Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 10, 2013

I have been a tutor for Rhode Island Tutorial & Educational Services for the past few years. I am a special education teacher specializing in learning disabilities and Orton- Gillingham multisensory r... more

August 12, 2014

I am a special education teacher and Orton- Gillingham tutor. I have worked with Rhode Island Tutorial & Educational Services for several years. The students I have worked with have shown consistent academic growth. This is due to the caring and professional atmosphere of the learning center. High quality materials and support for the tutoring staff is the key to this great organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

I have been a tutor for Rhode Island Tutorial & Educational Services for the past few years. I am a special education teacher specializing in learning disabilities and Orton- Gillingham multisensory reading approach. I continue to be impressed by the high quality tutoring that is offered by RITES.
The co-directors have expertise and hands on experience in the field. They are professional and offer support to their tutors. Students and tutors are matched by needs and expertise. This is a rewarding teaching experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

Working with the staff and students at Rhode Island Tutorial has been a rewarding professional experience. The student's strenghts and weaknesses are carefully determined. Educational needs are addressed with thoughtful planning and sound educational programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 9, 2013

I am a certified elementary school teacher and Reading Specialist who works part time for RITEs. It has been a wonderful and rewarding experience. The directors are supportive, intuitive, and professi... more

August 9, 2014

Rhode Island Tutorial and Educational Services (RITES) is a fabulous place to work and aids students aged elementary through adult. The directors, Lisa Bigney and Halley Lavenstein, show immense effort, concern, and professional assistance in providing many families with the information and placements needed to help their students be successful. From first hand experience as a RITES employee, I can say confidently that the personnel are highly educated, experienced, and motivated to see students identify their best learning strategies, strengths, and challenges with the outcome being individual successes for all involved in the life long learning process. It is with highest regard that I write this review for RITES as the caring, supportive, and committed organization seeking positive achievement and growth for all students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2013

I am a certified elementary school teacher and Reading Specialist who works part time for RITEs. It has been a wonderful and rewarding experience. The directors are supportive, intuitive, and professional. I enjoy our exchanges which our validating and encouraging. It is truly my pleasure to be working with dedicated colleagues who help to influence and improve the lives of so many students. RITEs is a rewarding experience for students, their parents, and tutors alike.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

I am an academic tutor for RITES as of July 2012. I began my work as a teacher in the Hamilton Summer Program and have continued as an independent tutor. I have been greatly impressed with the high level of professionalism and genuine concern for clients. In addition, employees are offered professional workshop opportunities to enhance their work with clients. As a result, students are ensured their educational tutor is up to date on the latest research and resources available for an optimal learning experience. The atmosphere at RITES is welcoming and accepting of all. It is an enjoyable place in which to work and to further develop one's profession. Students receive quality one on one support and develop essential lifelong skills as readers, writers, and problem solvers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 20, 2013

I am a Reading Specialist and have been tutoring RITES students for seven years. It has been my pleasure to work with students of all ages. I have also worked as a teacher in the Hamilton summer prog... more

August 3, 2014

I am a Reading Specialist and have been a tutor for RITES for many years. I was very excited to begin working at the Learning Center after meeting co-directors, Lisa Bigney and Halley Lavenstein. Both women are extremely professional and knowledgeable. My colleagues there are extremely well-trained. I enjoy working one-on-one, providing Reading support to children. I am also a member of the RITES Summer School program. Each year is a pleasure!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2013

I am a Reading Specialist and have been tutoring RITES students for seven years. It has been my pleasure to work with students of all ages. I have also worked as a teacher in the Hamilton summer program, which is something that I have thoroughly enjoyed. Lisa Bigney and Halley Lavenstein, co-directors of the organization, are extremely professional. They are always willing to work with their teachers to create a program that is desgned specifically to meet the needs of the student. Professional Development is constantly offered to teachers. Informative workshops are often available to parents. Parent feedback is always positive, saying they are pleased to have found RITES and their child has benefitted from the experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have none to offer, as RITES is an exemplary organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

As a professional in the field, I continue to be impressed with the caliber and commitment of the RITES staff. From the moment I started working for the RITES program as a tutor, Halley and Lisa have ... more

August 3, 2014

RITES is a professional, caring organization devoted to helping students succeed. As a tutor, I have really appreciated working with Halley and Lisa to fine- tune programs for individual students. I have also appreciated the continuing professional training and materials that RITES provides.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012

As a professional in the field, I continue to be impressed with the caliber and commitment of the RITES staff. From the moment I started working for the RITES program as a tutor, Halley and Lisa have made themselves available to brainstorm with tutors and construct plans to best fit the students' needs. Opportunities are made available to us to update our skills and knowledge so that we are abreast of advances in the field. Everytime, I leave a group meeting at RITES, I am reminded of how fortunate I am to be working with such skilled and caring people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 3, 2013

