Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

Incredibly hard-working, caring, and innovative in helping ALL students become lifelong learners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay them more! The staff and teachers should be millionaires for the work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

My son was diagnosed with dyslexia and RITES has changed our lives. He started his one on one tutor sessions with a Qualified, Certified tutor that specialized in the Orton-Gillingham approach. The results were overwhelming, he became more confidence and developed a love for reading. Thank you RITES.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

We are so grateful to the dedicated staff at RITES. When we learned of my daughters dyslexia diagnosis the Dr referred us to RITES for immediate intervention. We've seen such a big improvement in my d... more

July 29, 2014

RI Tutorial has changed our lives! 15 months go when my daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia, we were overwhelmed and didn't know where to start. Our doctor referred us to RI Tutorial - thank god - and our daughter has been transformed. She is excited to read, to attempt words she doesn't know, and is so much less frustrated at school. I'm so grateful to Lisa and her team for improving our lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT ONE THING

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2013

We are so grateful to the dedicated staff at RITES. When we learned of my daughters dyslexia diagnosis the Dr referred us to RITES for immediate intervention. We've seen such a big improvement in my daughters reading ability but also her willingness to try hard words that in the past she would have given up on. Thank you to Lisa and everyone at RITES!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it free for everyone:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

I am a tutor at RITES. I love the professionalism and workshops RITES provides. We strive to be the best tutors available. The care for the students success is of the utmost importance. We explain... more

July 28, 2014

RITES helps a lot of students succeed in school. The one on one tutoring is the most effective way to reach students. ACT/SAT prep is beneficial to students, whose scores can increase with the one on one tutoring.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

I am a tutor at RITES. I love the professionalism and workshops RITES provides. We strive to be the best tutors available. The care for the students success is of the utmost importance. We explain concepts to the students in many different ways, to help all types of learners. I enjoy the time I spend in the center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be nice to have more funds available, so that we can meet the needs of students who cannot otherwise afford our services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

My boys would not be where they are today if it were not for RITES. They are confident, well adjusted, honor roll high schoolers, who have overcome the difficulties of Dyslexia, and are now looking forward to college! RITES has helped them not only improve academically, but also grow and mature into responsible young adults.
When I was first introduced to RITES, my children were both 2 years below grade level in reading and writing (after many years with IEP's and Special Ed support in our school system). I had been referred to many "tutors" who were classroom teachers by day and tutors by weekend and summer. I was not interested in this approach, since the classroom teachers had not been able to help my boys using their curriculums and I was afraid that they would take the same curriculum and feed it back to my boys. I wanted something different and specialized - and affordable. The staff at RITES worked with me to find a tutor who specialized in the areas that each of my son's needed. The tutors were willing to work with the classroom teachers for the purpose of helping my boys succeed in the classroom. Today, my boys no longer need support of a tutor on a weekly basis. Their non LD friends will actually call my boys on Sunday nights about homework assignments. It's amazing!
The tutors at RITES were also a support system for me as a parent. I was always included in the plans for their curriculums. The literature in the office and the available parent workshops were very helpful to me so that I could give support from home and also become more educated and less frustrated and fearful about their LD. Workshops and camps are also available for the students. I will be enrolling my boys in some of them in the near future in preparation for college, like note taking and SAT prep workshops.
I have recently enrolled my youngest child (11 YO) at RITES. He does not have a documented LD, but struggles with general organization and study skills. He doesn’t know how to "study" for tests, doesn't bring notes or books home and has a hard time planning for projects. I found that my boys with LD learned study skills through the Special Ed curriculum, but as a non LD student, study skills was not able to be stressed enough in the general classroom - due to the size and vast amount of material that teachers need to cover in a day. So I am back at RITES so that he too can reach his highest potential.
I recommend RITES to any parent who is looking for a way to help their children become better students - LD or not.
Thank You RITES!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes to the organization itself, but possibly more physical space so that more children could be helped by this dedicated group of tutors and teachers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

I cannot commend RITES highly enough! My daughter has challenges with executive functioning, organizational skills, and math skills. We signed her up for the two week summer session focusing on those issues at the Hamilton School, much to her chagrin. To my delight, and to my daughter's surprise, she greatly enjoyed the camp, engaged in exciting activities, improved her writing and math skills, and stated that it wasn't at all "like school, which would have been horrible. Learning was actually fun!" In fact, she stated later that she preferred the RITES camp over her traditional day camp where she could swim every day, which is one of her favorite activities! She was sent home with a binder full of educational tools designed to correspond with her personal learning style. She utilizes this binder currently at school, and her teachers greatly appreciated the resources as well. Her self-esteem increased tremendously, as she now sees herself as having a different learning style, rather than the label of having a learning "disability." THANK YOU RITES!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding so they could have a broader reach.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

At RITES I have discovered and appreciated dedicated, competent, truly caring colleagues, as well as masterful mentors, Halley and Lisa, our co-directors. Here I utilize multisensory programs that address the academic needs of individual students with a range of learning styles and skill sets. I also have opportunities to expand my own skill set through workshops and discussions with colleagues. I feel very fortunate to be part of this growing and thriving community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Last year our son struggled in the 5th grade. We looked to get him some extra help and we found RITES. We were so nervous about financially committing to any outside help but we knew we needed something for our son. The staff at RITES were so welcoming and helpful from our first inquiry. The tutor took time to listen to our son, think about his needs, and very thoughtfully implemented support. We continued with their summer program: Reading Comprehension and Study Skills. The knowledge and level of expertise of their staff is incomparable! Our son learned new ways of learning and reading concepts that are helping him into the 6th grade. What I appreciate most of all about the RITES program is that the teachers collectively provided an atmosphere of encouragement and our son has gained some confidence with them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I am a math/science tutor, and have tutored students at RITES for about a year. I have really enjoyed working with the co-directors, and have been very impressed by the resources RITES has available, including textbooks and learning materials, as well as training for tutors. Lisa Bigney has really helped me personally by providing sessions in teaching organizational and study skills so that I can better serve my students. RITES is sincerely committed to the success of every student!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

would not change anything!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I am a reading specialist and have worked with RITES tutors and students for 8 years. The organization is professional and thorough. The tutors are not only experts in their field, but they are caring and engaging people. RITES knows how important it is to match tutors with students and is meticulous about getting to know a student and his or her needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers