Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2013

I am a math/science tutor, and have tutored students at RITES for about a year. I have really enjoyed working with the co-directors, and have been very impressed by the resources RITES has available, ... more

September 20, 2014

I have been a math/science/study skills tutor at RITES for nearly 2 years, and have enjoyed immensely working with the dedicated RITES staff. I have been very impressed with their commitment to provide each and every student with the resources and help that they require. They have provided me with valuable advice and resources on many occasions when I've had to deal with challenging situations.
October 26, 2013

I am a math/science tutor, and have tutored students at RITES for about a year. I have really enjoyed working with the co-directors, and have been very impressed by the resources RITES has available, including textbooks and learning materials, as well as training for tutors. Lisa Bigney has really helped me personally by providing sessions in teaching organizational and study skills so that I can better serve my students. RITES is sincerely committed to the success of every student!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

would not change anything!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

All families I have referred have been impressed with the valuable expertise and responsiveness of the RITES staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I have been a RITES tutor for several years, and I continue to be impressed with the professionalism of its staff and the quality of services that RITES provides. The tutors are dedicated, highly skilled educators who have a genuine interest in their students. The professional development for tutors and the informational workshops for parents are always high quality. RITES continues to be an invaluable resource for students and their families throughout the area.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

The services that RITES provides to young individuals in the greater Providence area is wonderful. They have many qualified professionals on their staff that make a difference in the academic lives of youngsters. In addition, the educators help students learn to believe in themselves, find strategies to overcome obstacles in learning and move forward int their academics.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

RITES goes above and beyond expectations with all children, all of the time. I have referred students to their programs always with amazing results. they truly understand dyslexia and other language... more

August 14, 2014

There is no other program like RITES in Rhode Island. They are an authentic group of professionals who genuinely love what they do. The tutoring services are top notch; care is taken in both pre and post assessments; individual goals are developed along with a plan to meet them; and students learn using multi-sensory resources, including lots of games. The summer program takes all of these strengths and puts them together in a fun program filled with lots of learning and confidence-building.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012

RITES goes above and beyond expectations with all children, all of the time. I have referred students to their programs always with amazing results. they truly understand dyslexia and other language-based learning challenges set within the child development context. Their staff is a top notch group who never seems to forget that the child is at the center of everything. 5 Stars is not a high enough rating for this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

RITES offers the individualization that many students need to succeed. Each lesson is designed so the learner meets with success and makes steady progress over the course of the year. There is no set program or one size fits all!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 10, 2013

I have been a tutor for Rhode Island Tutorial & Educational Services for the past few years. I am a special education teacher specializing in learning disabilities and Orton- Gillingham multisensory r... more

August 12, 2014

I am a special education teacher and Orton- Gillingham tutor. I have worked with Rhode Island Tutorial & Educational Services for several years. The students I have worked with have shown consistent academic growth. This is due to the caring and professional atmosphere of the learning center. High quality materials and support for the tutoring staff is the key to this great organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

I have been a tutor for Rhode Island Tutorial & Educational Services for the past few years. I am a special education teacher specializing in learning disabilities and Orton- Gillingham multisensory reading approach. I continue to be impressed by the high quality tutoring that is offered by RITES.
The co-directors have expertise and hands on experience in the field. They are professional and offer support to their tutors. Students and tutors are matched by needs and expertise. This is a rewarding teaching experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

Working with the staff and students at Rhode Island Tutorial has been a rewarding professional experience. The student's strenghts and weaknesses are carefully determined. Educational needs are addressed with thoughtful planning and sound educational programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 9, 2013

I am a certified elementary school teacher and Reading Specialist who works part time for RITEs. It has been a wonderful and rewarding experience. The directors are supportive, intuitive, and professi... more

August 9, 2014

Rhode Island Tutorial and Educational Services (RITES) is a fabulous place to work and aids students aged elementary through adult. The directors, Lisa Bigney and Halley Lavenstein, show immense effort, concern, and professional assistance in providing many families with the information and placements needed to help their students be successful. From first hand experience as a RITES employee, I can say confidently that the personnel are highly educated, experienced, and motivated to see students identify their best learning strategies, strengths, and challenges with the outcome being individual successes for all involved in the life long learning process. It is with highest regard that I write this review for RITES as the caring, supportive, and committed organization seeking positive achievement and growth for all students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2013

I am a certified elementary school teacher and Reading Specialist who works part time for RITEs. It has been a wonderful and rewarding experience. The directors are supportive, intuitive, and professional. I enjoy our exchanges which our validating and encouraging. It is truly my pleasure to be working with dedicated colleagues who help to influence and improve the lives of so many students. RITEs is a rewarding experience for students, their parents, and tutors alike.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

I am an academic tutor for RITES as of July 2012. I began my work as a teacher in the Hamilton Summer Program and have continued as an independent tutor. I have been greatly impressed with the high level of professionalism and genuine concern for clients. In addition, employees are offered professional workshop opportunities to enhance their work with clients. As a result, students are ensured their educational tutor is up to date on the latest research and resources available for an optimal learning experience. The atmosphere at RITES is welcoming and accepting of all. It is an enjoyable place in which to work and to further develop one's profession. Students receive quality one on one support and develop essential lifelong skills as readers, writers, and problem solvers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 20, 2013

I am a Reading Specialist and have been tutoring RITES students for seven years. It has been my pleasure to work with students of all ages. I have also worked as a teacher in the Hamilton summer prog... more

August 3, 2014

I am a Reading Specialist and have been a tutor for RITES for many years. I was very excited to begin working at the Learning Center after meeting co-directors, Lisa Bigney and Halley Lavenstein. Both women are extremely professional and knowledgeable. My colleagues there are extremely well-trained. I enjoy working one-on-one, providing Reading support to children. I am also a member of the RITES Summer School program. Each year is a pleasure!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2013

I am a Reading Specialist and have been tutoring RITES students for seven years. It has been my pleasure to work with students of all ages. I have also worked as a teacher in the Hamilton summer program, which is something that I have thoroughly enjoyed. Lisa Bigney and Halley Lavenstein, co-directors of the organization, are extremely professional. They are always willing to work with their teachers to create a program that is desgned specifically to meet the needs of the student. Professional Development is constantly offered to teachers. Informative workshops are often available to parents. Parent feedback is always positive, saying they are pleased to have found RITES and their child has benefitted from the experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have none to offer, as RITES is an exemplary organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

As a professional in the field, I continue to be impressed with the caliber and commitment of the RITES staff. From the moment I started working for the RITES program as a tutor, Halley and Lisa have ... more

August 3, 2014

RITES is a professional, caring organization devoted to helping students succeed. As a tutor, I have really appreciated working with Halley and Lisa to fine- tune programs for individual students. I have also appreciated the continuing professional training and materials that RITES provides.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012

As a professional in the field, I continue to be impressed with the caliber and commitment of the RITES staff. From the moment I started working for the RITES program as a tutor, Halley and Lisa have made themselves available to brainstorm with tutors and construct plans to best fit the students' needs. Opportunities are made available to us to update our skills and knowledge so that we are abreast of advances in the field. Everytime, I leave a group meeting at RITES, I am reminded of how fortunate I am to be working with such skilled and caring people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers