Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I am a dialysis nurse and have been working with kidney patients since 1993. I have met Lori Hartwell in 1997 and became aware that she was the author of the support group directory for kidney patients living in each geographical area of greater Los Angeles. I personally gave out many of these directories to my patients when they started dialysis therapy. My first real involvement with the Renal Support Network occurred in 1999 when I volunteered as a driver for the first Renal Teen Prom that took place in Notre Dame High School. This was a fantastic event and all teens had an opportunity to have a real prom experience and dance night out surrounded by their peers. This event helped me to realize how much this small patient-ran organization means for kidney community, and I wanted to become more involved. Since then, I have volunteered for every single Renal Teen Prom, and has gotten bigger and better each year for the past 15 years. A few years ago I took my teenage son with me to the prom and he had a great time as well. Besides the Prom, RSN focuses on education, support, and advocacy to ensure that all people with kidney disease live well and have hope in spite of chronic disease. They utilize all sources of communication and social media to reach out to the community, but you can always talk to a real person on the other end to receive support and that what makes them special!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

I have been a board member of the Renal Support Network for over 3 years. I must say its been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. Working in the capacity of Board member ive been blessed with helping to implement our mission which is helping those with chronic kidney disease. I doubt there are many non-profits who directly touch their customers like RSN does. From policy development and implementation, to fundraising, to allowing our clients to have opportunities for entertainment that they often don't have because of their health condition, RSN attempts to fill in the gaps in improving the lives of our customers. Lori Hartwell is not only a personal friend but a personal inspiration to me because of how she sets an example of living an extraordinary life despite great challenges.

James Troyer

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

I received a kidney transplant in 2007, after which I felt that I wanted to give something back to help other chronic kidney disease patients. I was not able to find any other support groups on my own, but a friend who had worked with Lori in the past told me about her, and eventually set up a meeting with Lori. In just hearing Lori talk about her past, I was very impressed with her knowledge, the extent of her involvement in helping others, as well as the overall purpose of RSN. Since then, I have progressively gotten more involved, and still am impressed with how Lori has spread the message and impact of RSN nationally, and the extent of her involvement in state and national advocacy for CKD patients overall. Her ceaseless effort and untiring ability to not only continue what has been done to help patients, but come up with new ideas to broaden the RSN message, continue to amaze me. I feel fortunate to have found RSN and Lori, and look forward to learning more about CKD, laws affecting patients, and how to help more. Attending the renal teen prom, which is provided to teens free of charge, is not only an impressive event, but very inspiring to watch these young people enjoy this event, as well as the volunteers who help put it on.
May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

I first became aware of RSN when I was asked to participate in a podcast that Lori Hartwell and Stephen Furst presented. I was immediately impressed by their desire to inform and at the same time uplift. That was over four years ago. Since that time I've had my first impression affirmed over and over again on many occasions. As a patient myself, I can truly appreciate this; and i know that there are many others who feel the same way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what they're doing. Sorry, this sounds like a cop out, but it's true. I might try to bring more notice to this organization and what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

What a pleasure to add to these comments - which are all well deserved. Lori Hartwell the founder of this amazing network was my Primary Patient at Children's Hospital of Los Angeles, when she was 7 and going through her many years of dialysis. She has provided a vehicle through www.RSNhope.org for patients and families to feel more empowered to take care of themselves during their journey and not feel so alone.
Some the many many ways this nonprofit operates it to offer patients to take charge of their lives through education - delivered in many fun and informative ways via, webcasts, websites,telephone contact,newsletter and one on one. RSN also empowers patients in public speaking so they can Lobby in Washington to improve Dialysis and transplant reimbursement,.
And how about the gathering of many many volunteers to run a successful Teen Prom for Renal Patients - now in its 15th year. With no cost to the Teens.
Did I mention she sold the "Crit Line" to dialysis centers - I was a Dialysis nurse at that time and that particular device changed the way we did dialysis in our unit. It was cutting edge and she knew it having been on the receiving end for so long. And boy could she sell it.
Having volunteered (among MANY) for the Prom since its inception I can attest to the true value to Teens that it offers and its all free for them.
Now I am privileged to be on the RSN Board. This amazing nonprofit continues its drive to educate, support and empower those who need (or need encouraging) to take part in what the Renal support Network has to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Attract even more volunteers for the Prom. Find away to have more monetary donations to keep these services financially strong for many many years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

