Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
123.845
Write A Review
June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

My son plays varsity baseball and has had several hitting instructors. All have had their place in the progression of my sons hitting. Reyes is a true hitting instructor. Proper hitting technique is not learned overnight. Reinforcement, practice, drills and repetition are necessary for a player to become successful and consistent in their hitting. Reyes has been pivotal in teaching my son and getting him to the next level.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

I too was concerned at first and was impatient because my son was not excelling in the pace that i thought he should be. Progress takes time and patience, and Excellence does not come over night. My 9 year old son has begun to use his legs and hips more and he is hitting the ball better. Last year as an 8 year old playing travel ball, he was making contact every at bat but the ball was not getting out of the infield and he was thrown out at first a high percentage of the time. With the trainning that Reyes has shown him, he Is now getting the ball out of the Infield when he makes contact. He was invited to play in the majors as a 9 year old and his first at bat pulled an inside pitch over the 3rd basemens head. Please take a look at the attached video my husband took of my son.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

My older son is 10 years old and he has being training with Reyes D'oleo for over one year now. My son has become a great player. Reyes is teaching my son a higher level of baseball the way is being teach in the biggest baseball academies in the Dominican Rep, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Florida, Arizona, California. I know that if my son continues training with Reyes D'Oleo will have a great chance to get into a good school. I feel very lucky to have my 10 year old son train with Reyes. And now my 5 years old son is also training with Reyes and I am very very happy with the work he is doing with him. If anyone is looking to get a real baseball trainer for their kids that knows how to teach the game how to be play at the highest level Reyes D'oleo is that trainer. Reyes thank you

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

Coach Reyes,

I did not know what to call this but I think "Getting Results" is appropriate to say I obtain a Division 1 scholarship thanks to Reyes D'oleo.

As a matter of fact, I think most of the kids and my friends that frequently train in the Reyes Baseball Academy workouts
before getting the opportunity to play baseball at the next level just like Carlos Santana from (Cleveland Indians) I think the academy located in NY is the only academy that feeds into your style and hunger to progress throughout the years. It sure doesn't carry the best equipment but he carries a experience which helps produce all around players for some reason Reyes hitting philosphy has work for me, and others.

My dramatic progression is purely from his hitting perspective.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Reyes Baseball Academy: The main batting instructor is Reyes Doleo. He claims to have the best teaching technique in the business; he puts a lot of effort into making parents believe that he is the answer to their prayers. I know of five kids, including my son, who have been attending his training sessions for over six months or longer and either have not shown improvement or have gotten worse; they are always late to the ball because the speed of the bat is too slow. The first thing you want your kid to learn is the Short Swing which allows the bat to go quick to the ball. He does teaches it to the kids but it could take a long time(many sessions) to learn unless you go home and soft toss using the wall drill; he does not tell that to the parents. For bat speed, he does not teach kids to twist their hips first in order to maximize bat speed. Instead, he uses a bat that is over five pounds heavy along with hand weights (2 lbs.). This result in reversing any improvements in the child's short swing and could result in harming them. Also, for some reason, kids that are thought by him turn their heads sideways during batting. That is wrong and he never corrects it. Other than teaching kids to pivot the back foot, his main focus is on the hands and does not use the whole body to generate power and bat speed. The last time I went to him, he told me that my son could be very smart but he was not good in baseball. He told me that my son needed many months of soft toss training in order to improve his hitting. I was not able to sleep for a couple of nights, I was miserable. After a month or so, I found another instructor who held TWO ONE-HOUR HITTING SESSIONS and my son started hitting doubles and triples consistently; his batting order was changed from last to lead off. I took my son to Reyes from July 2011 to March 2012 and there were no improvements in his hitting. In fact, from January to March I was paying him for two hours weekly(1 hour and 30 minutes for batting and 30 minutes for fielding). At the beginning of March, he tried to get me to take my son to him for third session during the week. That's when I started getting suspicious of his intentions. I personally believe that his main focus is to get as much money from the parents and uses several techniques to achieve his goal. He will change batting stand and will continuously promise you that after this change your child will be hitting better than anybody in his team. DON’T believe it, you will be sadly disappointed.. I believe Reyes does not have the know-how to demand $75/hour. He is associated with Queens Eagle, CP Stars, Elmjack, and Forest Hills baseball leagues

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers