Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

The RLT is a clearing house for ideas and news about land conservation efforts in Rensselaer County. It serves a function that the State and the County have failed to fulfill. It organizes hikes and focuses attention on the natural resources of the county. It does useful work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I have been involved as a donor, officer and board member with the Rensselaer Land Trust for over twenty years from its founding through December 2010 when I resigned due to a job relocation. In that time the organization has grown tremendously and matured. The RLT works to preserve the lands of Rensselaer County, to protect habitat, preserve fields, forests and watersheds though easements with landowners and in so doing, it promotes environmental awareness through public outings and outreach efforts. A land trust has the responsibility to steward its easements in perpetuity and early on, we recognized the importance of stewardship by allocating 10% of income to a reserve fund set aside for that purpose. The board takes their responsibility seriously and the RLT became accredited, the smallest land trust to do so, by the Land Trust Alliance. The RLT's dedicated board serves voluntarily, though its staff is paid.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've enjoyed outings and events organized by the RLT and deeply appreciate and value the open space and habitat preserved for the benefit of wildlife and future generations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide for an endowment to reduce the never-ending need to spend resources and energies to raise funds for necessary operating and administrative expenses. An endowment would fund staff, pay rent and keep the lights on.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I grew up on Long Island and witnessed the never-ending encroachment of development of suburbia into the open farmlands, woods and forests. The ocean shorelines became inaccessible. This pattern of development followed me to Florida where I lived near the ocean and orange groves near Fort Pierce/Vero Beach. As lands developed and malls sprouted, man encroached, wildlife became displaced and farmlands became lost forever. I witness the scaring of our land and a loss of its beauty and serenity; my gifts appease my conscience.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I make my donations when I have some money available to give. My last donation was in response to a routine appeal for operating funds.

What would you tell others about this organization?

The RLT does valuable work that goes unseen. We are all indirect beneficiaries of its work to preserve the habitat and character of the rural landscape.

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I am 15+-year member and former board member and have seen (and hope helped) the Rensselaer Land Trust work to achieve its mission. The organiztion has achieved accreditation, increased the number of acres of land to be conserved/protected through easements, heightened local awareness of significant natural resources such as the Tomhannock Reservoir watershed, expanded public programs that encourage an appreciation of our natural environment, and earned increased support in the forms of grants, donations, and corporate gifts. The organization, while yet relying greatly on volunteer effort, has accquired several paid positions over the last 6-7 years. The Rensselaer Land Trust cooperates with and supports the work of many organiztions having similar objectives such as the Ag Stewardship Association and the Rensselaer Plateau Alliance. We are important to the long-range goal of keeping Rensselaer County a great place to live and work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Its efforts to protect natural resources important to the place I call home and preserve scenic open space I so cherish.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase efforts to reach out to town governments to solicit financial support or services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Concern that our natural environment and resources are at risk.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I know the organization relies on it!

What would you tell others about this organization?

If you value our beautiful area, support the Rensselaer Land Trust.

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I have been a donor to the RLT for many years and recently started volunteering. I decided to volunteer because the group is dedicated to preserving land near my home and because the group and the executive director appoach this task in such a positive way. The complexity of land donation, conservation easements, opening natural areas to the public and managing an organization with limited funds is challenging. This group takes on these challenges with open heartedness and intelligence and a friendly smile.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was helped personally to make a determination as to how to manage my own land.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Inspired me to think about becomint a Master Naturalist.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Valued.

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

My husband, Drew, and I are also donors to this wonderful Land Trust. The benefits to the land and to the people of Rensselaer County cannot be extolled enough. The projects are many and we cannot thank enough the people who work these events, who plan these events and those who do all the "behind the scenes" work. Every person in our County should be ever grateful for this Trust saving our land for future generations. We also thank those who donate land to this Trust.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

The Rensselaer Land Trust is working to protect the special places that I know and visit. Rensselaer County has a wealth of natural areas and outdoor recreation sites, but as development slowly increases their future is not guaranteed. RLT works with willing landowners to preserve the natural landscape for future generations. One of their Preserves, for example, is an outstanding wildflower spot and wildlife habitat (we found a turkey nest with eggs there one year), as well as the site of a cave. RLT also sponsors a fantastic schedule of hikes, talks, and other events. As either participant or leader, I've been able to visit natural areas that I wouldn't have know about or been able to visit otherwise. And RLT is now expanding its mission to serve city residents, with its acquisition of its first urban preserve in the City of Troy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

For 18 yrs the Rensselaer Land Trust protected hundreds of acres of watershed in Rensselaer County with 100% volunteers, all the money going to its mission of conserving land and protecting natural resources. In the past 7 yrs of its 25 yr history it has expanded its ability to its mission with 2 part time paid staff members. Some of the land protected is available for public use such as hiking, gardening, and fishing. It also does educational presentations at schools and holds workshops for landowners.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

The Rensselaer Land Trust is a small organization with a big impact. With just two (great) part-time staff people, and a core of dedicated volunteers, it promotes the preservation of Rensselaer County's significant natural areas through education, outings, advocacy, and, most important of all, by partnering with landowners to conserve private land and create public preserves. It works to preserve open space for the benefit of city as well as countryside. It is an honor to be associated with this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

The Rensselaer Land Trust is a small, mostly volunteer organization that has done an outstanding job preserving green space in Rensselaer County, NY. Last year I and other members and friends cleaned up around a local reservoir, planted trees on a Trust owned property on a beautiful rural river and cleaned up a private dump on a newly purchased property on a lovely trout stream. I have also volunteered to be a Land Steward at another Trust forever-wild site. The Trust has a variety of educational and recreational programs, as well. I very much enjoyed the hike to learn about forest wildflowers presented by a local veterinarian last year, for example.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

The Rensselaer Land Trust not only preserves areas that are unique, sensitive, or otherwise of historic, archaeologic, or agriculturally significant, they use these spaces for educating the public about its mission about the natural habitat of that particular area. They sponsor day trips that are designed to enlighten and inform using the significant features of the preserved area and the expertise of its members. The best method to gain support for RLT and its mission is through education.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers