policy, strategies, or inspiration, River Network has been a source of great information and guidance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I help run a small nonprofit watershed organization. Because this business is geographically-based, and many cities only have one or two organizations like ours, finding help to advance our organization is a challenge. One of the main goals of River Network is to facilitate dialogue between groups, and their annual meetings and online webinars allow me to find many other groups that are (or have been) in our exact stage of development. This engagement helps us maximize the benefits of our efforts by minimizing the frequency and depth to which we re-invent the wheel for our particular geographic region. While the networking end is the most valuable aspect to us, River Network also provides frequent and free educational opportunities. Our success would be significantly hampered without River Network.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

My watershed group has been served by River Network since 1995. They are our most valuable national partner. They've trained us so that we've learned from the best practices in nonprofit management and advocacy work from across the US. They've linked us with affordable resources that take us to new levels, such as our Watergrass database made especially for river groups. They've helped us connect with mentors and peers and ally with groups from all over the country working on our same issues to multiply our access to innovation and our joint influence. They inspire and energize us every year at River Rally, the most fun and useful conference ever! They uplift us through burnout, guide us through complex technical issues, make sure we have time to play, help us raise more money for our mission, and love us. Their staff is consistently the hardest working, most service-oriented, hilarious, and talented bunch I know. Their Board members are deeply committed to this work and bring wide resources to the organization. While my link to RN for 18 years has been as my organization's Exec. Director, I am excited and humbled that RN has brought me onto their Board recently. Long live River Network! Rally Ho!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them continue to widen their supporting membership and financial base, so that the organization can sustain and grow to serve even more of their member's needs most effectively.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

River Network has reached out to communities and proactively provided connections to create and expand an important program in our state. This program is now in its third year and has spawned other ac... more

September 6, 2013

Connecting people and resources with causes is about the best role a nonprofit can fill and that is the case with River Network. Their input and support has transformed a small effort and larger dream into a reality by finding funding and people to accomplish a clean-up, gain visibility, and expand a restoration objective. Thank you, RN.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have an east coast branch and be able to provide more support

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

River Network has reached out to communities and proactively provided connections to create and expand an important program in our state. This program is now in its third year and has spawned other activities and support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I was greatly impressed by the River Network's very personal approach to my questions, interests, and experience working to improve my local watershed. Their willingness to being available, to listen, offer points to consider, and help me further my work was inspiring, to say the least!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...I can't think of anything to say here...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers