Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.828955
Write A Review
October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Greetings, I am Rev. Dr. Darius O. Crosby, Senior Pastor of Greater Glory Community Church of Modesto, California and President/CEO of Staff Of Life Ministries of Stanislaus County.

This note is intended to substantiate the fact that the non-profit, Relief Inc. is a vital asset, not only
to the Modesto Community in which it is based, but to the world at-large. The attention this organization has given to the deadly Ebola virus affecting multiple countries in West Africa is a leadership role which epitomizes Relief Inc.

The efforts of this non-profit have put feet on the word LOVE, and brought it to the hearts of those in need, both domestic and foreign. Like the Good Samaritan, Relief Inc. determined that HUMANITY is suffering, and Relief Inc. has refused to pass by on the other side.

I have attended and supported several events formulated by Relief Inc. and witnessed the selfless efforts of this wonderful organization. They have certainly chimed in on the motto of my heart: they believe in "Serving God by Serving People."

Finally, Relief Inc. was recently nominated among more than 200 individuals and organizations, for the 21st Annual CrystalClear Award For Outstanding Community Service in Stanislaus County--selections to begin at the top of the new year.

Loving People,

Rev. Dr. Darius O. Crosby
Staff Of Life-

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Relief Inc is a great example of how a caring few can impact the lives of so many in need of the basic necessities of life. Over the past 7 years I have keenly followed the steadfastness and sacrifice of Mrs. Phebe Fortt and her organization as they, against overwhelming odds and uncertainties, identified areas of needs in impoverished communities in the West African state of Liberia, rally donations in funds and materials and galvanize volunteer to participate in the process of getting the relief items to Africa. I am particularly inspired by Mrs. Fortt's fortitude in ensuring that the relief items reached their beneficiaries even when the government of Liberia would lay huddles along the way. So many in Liberia admire the charity of the American people and have a profound gratitude for America because of the work Relief Inc has done and continue to do in Liberia.
Cyrus L Gray, Jr. - Giltam Integrated Logistics provided forwarding service for Relief Inc.
October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is John Y. Jukon, the organization in many ways has provided meaningful assistance to the people of Liberia most especiallly the voluntary population. The sector of services include healte , education and humanitarian relief.
Liberia being a post war conflict will need the involvement
of this organization to help to reduce poverty and contribute national development.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would appreciate a more focus operation for the organization

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My late father once said that "life was only worth living if you as a person become a channel of blessings to others" especially the less fortunate(adolescent mothers and children) to know that they have a dear friend like Relief, Inc. As a student of Social Work and professional field worker for the past three years having clients referred to Relief, Inc. in Liberia, their achievements are unmeasurable. The real importance behind their success is their willingness to help change someone else circumstance. I am proud of the accomplishments they have made, but when it all comes down to it, I hope the people of Liberia and history will remember them as a descent men and women who cared about others and living their lives trying to show it.

It’s true nobody makes it in this world alone. So to forget those that are helping Relief Inc. (partners, volunteers and even those kids that are giving their copy books and pencils, and medicals equipments for Liberia) it will be a disservice to those who raised those funds and materials and believed in Relief Inc. to delivered those things to the needed; not to tell them thank you for what they are doing for the children of Liberia through Relief Inc. You are highly appreciated by the people of Liberia. May God of heaven continue to bless your work in Liberia. Amen. F. Duonah Kezele / Liberia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'll like for the organization to have this motto : "FOR THEIR TOMORROW, WE GIVE OURS TODAY"

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Johnson K.B. Pewu, a Liberian and founder of the Building Potentials for Transformation (BUPOTRA) Inc. I have been following Mrs Fortt for a ago till we connected on LinkedIn and shared with her causes we carte about. Upon her travel to Liberia to ensure donated materials reach intended audiences, I had the opportunity to interact with her and my experience tells me all that a donor, volunteer, sympathizers may need to know to get involve in making a difference. Her dedication frankness and objectivity as a non profit partitioner motivated me to try all I could to help with what ever little information she needed to make her mission a success. I still remember one thing she said "If you decide to help some one in need, do not waste timer". I felt touched by her dedication to lift those in need with her sweet and determination.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

refer Relief Inc. to any of my friends, connections and donors for actions to help make a difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 14, 2012

I've done bookkeeping for Relief, Inc. I've always been aware of the lack of resources in some regions of Africa but was never more convinced that our help is needed until I met Phebe. She is knowledg... more

October 8, 2013

Over 10 years of experience with this organization, carrying the vision forward helping impoverished women and children that endured a 14 ½ year civil war in Liberia. These are the people that need it the most with no hope of a positive future by means of educational supplies, tuition and training.

We understand how hard it is to deliver supplies and relief to those in need, we understand the challenges. We know what the obstacles are, and how to get past them. Relief is hope to the challenge!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have an infrastructure of a more committed administrative team with a passion for local, international development with a strong interest in Africa. Relief Inc. needs to obtain a group of engaged, committed and passionate monthly donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2012

I've done bookkeeping for Relief, Inc. I've always been aware of the lack of resources in some regions of Africa but was never more convinced that our help is needed until I met Phebe. She is knowledgable, determined and organized. She actually makes trips to her country and even finds the time and energy to help our local community with food drives and other needs. Her compassion is contagious.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 28, 2010

I've done bookkeeping for Relief, Inc. I've always been aware of the lack of resources in some regions of Africa but was never more convinced that our help is needed until I met Phebe. She is knowledgable, determined and organized. She actually makes trips to her country and even finds the time and energy to help our local community with food drives and other needs. Her compassion is contagious.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In 2008 for a food giveaway in the local community. I was not aware at that time that there were so many people struggling within our own community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a corporate donor that would allow Relief, Inc. to grow.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 8, 2011

more

March 8, 2011

I met Phebe through a mutual friend and became involved with Relief, Inc. right away. My family and I have attended her fundraisers, including a Liberian Independence Day Festival and our local International Festival that includes all ethnicities from around the world. I've watched as Phebe tells of her homeland, Libera and their struggles with poverty and educational needs. In December, Relief, Inc. gave out free turkeys to anyone who had a need. One of the proejcts Relief, Inc. is focusing on is a child in Liberia named Sekenneh. A little girl whose Mother can not afford good housing and is forced to raise her daughter in the swamps. In living in the swamps, Sekenneh's health has deteriorated to the point that she can no longer walk or hear. She is extremely ill. Relief, Inc. is concentrating their efforts on getting her the medical help she so deperately needs and efforts are being made to bring her the United States for medical treatment. Phebe is relentless in her efforts to aid the disenfranchised and is her own best asset. My family and I are committed to helping Relief, Inc. meet its goals of giving aid and support to the people in our local community and Liberia with an emphasis on educational and basic living needs in order to promote empowerment and independence. What is lacking in order to ensure the success of Relief, Inc.'s mission is, of course, funding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working closely with Phebe and Relief, Inc., attending her fundraisers and watching the reaction of her story telling and experiences in her homeland. At the International Festival she retained the interest of the children who attended and they insisted that their parents get more information and/or donate to her cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get Relief, Inc. more publicity and marketing in order to raise awareness and get more funding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

It's not a large organization so you can still see and feel the compassion for its mission.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 8, 2011

more

March 8, 2011

Relief Inc. provides local community to help the needs of those internationally. A great opportunity to be involved with international missions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

while supporting an organization dinner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Request additional volunteers. Lots of work to be done.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Someone who had 3 hours to volunteer packaging books for kids in war-torn Liberia is instrumental in giving hope, Eradicating Poverty and making our world a better place. Volunteer