I was introduced to Renal Support Network in 2001 by my transplant team. I attended a meeting where Lori Hartwell, the founder of RSN spoke and I was amazed by her journey with CKD and her mission to help educate others dealing with CKD. I began volunteering for RSN in 2004 and have personally seen how many lives have been touched and improved through RSN's many programs. In 2008 I became a board member to help assist RSN's vision by instilling health, happiness, and hope through education, advocacy, and awareness.... one person at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2011

more


1 previous review
October 12, 2010

I was introduced to The Renal Support Network about two years ago by a fellow kidney patient. I was immediately impressed by the scope of services they offered and their dedication, not to mention Lor... more

October 13, 2011

This is an organization that helps kidney patients with information, support, and a connection with others sharing similar issues and challenges.
As a patient myself, I can tell you that I wish RSN existed when I first learned that I had renal failure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 12, 2010

I was introduced to The Renal Support Network about two years ago by a fellow kidney patient. I was immediately impressed by the scope of services they offered and their dedication, not to mention Lori Hartwell and her staff. They are the foremost organization in the renal field when it comes to patient support and education. And this is not just talk; I've seen the Renal Support Network in action. From the Teen Prom, "Who Lives",the highly regarded and eye opening play they produced, to the vast array of educational programs they offer, the Renal Support Network is without peer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When i walked into that Renal Teen Prom and saw the vast number of young patients all feeling that they were part of something all inclusive and wonderful despite their physical challenges, I was moved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just like to see their visibility grow so that more people would become aware of them.

October 31, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
October 31, 2010

As a kidney transplant patient of over 30 years, this organization has given me the ability to go out into the community and educate people on what is kidney disease really. Not just other people, like myself, but professionals and patients alike. RSN takes my hard won experience and puts it to good use. I have spoken to dialysis nurses at Loma LInda University as well as Renal Advantage, INC. I have also educated lay people, such as Rotary groups, on how to combat kidney disease for themselves and how to help people with kidney disease already. One of the best things is the HOPEline where patients can talk to other patients and get specific help on how to navigate through all the red tape that can be encountered to just letting them know we've been there too. Family members can call also, if they have questions and/or concerns.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own life. I learned about button holes, other types of medication and most important, personal support when I needed someone and was considering terminating my dialysis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a prom in the middle of the country. Like Denver, Omaha, or Kansas City.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Gave me a hands on practical on how to give an effective speech using my own story and personal experience so I could go out into the community and educate people on kidney disease. Also, how to lobby congress, keep abreast of new legislation, and impact legislation to help kidney patients everywhere.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I always feel great after attending one of the get togethers. Meeting other people like myself and letting them know that we have all been there and done that. Educating other patients so they don't have the same problems that I have encountered. Changing legislation so that other patients can benefit from my years of experience has been life changing for me. Knowing I can make a difference in congressional hearings on kidney disease, just by using my story. Its been great!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 19, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
October 19, 2010

Having been a kidney patient for at least the last 5 years, this is the first and only patient oriented group that I have found for educating, supporting, and advocating for kidney patients, at all levels. The educational resources available for any stage of renal failure (pre-, dialysis, transplant) has been much more than I ever expected, and still amazes me as I continue to access more of its resources available on the website. The President and founder is a ball of energy, very inspiring, an excellent leader, a great advocate, and a fountain of excellent information on just about all matters dealing with chronic kidney failure, its treatments, and its impact on patients. They have excellent programs for educating patients, helping patients, and supporting patients.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Simply the educational part has really helped me, learning not only information applicable to my stage, but also so much about the cost and treatment aspects related to CKD that does and will continue to impact all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

October 18, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
October 18, 2010

The Renal Support Network (RSN) was founded by my wife, Lori. She considered her own experiences with kidney disease and created programs that help people the way that she was helped and the way she needed to be helped. Her personal imprint united the group and encourages people with kidney disease to join. I watch them as I hold small roles from time to time at events that RSN puts on.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing those with kidney disease helped, especially in that they see that they can lead a normal life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find someone who can back up Lori as the orchestrator of this organization.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers