Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.828955
Write A Review
January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being apart of Relief, Inc was truly one of the greatest experiences in my life! I participated in the Relief ,Inc program in High school and now I am a graduate of California State University East Bay. I love the fact that you can see the lives changed by the those who are less fortunate in Liberia. I will say being in the presence of Phebe and Ron Fortt is an experience in it's self. They are some of the most down-to-earth,humble and caring individuals you will probably ever come across. Phebe truly has a heart of gold and her passion to change those affected in Liberia is admirable! I remember loading supplies such as various school supplies,games,toys, and beds into the shipping containers. I had an excellent feeling knowing that the supplies we packed will bless those who truly need it. The day I volunteered,they gave us all a book called, "Think and Grow Rich" by Napolean Hill. That book LITERALLY changed my life and gave me vision for the first time! Since then, my life have been amazing and so many great opportunities have came across my way. It was around six years ago when I first met Phebe .My encounter and involvement with Liberia,Inc resonated with me even after six years!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
February 15, 2012

I enjoy volunteering for Relief, Inc. I do belive that with the help of more volunteers... this non-profit will see more progression in its local and international projects and efforts. Overall, the m... more

December 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for Relief, Inc. for three years. I was introduced to the nonprofit through Solano College's MESA (Mathematics, Engineering, Science, Achievement) program. MESA had formed a "Change for Change" project on campus collecting items for people in need. Throughout the years, I have enjoyed working with Phebe, the CEO & Founder of Relief, Inc. She is very compassionate and driven. Her passion has become relevant in all her efforts. Working for her has been an honor. I wish Relief, Inc. a bright future in its efforts as the organization continues to be a voice for those need abroad and in our local communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

I enjoy volunteering for Relief, Inc. I do belive that with the help of more volunteers... this non-profit will see more progression in its local and international projects and efforts. Overall, the mission and vision of the non-profit is being carried out. In addition, the Founder and CEO, Phebe Dennis-Fortt is a phenomenal woman with a heart that strengthens the grow and spirit of Relief, Inc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 11, 2011

I personally enjoy volunteering for this organization. Every project I have been involved in makes me feel great. I enjoying using my talents to assist Relief, Inc. in making a change in the world. I have been able to create flyers for campaigns that have impacted the community and raised awareness about the people of Liberia.

Through volunteering for this organization I have developed strong researching skills and have been able to put my creativity to full use. What I would like to see is this organization advance so it could reach its full potential and be a stronger focus within the community. Relief, Inc. has so much to give... not only to the people of Liberia... but America and the world. Already Relief, Inc. provides toys to needy children, clothes to the unclothed, and many other resources.


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a positive way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

first donate more often.

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

My wife has volunteered with Relief, Inc for seven years. She is very passionate about helping people in both our local area of Central California and in Liberia. She introduced me to the Relief team this year during one of the book sorting volunteer day. I enjoyed seeing all of the educational materials and picturing how it was going to help the children that receive them in Liberia. All of the people involved were warm, welcoming and caring. It was a great experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have known Phebe for over a year and am constantly amazed at the dedication, passion and love she pours into helping the people, especially the children, of war torn Liberia. I was appalled to find out that the Liberian government does everything it can to oppress its people, to keep them in such wretched conditions that their daily lives are focused on simple survival so they are not pressing for more freedom. Phebe has to push though many obstacles to get help to the people. None of us are free until all of us our free. I highly recommend supporting Relief, Inc.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I had the honor of meeting Phebe, founder of Releif, Inc. at a meeting where I heard her speak bravely, opening up about her and her family's personal experience in Liberia. It was so moving, I wanted to learn more and do what I could to help. I was fortunate to attend a fundraising event where she and her adoring husband spoke from the heart of the harsh reality those in Liberia face on a daily basis. They are true Humanitarians, looking past what is going on in their own home, city, even country they reside in and reach out to help those in true need. I think too often we focus only on what WE are going through when others are in a much more dire need. I hope to be of some assistance with their work. When my son gets older, I would love to involve him as well, introducing him to Phebe to learn that in the real world, we need to do what we can to help others, people we don't know, people around the world, because that it the right thing to do. I applaud Phebe and her tremendous, heartfelt work to help the people of LIberia, she is truly an inspiration to moral character and selflessness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is John Rodriguez and I am very impressed with the detail oriented fashion Relief Inc. handles their donations. When I heard about the "Pencil Project" and school campaigns they were putting together, it gave me great pleasure to donate many books my own children have outgrown. Relief Inc. has done a great job and put in many hours of hard work to insure this gets done. The Liberian children are going to benefit greatly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

My name is Ed Fitzpatrick, I am the CEO of a prominent Automobile Dealership Group in Northern California. I have been a supporter of Relief Inc. since 2005. Relief Inc. is a U.S. based grassroots 501 (3) (c) organization that helps women and children in war torn Liberia, West Africa. Our Goal is to help this targeted group to become self-sufficient a bright future. In addition to Relief Inc's International activities, Relief Inc supports local activities in Northern California by providing food,clothing,furniture,toys and various types of educational programs to needy families. I have watched Relief Inc. and their CEO Phebe Dennis-Fortt work tirelessly to help others in need, this was one of the primary reasons that compelled me to support this organization. Relief has made a difference in many lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am so grateful for what Relief Inc is doing. I love the heart of Phebe Fortt who lives and breaths to help the people she loves. I've had the oppurtu nity to help pack books and clothes with Phebe and other volunteers (which is a small token compared to what she is doing and what needs to be done). This nonprofit because of it's leadership supplies not only the physical needs of books, clothes and food but for the things we all long for no matter where we live, love, friendship and hope. Giving is very much a part of who I am but it's important to give to those who work and live by integrety and that is what Relief Inc and Phebe Fortt live and work by. Thank You for letting me help you help others. Shelley Kohl

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I learned about Phoebe, Relief Inc's founder, and Relief, Inc., when I sat down to have coffee with her and she shared her story. After that my husband and I were moved to help inventory educational materials to be shipped overseas to Liberia. She and her nonprofit are a shining star not only in helping LIberians of all ages, but also of helping locally. Phoebe Dennis-Fortt and her volunteers work tirelessly making a difference here and abroad and RElief Inc., deserves to be rated as excellent as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am amazed at how much effort goes into the mission of sending a container with clothing, books, blankets, home and school supplies. Relief Inc. is very organized and donations are received and receipted with exact items contributed (no short cuts)! My volunteer work came in as a request from me (community service hours), however, I have had an eye opening experience and look forward to helping more. The container leaves in March, and Relief Inc. is making sure that there are no air pockets in this vessel meaning: they are packing so tightly to not lose an inch of space! Liberia is is for a special treat and I am looking forward to seeing the pictures of all their smiling faces! Please take time to help, we have so much to be thankful for. Ileana Rodriguez

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Someone who had 3 hours to volunteer packaging books for kids in war-torn Liberia is instrumental in giving hope, Eradicating Poverty and making our world a better place. Volunteer