Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 18, 2013

more

November 18, 2013

We learned about Revision Int'l through our neighborhood newsletter. We've tried our hand at gardening before with mediocre results. The crew at Revision was there every step of the way. They started with a delivery of beautiful soil and compost. A few days later, two awesome ladies tilled our yard, installed a state of the art irrigation system and planted seedlings all in one shot!! We grew tomatoes, lettuce, pumpkins, cabbage, green beans, broccoli, carrots, radishes, zucchini squash, cilantro, basil, onions, beets, eggplant and spinach. We had the most beautiful garden all summer long into late fall! AND, it was super easy to take care of! The only challenge was to weed every single day!! But, it turned into a family chore we all enjoyed and the results were amazing!! I wish we could keep our garden year round!!

Thank you so much to Revision International and Yuri our promotora!!
The Duarte Keene's
Athmar Park

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To make it accessible to many more neighborhoods!! I know lots of our friends were pretty jealous!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

I had the opportunity to hear about the Revision in my daughters school the first year it began in this neighborhood , I thought this very well anyone to teach this, but this guy is crazy , because a lot of people not interested to learn that. I had a small garden with vegetables and since some people had told me that here in Colorado that was not reached by the cold reap . So this year I did not do it.
The next year I started one classe with Sisters of Color and they told us about the program and introduced us to Eric Kornacki who explained to us the program. This year I did my garden bigger and for once I thought that I was not as crazy as me were saying . It was a wonderful year , reap a lot, I dry chili and squash as my mother had teach me, and I freeze tomato, tomatillo sauce , green beans and some other things. I realized that our earth is rich it gives us a lot if we just learn how to use it . But not only gave me that opportunity this program but I learned much more.
For first time I understood that my habits were not healthy , and that I was just not up damaging myself but also to my family , because I cook for them. This has been the hardest part of achieving change in my house because it is not just changing eating habits but changing thoughts and not only mine but my family too. I have three years changing little things in my house but now I now what do I have to do, I need only time to improve thing by thing, because now I know is possible because if is possible grow food in Denver in our yards is possible to do all the things we want to do.
When I stared talking about the helthy food in my home I have a revolucion in it, no one wanted eat more vegetables or friut, no one wanted make more exercise but my desicion was take. Today my family eat almost all the vegetables we know and now they try very hard to change thing with me togeter. I write this because Revision was de seed to change our habits. I now this is not easy but , I know is possible.
In this moment I am a promotora from revision and I'm very proud of this, because I know if we teach the peple how to grow them oun vegetables, we are planting one more important seed 'HEALTH'
I know I have a long way to go but since I started, and that's the most important.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would put this organization in the world, as its name would have to be international.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Revision International has made a tremendous difference in the lives of hundreds of people in southwest Denver by teaching them to grow food, and connecting them to community. Revision's practices of training and hiring local people, and providing important skills to a community that is often at risk for not having access to healthy food, is laudable. This organization is inspirational!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If only they had more funding and more capacity, they could do even more to help the community!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of observing the work of Re:Vision over the past year as part of a class and I have been nothing but impressed with what they are doing. As a former AmeriCorps*VISTA, I do have experience with the world of non-profits and I can comfortably say that Re:Vision is going about the work in the right way. Rather than trying to bring solutions TO the community, Re:Vision works to develop solutions WITH the community. Indeed, they are becoming an important hub as part of the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to build partnerships with local stakeholders in order to increase the sustainability of efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a university professor and educational researcher with a focus on learning and development at the community level. Among the most interesting ways of promoting development within a community, in my view, is through the work of community organizations that align themselves with thriving social movements, such as the local foods movement, food politics, and the like. ReVision International does this in exemplary and innovative ways, and their work is having a clear impact on the region of Denver that they are working with. I am aware of their plans to continue to develop their core programs over the coming years, as well as to emphasize newer programs, such as a community co-op. Through this work I expect that they will continue to serve as a key partner and driver of development efforts in Westwood.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

FInd ways to fund their ambitious and visionary programs

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Revision International is an amazing organization that brings affordable quality food to many people in Southwest Denver. Revision is a food growing and leadership program of over two hundred backyard farmers. Perhaps above all else, Revision is a powerful way to connect people, to help people recognize that only by taking care of one another, can any of us find a good life.

Revision reminds us all, that we need each other, and that there is no one we don't need. Revision lives the practice of community, inclusivity, and equity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

only want to see Revision International grow... as government funding falls, and economic opportunity is stuck for many people, so many people desperately need what Revision offers!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have served on Revision's board for three years and have seen the incredible impact that such a young and growing organization has had. In just over five years, Revision grew from helping seven families to increase their self-sufficiency through a backyard garden to working with over two hundred families; neighbors helping neighbors to build a food network. I have seen community members tear up as they spoke about bonds they formed with their children while working together in their garden and I have seen Promotoras proudly talk about the transformation they underwent from being unemployed to making a real difference in their neighborhood. I am honored to serve on the Board, knowing the incredible drive of the staff, volunteers, and community participants and knowing that as an organization, we make every dollar count. In the coming year, Revision will work to take resident empowerment to the next level by creating a community-owned food cooperative. This is an incredible organization that is truly growing community from the ground up!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Since moving here to Colorado, I always wondered, how could I help the community? Then when I found out about Revision International and its programs in the community, I immediately identified with it. This work for me was an opportunity through which I was able to get in touch with the community and help people, and I have been fortunate to work with countless families since coming on board in 2010. It is extremely satisfying for me to see the progress of families in their learning, and in changing their eating habits as a result of being a part of this project to make a self-sufficient communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a professor of education, I am interested in understanding how we can organize better social futures with and for marginalized communities. This is a complex problem that demands action from many different kinds of actors including non-profits, schools, local government, national funding agencies, activists, and neighborhood residents. This is the problem that leads ReVision’s work around food justice in the Westwood neighborhood of Denver.

Eric Kornacki, Joseph Teipel, Patricia Grado and their team of promotoras have worked tirelessly with residents to create programs aimed at improving food access in Westwood and empowering residents to develop solutions to pressing community problems. In my research on ReVision’s work, we have found that this small non-profit has done much more than grown 200+ backyard gardens, established a community farm, and acquired funding for creating a community food cooperative. What is most impressive is that ReVision has developed an approach to community organizing that has built on the assets of community residents so that they have developed a new sense of themselves as civic leaders and a more expansive view of the possibilities for their neighborhood. ReVision is an outstanding organization that is creating positive and lasting change in Denver. More people should know about the good work that they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to fund them more fully.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

What a joy it's been to work with Revision International, and of course with Eric and Joseph and their staff.

We at the Rocky Mountain Farmers Union Foundation have provided modest funding to Revision (wish we could do more) and have worked with Eric especially on a very promising food
co-op project that will be a terrific agent for change in Revision's community. Working WITH the community, not coming in with the answers but determined to help find those answers collectively, Revision is really one of the most impressive community development models we can imagine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing :-)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help on the farm for a day, or help pack our weekly CSA boxes Volunteer