Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Hi, We have adopted twice through Rpsm and both times it has been a wonderful expierence. Our first Abby is a treasure even though she is a little ball obsessed. She could play all day if only would could throw that long. Our second boy was pretty timid(Shield) and it took a long time for him to truly blossom but Ozzy as he is now called is a crazy happy bundle of joy now. we stay in touch with the folks from Rpsm and send pics and post on Facebook all about our furkids for the world to see. If ever we adopt again and I am sure we will in time they will be our first contact. They care deeply about the dogs they foster and want the best for all parties. We are he proud parents of 5 rescue dogs and I must say these guys took the most care in checking us out before placing a dog with us and I feel that is very important.
Karen and Karl Long

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted Cinder more two years ago. We love her so much, she is a great addition to our family. We are looking forward to bring Daisy home later this month. Thanks to all the volunteers that make this program be a success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

In May my family and I were searching for a family pet. We came upon a beautiful dog named Juliet and immediately fell in love. We looked into adopting her and contacted RPSM and filled out the paperwork. We later found out what a fantastic organization we had become apart of. These dogs are strays, abandoned and not wanted dogs, and RPSM builds these dogs back up again by using prisioners at Coldwater Penitentiary to train them. It not only helps the dogs, but the inmates as well. We were so thrilled with how the apodtion process went and what a fantastic dog Juliet was, that we apodted another dog Bo 3mo later. Since then RPSM have become more of a second family to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger so they can help more animals..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I was introduced to RPSM by a friend who was adopting a dog. Both of my elderly dogs had passed away during the previous year. I had started looking at rescue organizations and when I learned that R... more

April 10, 2013

My husband and I adopted Gracie June from RPSM last August. He says that she is the "perfect" dog, and she's pretty darned close! The training she had in the prison really facilitated her transition from the streets to coddled home. RPSM screens potential adopters carefully to determine suitability of homes, owners and pets. They do education about spaying and neutering. What really attracted me to the program though was the rehab potential for the incarcerated trainers. This could be something that really turns their lives around. This is an amazing group, totally devoted to their cause. I also do occasional volunteer work for them and wish I could do more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012

I was introduced to RPSM by a friend who was adopting a dog. Both of my elderly dogs had passed away during the previous year. I had started looking at rescue organizations and when I learned that RPSM worked with rehabbing prison inmates as well as dogs, I was sold! The difference the dogs make for the prisoners and that the prisoners make for the dogs is truly a God-thing. After adopting our Gracie through them, I became a volunteer. This is the only rescue group that I know of that rescues people and pets!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

When I decided to adopt a dog I didn't know where to start. Discovering Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan (RPSM) changed my whole outlook on the process. I admit I had concerns about owning a dog in an apartment but during my home visit (yes they do a home visit to make sure you are a good candidate for adoption) all my questions were answered with respect and professionalism. It's sometimes hard for me to believe that I will have had by dog for five years in October. It was the best thing I've ever done.

The people behind RPSM LOVE dogs and want the best for them - they take the job of finding the perfect forever home for their dogs very seriously and with great love. People may wonder about having a dog trained in a prison, but it is the best of both worlds. The dogs form a bond with humans they may never have experienced, before where love and affection are felt every day while they get wonderful training and care. For the inmate trainers, they say how important it is to them to have this task in their rehabilitation. They also participate in fund raising for the organization. If you adopt a dog still in the system (not 'paroled'), you will receive updates from the inmates as to how your future dog is doing, what they are learning, and a bit of insight to the the personality of the dog.

Along with their adoption work, they do a find job of educating animal lovers about situations in the animal world including pet rescue in general and ethical treatments of shelter dogs.

I've done a small bit of volunteer work for RPSM (a home visit) and I spread the word any chance I get to those I know who are considering pet adoption. Adopting a dog can, in all honesty be a dicey situation - you never really know what you will get. That is unless you go through RPSM. When you adopt an RPSM dog, you get one that has been temperament screened, trained (house and crate), has had a complete vet check, has been spayed/neutered up AND has a microchip. You will bring home the best friend you've been looking for.

I can't recommend Refurbished Pets of Southern Michigan enough. Their hard work and dedication changes lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

I had lost my best friend of 12 years, Zeek, and was looking at pet finder. The sweetest little face caught my eye. He was Buttons, a RPSM rescue. I knew I wanted him, so I filled out an applicatio... more

April 9, 2013

RPSM is the best ! They seriously care about the pets they rescue and adopt, and that love shows in the wonderufl animals and the happy people who adopt them. The prison program is fantastic, a definite win, Win, WIN for everyone. I highly recommend this program to anyone searching for a wonder new addition to their family, and wish that more people could foster and adopt rescue animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

I had lost my best friend of 12 years, Zeek, and was looking at pet finder. The sweetest little face caught my eye. He was Buttons, a RPSM rescue. I knew I wanted him, so I filled out an application. It seemed crazy at first, the references, vet check, and even a home interview. The more I went through the process, the more sense it made. There are too many bad people out there who abuse dogs, and some are, well, basically ignorant of what a pet entails. They are a member of the family, and require love, attention, discipline and vet care. The fence requirement almost ended it for me, but the meeting with Kathy B. changed that, she realized I knew what I was doing and also that "Buttons" now Butters, had the qualities that would fit with me and no fence. It seemed like forever while I waited, the updates from the prison helped, and man was I ready when my adoption day came ! I have had wonderful experiences with RPSM, their compassion and concern for the animals is the tops, and Kathy B. was, and is, a wonderful foster (and now a great friend, she probably gets sick of my calls and pic posts...lol). Diane was very helpful with the updates also. It was well worth the wait, and almost a year later, Butters and I are both happy and healthy, and fence free, and I have met wonderful people with the same compassion for fur kids as I have. Wish I could do more. I am glad I could hook up Sheri and Penny and Barkley, I will continue to try to match people and pets. I think if everyone was as intuitive as Kathy with the fence issue, more would possibly be adopted, but I do understand the concerns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I appreciated knowing I was getting a well- trained dog. Even though I had never met my dog prior to going into the prison, I got great progress reports that told me more and more about my new dog, so that when I finally did take her home, I had a pretty good idea of her personality, eating habits, and her training progress.
The organization did a great job of preparing me to take my dog home too. The folder of procedures on this was very helpful. Learning that should anything happen to me, my dog would return to rpsm for adoption and go through the same rigorous screening again, was a great piece of mind to me too, a comfort.
I also liked the community service aspect, helping a troubled inmate go through this process and seeing the successful rehabilatation back into the community was a great feeling too. Knowing my dog helped an inmate make his own life better and learn some great skills in the process was wonderful.
Great program, great dogs, great trainers, great volunteers. And I will definitely adopt from there again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This is a great organization that serves the community not only by helping to save homeless dogs, but also by helping to rehabilitate prisoners. It is shown that this type of programs reduce violence and give the inmates skills they can use when they return to the outside world. In addition, the dog we received had a basic obedience training, another thing that reduces returns and makes for a safer community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

RPSM does an amazing job at bringing rescued pets to forever homes. It is an all around win-win...for the inmates who get to train these wonderful pets, for the pets, and for the families who benefit from the work that RPSM does. My life has been completely changed for the better by RPSM!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I am very please with the screening process RPSM does to find the very best and the most likely to succeed homes for these companions. We were matched up with a very nice dog and she fit into our family perfectly. She will be with us forever. It is only because of the time that the RPSM people took to match us up that this worked so well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help transport a pet to a vet appointment or help with a fundraiser. There are always things that RPSM needs volunteers to help with. Volunteer