I have been a tutor at RITES for the past several years. This organization is headed by two conscientious and dedicated woman. They strive to provide quality educational services to all students. They... more

July 31, 2014

I am a tutor at RITES. I continue to be impressed by the dedication, professionalism, and competency of all members of this organization. I am very pleased to be a part of this growing educational asset. PB

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2013

I have been a tutor at RITES for the past several years. This organization is headed by two conscientious and dedicated woman. They strive to provide quality educational services to all students. They are constantly seeking out ways to reach and accommodate students and to meet those children's varying needs. Particular effort is given to "match" the appropriate tutor with each child. I am pleased to be a part of their student focused, educational support and service team.
PB

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

Incredibly hard-working, caring, and innovative in helping ALL students become lifelong learners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay them more! The staff and teachers should be millionaires for the work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

My son was diagnosed with dyslexia and RITES has changed our lives. He started his one on one tutor sessions with a Qualified, Certified tutor that specialized in the Orton-Gillingham approach. The results were overwhelming, he became more confidence and developed a love for reading. Thank you RITES.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

We are so grateful to the dedicated staff at RITES. When we learned of my daughters dyslexia diagnosis the Dr referred us to RITES for immediate intervention. We've seen such a big improvement in my d... more

July 29, 2014

RI Tutorial has changed our lives! 15 months go when my daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia, we were overwhelmed and didn't know where to start. Our doctor referred us to RI Tutorial - thank god - and our daughter has been transformed. She is excited to read, to attempt words she doesn't know, and is so much less frustrated at school. I'm so grateful to Lisa and her team for improving our lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT ONE THING

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2013

We are so grateful to the dedicated staff at RITES. When we learned of my daughters dyslexia diagnosis the Dr referred us to RITES for immediate intervention. We've seen such a big improvement in my daughters reading ability but also her willingness to try hard words that in the past she would have given up on. Thank you to Lisa and everyone at RITES!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it free for everyone:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

I am a tutor at RITES. I love the professionalism and workshops RITES provides. We strive to be the best tutors available. The care for the students success is of the utmost importance. We explain... more

July 28, 2014

RITES helps a lot of students succeed in school. The one on one tutoring is the most effective way to reach students. ACT/SAT prep is beneficial to students, whose scores can increase with the one on one tutoring.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

I am a tutor at RITES. I love the professionalism and workshops RITES provides. We strive to be the best tutors available. The care for the students success is of the utmost importance. We explain concepts to the students in many different ways, to help all types of learners. I enjoy the time I spend in the center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be nice to have more funds available, so that we can meet the needs of students who cannot otherwise afford our services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

My boys would not be where they are today if it were not for RITES. They are confident, well adjusted, honor roll high schoolers, who have overcome the difficulties of Dyslexia, and are now looking forward to college! RITES has helped them not only improve academically, but also grow and mature into responsible young adults.
When I was first introduced to RITES, my children were both 2 years below grade level in reading and writing (after many years with IEP's and Special Ed support in our school system). I had been referred to many "tutors" who were classroom teachers by day and tutors by weekend and summer. I was not interested in this approach, since the classroom teachers had not been able to help my boys using their curriculums and I was afraid that they would take the same curriculum and feed it back to my boys. I wanted something different and specialized - and affordable. The staff at RITES worked with me to find a tutor who specialized in the areas that each of my son's needed. The tutors were willing to work with the classroom teachers for the purpose of helping my boys succeed in the classroom. Today, my boys no longer need support of a tutor on a weekly basis. Their non LD friends will actually call my boys on Sunday nights about homework assignments. It's amazing!
The tutors at RITES were also a support system for me as a parent. I was always included in the plans for their curriculums. The literature in the office and the available parent workshops were very helpful to me so that I could give support from home and also become more educated and less frustrated and fearful about their LD. Workshops and camps are also available for the students. I will be enrolling my boys in some of them in the near future in preparation for college, like note taking and SAT prep workshops.
I have recently enrolled my youngest child (11 YO) at RITES. He does not have a documented LD, but struggles with general organization and study skills. He doesn’t know how to "study" for tests, doesn't bring notes or books home and has a hard time planning for projects. I found that my boys with LD learned study skills through the Special Ed curriculum, but as a non LD student, study skills was not able to be stressed enough in the general classroom - due to the size and vast amount of material that teachers need to cover in a day. So I am back at RITES so that he too can reach his highest potential.
I recommend RITES to any parent who is looking for a way to help their children become better students - LD or not.
Thank You RITES!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes to the organization itself, but possibly more physical space so that more children could be helped by this dedicated group of tutors and teachers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers