Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 19, 2013

more

November 19, 2013

We have had a connection with this group for several years, I cannot speak highly enough about the young people involved and the staff are superb and extremely dedicated. The Center makes a difference to a large number of young people in the South Bronx.

The Best.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been volunteering with Renaissance Youth Center for the past 12 years. I have loved every minute of it! Being part of this organization is a true blessing. The Center offers youth from the South Bronx a place to learn, become a responsible citizen and feel welcome at a safe haven in a tough neighborhood. Students who walk through the door get an amazing music education, learn basketball skills and with this comes homework tutoring, SAT prep classes, mentoring sessions and so much more. Renaissance Youth makes a distinct difference in lives of the students and it is working! Our students are entering college, having career choices and even come back to be teachers in our Center. Renaissance Youth Center is an amazing place, with two amazing Directors at the helm. I could not be more honored to be working with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more individuals and corporations to donate money to the program. We need larger space so we can continue to grow the program. We need money in order to make some key hires.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

My son attended the program years ago, wonderful opportunity have not found a program since I wish I was still living in NY so that my children could attend it it's such a positive program my little brother and my niece also went to the school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring Renaissance to Richmond, Virginia

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

This program has helped many of my family members and I appreciate Mr.Harris and Mr.Q for all of the support that they have giving my family

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Music and Art is very limited in our Bronx Schools. It is because of Renaissance Youth Center that many children are exposed to a positive environement, with positive role models in an enjoyable setting. The community close and far are thankful to Renaissance Youth Center for their contribution to the Bronx. We highly recommend Renaissance Youth Center and thank them for their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would duplicate them in every community so that all children can have a positive exposure to art, music and positive role models.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of working with Renaissance as a mentor with their teen program for young woman. I expected to be a role model, a leader, and someone that these young woman could lean on for encouraging words of support, what turned out was way more. I was inspired by the way the young ladies and young men, where eager to make it to Renaissance, blessed with their truth, honesty and trust,their perseverance through adversity, and bonding with one another. Through them and the program, my own feelings of trust where explored and rebuilt.

The youth are our future, there are tons of programs out there that have after school tutoring, sports etc, however the personal attention, parent involvement, which is mandatory, engages and encourages families.to.strive and.support.one another as.well as the surrounding communities in a way that has been lost in this fast paced world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More support staff

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

I am a mother of 3 young men, 19 yr, 12 yr and 11 yr old and always looking for something worth having my kids in something that keeps there mind going and off the streets of the BRONX. i heard about this program visiting another one its a blessing to have this organization. I am not a member nor are my children yet and that is the big word YET im doing my best to ensure my two wonderful kids receive the best from any and eery programs that bring good to this world!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son is in Friday Night Hoops. The clinics are conducted professionally and have been very instrumental in improving my son's basketball skills. I love that Coach Q does not tolerate mediocre work and encourages the kids to be the best all the time. I like the fact that every child is given the attention needed to the point that time is taken to teach a child something they may need extra help in. In addition to learning basketball skills, Coach Q does an excellent job at teaching the group about team work and how to encourage eachother. He has zero tolerance for boasting or making a child feel bad. I am very happy that I found this program. I feel I couldn't have chosen a better one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

Renaissance changed my life for the better. I don't know how anyone could show so much care. There amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2013

more

January 22, 2013

I was part of the PennPAC team from the University of Pennsylvania that was working with Renaissance this fall. I had the opportunity to speak with many of the students, teachers, administrators and board members of the organization. I have worked with lots of other organizations and their leaders. Renaissance stands out among them as unique. The level of impact that they have on the community is extremely impressive. The passion and commitment of the Mr. Harris and Coach Q are outstanding. They create an environment that is open, honest, caring which nurtures and grows the participants in ways that would have been impossible without their support. They have high expectations and encourage the students to reach above and beyond them. The music and sports programs such as Music With a Message, Teens to Tape Live and basketball training provide incredible opportunities for personal growth and developing a sense of pride in what they have accomplished. They couple these enticing opportunities with educational mentoring and tutoring to ensure that they are good students. Every day Renaissance is making a difference - transforming hundreds of kids by helping them overcome the obstacles of growing up in the inner-city and to enable them to see a future of hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help tutor the 50+ children that come for tutoring each Saturday.Take pictures of concerts and special events to capture the joy and excitement of youth in Renaissance programs. Volunteer