Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

My boys would not be where they are today if it were not for RITES. They are confident, well adjusted, honor roll high schoolers, who have overcome the difficulties of Dyslexia, and are now looking forward to college! RITES has helped them not only improve academically, but also grow and mature into responsible young adults.
When I was first introduced to RITES, my children were both 2 years below grade level in reading and writing (after many years with IEP's and Special Ed support in our school system). I had been referred to many "tutors" who were classroom teachers by day and tutors by weekend and summer. I was not interested in this approach, since the classroom teachers had not been able to help my boys using their curriculums and I was afraid that they would take the same curriculum and feed it back to my boys. I wanted something different and specialized - and affordable. The staff at RITES worked with me to find a tutor who specialized in the areas that each of my son's needed. The tutors were willing to work with the classroom teachers for the purpose of helping my boys succeed in the classroom. Today, my boys no longer need support of a tutor on a weekly basis. Their non LD friends will actually call my boys on Sunday nights about homework assignments. It's amazing!
The tutors at RITES were also a support system for me as a parent. I was always included in the plans for their curriculums. The literature in the office and the available parent workshops were very helpful to me so that I could give support from home and also become more educated and less frustrated and fearful about their LD. Workshops and camps are also available for the students. I will be enrolling my boys in some of them in the near future in preparation for college, like note taking and SAT prep workshops.
I have recently enrolled my youngest child (11 YO) at RITES. He does not have a documented LD, but struggles with general organization and study skills. He doesn’t know how to "study" for tests, doesn't bring notes or books home and has a hard time planning for projects. I found that my boys with LD learned study skills through the Special Ed curriculum, but as a non LD student, study skills was not able to be stressed enough in the general classroom - due to the size and vast amount of material that teachers need to cover in a day. So I am back at RITES so that he too can reach his highest potential.
I recommend RITES to any parent who is looking for a way to help their children become better students - LD or not.
Thank You RITES!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes to the organization itself, but possibly more physical space so that more children could be helped by this dedicated group of tutors and teachers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

I cannot commend RITES highly enough! My daughter has challenges with executive functioning, organizational skills, and math skills. We signed her up for the two week summer session focusing on those issues at the Hamilton School, much to her chagrin. To my delight, and to my daughter's surprise, she greatly enjoyed the camp, engaged in exciting activities, improved her writing and math skills, and stated that it wasn't at all "like school, which would have been horrible. Learning was actually fun!" In fact, she stated later that she preferred the RITES camp over her traditional day camp where she could swim every day, which is one of her favorite activities! She was sent home with a binder full of educational tools designed to correspond with her personal learning style. She utilizes this binder currently at school, and her teachers greatly appreciated the resources as well. Her self-esteem increased tremendously, as she now sees herself as having a different learning style, rather than the label of having a learning "disability." THANK YOU RITES!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding so they could have a broader reach.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

At RITES I have discovered and appreciated dedicated, competent, truly caring colleagues, as well as masterful mentors, Halley and Lisa, our co-directors. Here I utilize multisensory programs that address the academic needs of individual students with a range of learning styles and skill sets. I also have opportunities to expand my own skill set through workshops and discussions with colleagues. I feel very fortunate to be part of this growing and thriving community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Last year our son struggled in the 5th grade. We looked to get him some extra help and we found RITES. We were so nervous about financially committing to any outside help but we knew we needed something for our son. The staff at RITES were so welcoming and helpful from our first inquiry. The tutor took time to listen to our son, think about his needs, and very thoughtfully implemented support. We continued with their summer program: Reading Comprehension and Study Skills. The knowledge and level of expertise of their staff is incomparable! Our son learned new ways of learning and reading concepts that are helping him into the 6th grade. What I appreciate most of all about the RITES program is that the teachers collectively provided an atmosphere of encouragement and our son has gained some confidence with them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I am a math/science tutor, and have tutored students at RITES for about a year. I have really enjoyed working with the co-directors, and have been very impressed by the resources RITES has available, including textbooks and learning materials, as well as training for tutors. Lisa Bigney has really helped me personally by providing sessions in teaching organizational and study skills so that I can better serve my students. RITES is sincerely committed to the success of every student!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

would not change anything!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I am a reading specialist and have worked with RITES tutors and students for 8 years. The organization is professional and thorough. The tutors are not only experts in their field, but they are caring and engaging people. RITES knows how important it is to match tutors with students and is meticulous about getting to know a student and his or her needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I am a Reading Specialist and have been tutoring RITES students for seven years. It has been my pleasure to work with students of all ages. I have also worked as a teacher in the Hamilton summer program, which is something that I have thoroughly enjoyed. Lisa Bigney and Halley Lavenstein, co-directors of the organization, are extremely professional. They are always willing to work with their teachers to create a program that is desgned specifically to meet the needs of the student. Professional Development is constantly offered to teachers. Informative workshops are often available to parents. Parent feedback is always positive, saying they are pleased to have found RITES and their child has benefitted from the experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have none to offer, as RITES is an exemplary organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

RITES has so many qualities that make it great, from the effort they make to find the right tutor for your child to the abundant literature and information for the student and their parents that they provide in their waiting room. But most importantly for us was the ongoing tutorial service that we have received from a very hard working, caring, and dedicated teacher who works with our son. She is constantly looking for new and innovative ways to help him improve. It is clear that she is committed to helping him reach his potential. She has become like family because she wants to see him succeeds as if she had a vested interest. We appreciate all that she does to help us in our efforts to support our son in reaching his goals. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

I teach reading, writing, spelling (OG). I've been teaching for almost ten years and am impressed with the rapport tutors establish with their students. The co-partners are devoted to their work, and ... more

October 13, 2013

I am a certified Orton-Gillingham tutor. I've been working with RITES for almost three years now. Everything about this organization is professional, and I've seen it help so many students. I would highly recommend using their services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

I teach reading, writing, spelling (OG). I've been teaching for almost ten years and am impressed with the rapport tutors establish with their students. The co-partners are devoted to their work, and their enthusiasm radiates outward, affecting teachers and students around them. I give this organization an A+. Kathleen Cooper

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

Working with the staff and students at Rhode Island Tutorial has been a rewarding professional experience. The student's strenghts and weaknesses are carefully determined. Educational needs are addre... more

October 10, 2013

I have been a tutor for Rhode Island Tutorial & Educational Services for the past few years. I am a special education teacher specializing in learning disabilities and Orton- Gillingham multisensory reading approach. I continue to be impressed by the high quality tutoring that is offered by RITES.
The co-directors have expertise and hands on experience in the field. They are professional and offer support to their tutors. Students and tutors are matched by needs and expertise. This is a rewarding teaching experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

Working with the staff and students at Rhode Island Tutorial has been a rewarding professional experience. The student's strenghts and weaknesses are carefully determined. Educational needs are addressed with thoughtful planning and sound educational programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers