Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

My boys would not be where they are today if it were not for RITES. They are confident, well adjusted, honor roll high schoolers, who have overcome the difficulties of Dyslexia, and are now looking forward to college! RITES has helped them not only improve academically, but also grow and mature into responsible young adults.
When I was first introduced to RITES, my children were both 2 years below grade level in reading and writing (after many years with IEP's and Special Ed support in our school system). I had been referred to many "tutors" who were classroom teachers by day and tutors by weekend and summer. I was not interested in this approach, since the classroom teachers had not been able to help my boys using their curriculums and I was afraid that they would take the same curriculum and feed it back to my boys. I wanted something different and specialized - and affordable. The staff at RITES worked with me to find a tutor who specialized in the areas that each of my son's needed. The tutors were willing to work with the classroom teachers for the purpose of helping my boys succeed in the classroom. Today, my boys no longer need support of a tutor on a weekly basis. Their non LD friends will actually call my boys on Sunday nights about homework assignments. It's amazing!
The tutors at RITES were also a support system for me as a parent. I was always included in the plans for their curriculums. The literature in the office and the available parent workshops were very helpful to me so that I could give support from home and also become more educated and less frustrated and fearful about their LD. Workshops and camps are also available for the students. I will be enrolling my boys in some of them in the near future in preparation for college, like note taking and SAT prep workshops.
I have recently enrolled my youngest child (11 YO) at RITES. He does not have a documented LD, but struggles with general organization and study skills. He doesn’t know how to "study" for tests, doesn't bring notes or books home and has a hard time planning for projects. I found that my boys with LD learned study skills through the Special Ed curriculum, but as a non LD student, study skills was not able to be stressed enough in the general classroom - due to the size and vast amount of material that teachers need to cover in a day. So I am back at RITES so that he too can reach his highest potential.
I recommend RITES to any parent who is looking for a way to help their children become better students - LD or not.
Thank You RITES!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes to the organization itself, but possibly more physical space so that more children could be helped by this dedicated group of tutors and teachers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

I cannot commend RITES highly enough! My daughter has challenges with executive functioning, organizational skills, and math skills. We signed her up for the two week summer session focusing on those issues at the Hamilton School, much to her chagrin. To my delight, and to my daughter's surprise, she greatly enjoyed the camp, engaged in exciting activities, improved her writing and math skills, and stated that it wasn't at all "like school, which would have been horrible. Learning was actually fun!" In fact, she stated later that she preferred the RITES camp over her traditional day camp where she could swim every day, which is one of her favorite activities! She was sent home with a binder full of educational tools designed to correspond with her personal learning style. She utilizes this binder currently at school, and her teachers greatly appreciated the resources as well. Her self-esteem increased tremendously, as she now sees herself as having a different learning style, rather than the label of having a learning "disability." THANK YOU RITES!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding so they could have a broader reach.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Last year our son struggled in the 5th grade. We looked to get him some extra help and we found RITES. We were so nervous about financially committing to any outside help but we knew we needed something for our son. The staff at RITES were so welcoming and helpful from our first inquiry. The tutor took time to listen to our son, think about his needs, and very thoughtfully implemented support. We continued with their summer program: Reading Comprehension and Study Skills. The knowledge and level of expertise of their staff is incomparable! Our son learned new ways of learning and reading concepts that are helping him into the 6th grade. What I appreciate most of all about the RITES program is that the teachers collectively provided an atmosphere of encouragement and our son has gained some confidence with them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

RITES has so many qualities that make it great, from the effort they make to find the right tutor for your child to the abundant literature and information for the student and their parents that they provide in their waiting room. But most importantly for us was the ongoing tutorial service that we have received from a very hard working, caring, and dedicated teacher who works with our son. She is constantly looking for new and innovative ways to help him improve. It is clear that she is committed to helping him reach his potential. She has become like family because she wants to see him succeeds as if she had a vested interest. We appreciate all that she does to help us in our efforts to support our son in reaching his goals. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

We are so grateful to the dedicated staff at RITES. When we learned of my daughters dyslexia diagnosis the Dr referred us to RITES for immediate intervention. We've seen such a big improvement in my daughters reading ability but also her willingness to try hard words that in the past she would have given up on. Thank you to Lisa and everyone at RITES!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it free for everyone:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

It was suggested that we investigate RITES when my daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia. The director was very helpful in finding us a tutor who was a good fit with our daughter's personality and with our particular circumstances. We have continued this service for years now. Our tutor has been extremely flexible and supportive of the educational goals with have for our child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My Son Kyle has made great progress through his hard work and the hard work of his tutor. Allyson and Lisa I can't thank you enough for the wonderful and necessary service you offer. You are transforming lives, one child at a time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My son has dyslexia and attended the RITES summer program and has been receiving instruction from a RITES tutor for nearly 2 years. He has made remarkable progress and were it not for RITES and the support he has received, he would not be the confident learner that he is today. His tutor is Orton-Gillingham trained and modifies the curriculum to suit his academic needs. Halley and Lisa are always available to answer any questions or concerns I may have as a parent. They offer suggestions and lend a listening ear when the weight of having a child with a learning disability gets to be overwhelming. RITES provides free parent educational seminars/workshops which is a tremendous resource when one is trying to navigate the world of evaluations,IEP's, 504's,etc. I cannot say enough about the level of knowledge and professionalism that is at the heart of RITES program.- Mary Beth Berube, North Attleboro, MA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

RITES is an amazing service with well qualified tutors. My child got so much out of her sessions and the tutors were not only great teachers but they really cared about my child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Staff was supportive of parents and gave our son a great foundation of OG skills while restoring his confidence as a child newly diagnosed with a learning difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers